We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golfing holiday arranged by the Finnish agent Ongolf”
Review of Melia Villaitana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Villaitana
Ranked #38 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2013

After having spent a week in Melia Villaitana golfing and spending time with a group of 50 other Finnish golfers, I can most certainly recommend both the hotel and the golf.
The room we booked was spacious, with a large balcony equipped with good furniture, overlooking the golf course. Extra advantage was the walk-in-closet, really large bathroom and very comfortable bed with a change of sheets twice during the week!
What I could have added was a pair of slippers and a bathrobe, the tiled floor was a bit cold.
The spa was really over-priced and the friendly personnel did not make up with the almost nothing. The jaguzzi was large and nice, but that was about all it offered. The changing room was all wet and cold and dirty from walking around with normal shoes and there was no hair-dryer available.
The breakfast, dinners and the few restaurants, which were open off-season were all very good.
The two courses are operated by a separate business, managed OK, but nothing special. The courses were extremely dry at this late time of the season, but because of their lenght, very rewarding for regular club-players. The bunkers, however, were hard as stone, nor at all well maintained.
Overall, a good experience and can be recommended! For those, who wish to visit Benidorm, I can recommend restaurant Alcazar for a more formal dinner and the splendid tapas house Cava Aragonesa in the old town, which was really something to experience!

Room Tip: Superior, 3rd floor
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riitta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommunityVillaitana, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Villaitana, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear Riitta,
Thank you for reporting us your experience after your last stay at Melia Villaitana!
It is a real honour to know that you enjoyed it.
We hope we have the chance to meet you soon in our hotel,
We remain at your disposal and look forward to welcoming you again,
Kind regards,

Inmaculada Lucas - Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,608)
There are newer reviews for Melia Villaitana
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

517 - 523 of 3,608 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed for business and a couple of rounds of golf over a four day period.

The rooms were modern, well furnished, and I had fantastic views across the championship golf course. The bathroom was large, and the separate walk in wardrobe was a bonus. Its worth noting that the television in the room only had two English channels.

Food and drinks were of a good standard throughout.

Parking was chargeable, over 10 Euros per day to park in the hotel, but only 2.50 Euros for parking in the grounds.

Grounds were exceptional, architecture fantastic, styles taken from buildings all across the region.

Many large pools around the complex.

I would probably return.

Room Tip: My deluxe room was well furnished with nice views.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BwlBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommunityVillaitana, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Villaitana, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for trusting Melia Villaitana for your visit.
We are very proud of receiving positive remarks like yours.
It would be a real pleasure to receive your visit again and please do not hesitate to contact us directly for any kind of assistance you may need.
Warm regards,

Inmaculada Lucas - Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We arrived for 2 nights, fantastic room on level 7. brilliant. Pools areas all spotless and the standard throughout did not disappoint. The lay out is very like Portmerrian a façade type village. Absolutely wonderful.

Room Tip: choose the level
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teachchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommunityVillaitana, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Villaitana, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Chester,
It has been very kind of you, that you took the time to let us know about your amazing experience!
We are happy to listen that you enjoyed so much your last stay with us and it is our desire to welcome you back to Melia Villaitana in future,
Kind regards,

Inmaculada Lucas - Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

This is the usual high standard of Melia but with normally one part the ordinary of the Level - the posh bit! This was at the end of the season so everyone was together and the nite club was shut. Our room excellent and will post reviews on the several restaurants. 445 rooms over some 30 large interconnected buildings, all v Iberian you get used to finding routes around. 3 or 4 large pools but best is the Level heated one. Room staff very good but you do need to have a little Spanish. Needs - a shuttle bus system (like other Melias) AND a small shop as one gets fed up with water - ditch the pricey bottle shop surroundings great and well kept.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Andy X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommunityVillaitana, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Villaitana, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Dear Andy,
In the first place we appreciate your positive comments in relation to your recent experience at Meliá Villaitana.
We also thank you for having taken some of your valuable time to send us your comments; we believe it is only through listening carefully to the comments and suggestions of our guests that we will be able to achieve the constant improvement, guest satisfaction and quality service that we strive for.
We hope you visit us again and of course we will be very pleased to welcome you.
Kind regards,

Inmaculada Lucas - Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Just returned from hotel. Golf courses excellent. Sadly there was not enough staff in either clubhouse reception or at clubhouse bar. Long queues for both. On positive side, hotel rooms very good ,although no tea/coffee facilities, but breakfasts excellent

Room Tip: If golfing be prepared for slow service, due to lack of staff @ clubhouse
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gjm1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommunityVillaitana, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Villaitana, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Dear guest,
Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write about your stay in Melia Villaitana.
It is good to read that you enjoyed the breakfast service and our rooms. We deeply apologize in case you found some waiting times in any of our services.
We hope in spite of this you give as an opportunity to improve your impressions in a next visit.
We look forward to receive your visit soon and we remain at your disposal,
Best regards,

Inmaculada Lucas
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Following a visit to the hotel during our stay at the Sol Pelicanas last summer we fell in love with the building, which closely resembled the hotel Elysium Paphos where we were married. We ate lunch in the golf club and the staff were friendly, letting us wander at will while we had a thorough look around. We decided then and there to return and celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. We're booked to arrive this coming Thursday and I'm so excited I had to write in advance!. I hope the Villaitana lives up to our memory of it and that the few negative reviews I had read are singular experiences and not the norm. I have high expectations for our trip and am looking forward to making lots wonderful memories.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lrb76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommunityVillaitana, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Villaitana, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear guest,

On the first place, thank you for choosing Melia Villaitana to celebrate this special date. It will be a real pleasure for us to receive your visit and make your stay unforgettable. We hope you enjoy all our facilities and services. We remain at your entire disposal. Kind regards,

Inmaculada Lucas

Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Its up to you 4 star or 5 star stayed hear for a golf long weekend i did not play but my 15 mates did. I just went for the break and to lay by the pool, in the day time and just chill out. the room i stayed in was very nice and big i had my own lounge, dinning area, along with a ensuite.
Only had halfboard but the breakfast was really good along with the staff, very clean and tidy. I can say this is a very nice place everythink i belive you would like on a hoilday.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank uncle54_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommunityVillaitana, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Villaitana, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your time and for sharing with other TripAdvisor users your experience in Melia Villaitana.
We are pleased to read that you really got relaxed in our hotel and you enjoyed our breakfast and room very much.
We will be glad to welcome you in a future and make your visit unforgettable.
Best regards,

Inmaculada Lucas - Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benidorm
0.1 mi away
The Level at Melia Villaitana
2.6 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#55 of 192 in Benidorm
4,094 reviews
1.3 mi away
Asia Gardens Hotel & Thai Spa, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Villa Del Mar Hotel
Villa Del Mar Hotel
#5 of 192 in Benidorm
2,743 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Luxor Hotel
Grand Luxor Hotel
#51 of 192 in Benidorm
289 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
#35 of 192 in Benidorm
7,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Villaitana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Villaitana

Address: Avda Alcalde Eduardo Zaplana 7, 03502 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Benidorm
#10 Spa Hotel in Benidorm
#17 Family Hotel in Benidorm
#23 Luxury Hotel in Benidorm
#28 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range: £90 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Villaitana 4*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 20 minutes from Alicante, Melia Villaitana has two hotels Melia Villaitana 4* y The Level at Melia Villaitana 5*. Melia Villaitana has been designed in the form of a Mediterranean village, lying between 2 golf courses designed by Nicklaus Design and boasting some wonderful views of the Gran Bahia of the Costa Blanca. Its 25 individual buildings and its unique architectural style replicate picturesque squares and historic corners of the region, making the hotel an innovative experience for both leisure and business, and positioning it as a new concept of exclusivity, comfort and service on the Costa Blanca.Accommodation: The hotel has 455 spacious double rooms, including 99 rooms of The Level (5 star) category.Services: The hotel has 2 golf courses, 5,000 m2 of outdoor pools, as well as a wide range of cuisine, 2 tennis and 6 paddle courts, an outdoor children’s play area, a kids’ club, artificial beach and a complete Spa & Wellness Center with 13 treatment rooms, thermal pools, gym and relaxation room. A Convention Centre with 6,000 m2 of flexible space, divided into 17 meeting rooms to meet every requirement in relation to conferences and large events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Melia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia Villaitana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villaitana Wellness Golf & Business Sun Hotel Benidorm
Villaitana Wellness Golf And Business Sun Resort
Villaitana Wellness Hotel Business Sun
Villaitana Wellness Resort Business Sun
Sheraton Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing