We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a surprise”
Review of Hotel Melina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Melina
Ranked #85 of 191 Hotels in Benidorm
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Booked this hotel whilst staying in Alicante as we fancied a night on Benidorm! Got a room last minute and I was amazed at how nice this hotel was. Friendly enough staff, big enough rooms with a very modern twist. This hotel was great for a night's stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 51 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2013

Booked a 2 night getaway to the Melina and arrived back yesterday. First day was fine, check in was easy enough and room was available before allocated check in time. However, we realised air con wasn't on and went down to reception to ask to be told "it still isn't working." No apologies and no warning on check in! Pool area was nice, although there are about 12 sunbeds and jacuzzi is only open 3 hours a day - again we weren't told and can't find this anywhere on the website. Got ordered out at 2 o clock one day as it had officially shut at 1.30 and we didn't know. Would have been nice to sit in it even when the bubbles weren't on like you can do at other places!

Breakfast was complete pandamonium on both mornings and the food was really poor. Croissants which were soggy and obviously defrosted in the microwave, only orange juice or pineapple available and both revolting. When we arrived to breakfast on the first morning we had to clear our own table as none were clean then there was no cutlery and no coffee cups or glasses. Asked waiter and he brought out two for our table, one of which had a huge chip in. Hot breakfast was appauling, honestly looked like someone had picked up the hard boiled eggs and splattered them all over each other for fun. The restaurant just isn't big enough to house so many people and the design is so bad you had people bashing into your table trying to get past.

Room was fine, huge TV although no tv remote and no shower gel or shampoo provided in bathroom, or hairdryer.

We were the only people under 55 in the hotel and the only English people and the staff don't really speak English which could be a problem for some people.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view room - sun on balconies all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hugstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

In July 2012 Myself, Boyfriend and daughter (who was 22 months at the time) decided to spend some time in Benidorm. We booked to stay at The Hotel Melina for 1 night. We only wanted something cheap in price as we were not looking to spend loads of time in the room or hotel. Having said that we did want it clean especially as we had our daughter.

All in all we were very pleased with the Hotel. It was in a lovely location not far from Benidorm Old town and the beach. This is a hotel where a lot of the Spanish come on holiday so the British were in the minority. That was fine with us as we are not interested in going on holiday just where the Brits go.

The Melina Hotel reception area was bright and spacious as was The Bar and restaurant area. We did not eat at the Hotel but they did have a lovely menu ( not the typical egg and chips that can be found in Benidorm) including fresh sea food. The bedrooms were clean and spacious and had a balcony which overlooked the shopping area. Even with a travel cot these rooms were perfect for 2 adults and an infant. As well as tea and coffee Facilities we were also provided with water. The bathroom was spacious and had both a bath and shower. Perfect for 2 adults and an infant. The Decor is slightly dated but that didnt worry us.

We did use the pool at the hotel. It was rather small but perfect for us. The only critisism is that there are not very many sun loungers. Also when the sun starts to move round it does start to shade over but I guess that cant be helped.

I would definately recommend this Hotel and hopefully myself and family will be going back again this year.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michey2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Very nice Spanish hotel in old town. Very clean modern rooms with balcony. Excellent helpful staff. Good common areas with lovely pool area. Mainly spanish guests while there, excellent location and would definately return

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Only planned to stay in Benidorm one night was happy to stay at Hotel Melina, this is graded a two star hotel but is in a good location in old town Benidorm very clean, good sized rooms, walls quite thin and doors closing can bit a little noisy but very helpful friendly staff, nice pool area. We enjoyed this part of Benidorm quieter mostly Spanish holidaymakers and finally stayed three nights. There is a local park directly outside the hotel which is used unitl late at night by local residents both old and young alike but not to noisy.
Definately a good quality two star and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 55holidaygirl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Tami A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Nika V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0 mi away
Hotel SM Marbella
Hotel SM Marbella
#114 of 191 in Benidorm
43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montesol
Hotel Montesol
#86 of 191 in Benidorm
182 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Brasil
Hotel Brasil
#81 of 191 in Benidorm
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Magic Cristal Park Hotel
Magic Cristal Park Hotel
#59 of 191 in Benidorm
2,805 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mirador Studios
Mirador Studios
#125 of 191 in Benidorm
42 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bristol Park Hotel
Bristol Park Hotel
#100 of 191 in Benidorm
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Melina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Melina

Address: Plaza Espana 1, 03501 Benidorm, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 191 Hotels in Benidorm
Price Range: £43 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Melina 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Melina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing