We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel in Great Location”
Review of Hotel Montemar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Montemar
Ranked #69 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Felbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
423 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
“Good Hotel in Great Location”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We've stayed here a few times over the years, and recently had a 2 night stay. Well worth paying a bit extra for a sea view room, preferably on a higher floor. Good location for both Old Town and Poiente area.

Good clean basic room with decent a/c. Just on a b&b basis and found more than enough choice of food,both hot and cold.

Staff all friendly and helpful and speak good English. Very weak wifi signal in room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llamacalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    85
    45
    17
    9
See reviews for
60
128
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We were a party of 18 guys on a stag do. We stayed for 3 nights. Hotel is about 10 minutes walk from the nightlife along the seafront. The other nightlife being behind the seafront bars / restaurants. The old town is a short walk away also. We didn't eat here (usually up after breakfast had been served). We had a sea view room (2 sharing), the sea being just across the road. Great views. Room was always clean and tidied by the cleaners. To be honest we didn't require much more than was on offer. Shower was good, room had air conditioning (we slept with balcony door open so didn't use it). We had a TV but didn't use this either. We found the bar staff and reception staff friendly. Would definitely return in the future.

Room Tip: Request a sea view room, great views onto the beach and small harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darenday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Few of us girlies had a great 3 night stay at the Montemar hotel!The location is great, short walk to the bustling cobbles of the old town with lots if lovely wee bars spilling onto the streets! Busy busy!! Wee bit away from the new town so a taxi back from there at night! Staff were not too friendly ,rooms very clean and the dining room was a bit of an e xperience!! Got very busy so had to wait a while to b seated!! Food not great either! I would go back though purely for location!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel , great location , we had a sea view room and was really nice , rooms are a little basic , but nice and clean and couldn't complain about anything , food wise we only had breakfast in the hotel but it was your standard breakfast buffet , did what it had to ! Would I stay here again? Yeah I would be happy to

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank JPH667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh on SEa
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This 3 star hotel is very close to the Old town and if you book a seaview room has wonderful views over the harbour and the beach which is just across the road.
Bedroom furniiture is pine and the rooms are clean and comfortable with TV although only BBC1 and 2 are in English. Elect for a seaview room or upgrade to an elite or VIP room as these have larger balconies with sunbeds.
Breakfast came as a bit of a surprise with patrons clearing their own plates- something we have not experienced in other hotels but hey ho this is what the Spanish patrons did so we joined in. Not the greatest choice for breakfast but we usually found something to eat.
Only concern in this hotel is the occasional night time noise as the corridors are tile floored and sounds resound.
Would definitely recommend this hotel for location and we are considering returning later in the year.

Room Tip: Go for seaview or upgrade to elite or VIP
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MojaveLeighonSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Just got back from the Montemar which is located in the old town of Benidorm. The hotel was predominantly Spanish pensioners but was not a problem being the only English family in there. We were right on the edge of both the shopping centre and the quaint bars of the more traditional old town including the gay village and tapas alley. It is also only a 10 minute walk to Levante beach and the more of what you would expect for the younger end. Both levante and Poniente beaches are spotless clean and if you like walking/jogging then join the Spaniards as they are well int keeping fit!
The hotel food is fine for what we paid and lots to choose from. Also a large glass of red wine costs just over £1 too and the beer 3 euro for large san miguel
I asked for a sea view on booking but as I paid budget didnt get one even though hotel was half empty. They said that I could upgrade for 12 euro per night but then changed it and said that it would cost 50 euro for remaining 3 nights so didn't bother as we were only there for short stay.

Room Tip: Get a price before you go for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillhealey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

we are returning to this hotel in may after two previous visits. It is in a great location opposite the harbour and at the beginning of the old town. The staff are very friendly and I enjoyed meeting a good mixture of holiday makers from various countries. We stayed bed and breakfast only but there was a good selection something to suit everyone . Cant wait to return.

Room Tip: 6th floor is good as that has the solarium
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bazandjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel RH Sol
Hotel RH Sol
#51 of 192 in Benidorm
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tanit
Tanit
#79 of 192 in Benidorm
85 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel el Palmeral
Hotel el Palmeral
#93 of 192 in Benidorm
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rocamar
Hotel Rocamar
#13 of 192 in Benidorm
467 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Centro Mar
Hotel Centro Mar
#44 of 192 in Benidorm
459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Brasil
Hotel Brasil
#80 of 192 in Benidorm
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montemar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montemar

Property: Hotel Montemar
Address: Calle San Pedro 18, 03501 Benidorm, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Benidorm
#40 Family Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montemar 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Montemar is a warm and inviting place, ideal to enjoy an unforgettable holiday in front of the Mediterranean Sea. We enjoy a privileged location: only 30 meters away from the Poniente Beach, at the first line of the beach and in front of the Elche Park, in one of the quietest areas of Benidorm, where you can enjoy stunning views of the Bay, the Castle, and the Island with its lovely harbour. Our hotel has 115 rooms on 7 floors (with and without sea view), which include 7 VIP and 3 ELITE rooms on the upper floors. All rooms have bathroom, telephone, TV with international channels, free Wifi internet access for our customers, safe, air conditioning and heating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Montemar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montemar Hotel Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing