We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible customer service”
Review of Melia Villaitana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Villaitana
Ranked #30 of 191 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrible customer service”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

This place look amazing ! Very relaxing if you don't need to talk to the staff or request for any simple thing! As simple as ice in a honeymoon room with no ac working properly ! It took them 45 min to deliver the ice only after me calling them twice! On the check out day I asked for staff manager and it took them again 15 min to call her out or not even bother to call her! The staff need a proper 5stars training ! All of us suffer for various reasons and it was my friend wedding! All her guests were shocked by their poor customer service! I arrived there after 36 hrs and they told me I don't have a booking and they don't care that my paper show I have paid for a room! The girl told me I have to call Australia and talk to my agent! She wouldn't listened that there is a time difference! I finally checked in after 1.5 hrs by me calling the escape travel support! One expects much more professional customer services from a 5* hotel like Melia V!!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Naz2103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommunityVillaitana, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Villaitana, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Naz2103,

First of all, it's a pleasure to contact you again. I really appreciate the comments that we share in our conversation before you left the Hotel and I'm so sorry to had notice about your comments on your check out.

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you have had during your stay. We know that you came so far for a wedding. The entire team of Meliá Villaitana hope to have a second opportunity to welcome you and be able to guarantee your complete satisfaction.

Please do not hesitate to contact Quality Department for a future reservation.
Looking forward to welcome you again,

Carmen Fillol
Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,449
    981
    413
    162
    104
See reviews for
1,259
1,066
30
175
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a stay at The Level, the 5 stars division of Melia at Benidorm. The resort is situated on the hills behind Benidorm. Secluded and reserved, with golf area, SPA, fantastic swimming pool, we enjoyed and offered us a very relaxing break. Really reccomended to couples who want to have a break from our intense lives.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Enrica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommunityVillaitana, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Villaitana, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Enrica C,
First of all, we would like to thank you for being so kind and for having reported your stay in Meliá Villaitana.
We are extremely proud to hear that you were impressed with our efficient service at "The Level" and that you had a wonderful stay with us.
All our team looks foward to meeting you again!
Kind regards,

Inmaculada Lucas - Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Just left this morning after a couple of days in Melia Villaitana (The Level)

Attention was great and they graciously gave us a bottle of Champaigne and strawberries. I had mentioned to the guest office I was on anyversary trip but this exceeded all expectations. Thanks Inma and team

You stay in the pool and you are offered drinks and fruit, there's a cocktail everyday that can account as dinner.

Plenty of newspapers and not crowded at all !

Also had a couple of workouts running in the surroundings, amazing views

As my wife put it this morning "10 out of 10", definitely not bad for a 10 years aniversary getaway

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank breton24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommunityVillaitana, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Villaitana, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Breton24,

En primer lugar agradecerle que se haya tomado las molestias de dedicar unos minutos de su tiempo para compartir con otros viajeros sus experiencias en The Level at Meliá Villaitana.
Nos alegra que la sorpresa que nos encargó para su cliente superara sus expectativas. Ese es uno de nuestros objetivos diarios, sorprender al cliente para que viva experiencias únicas e irrepetibles.

Trasladaremos sus comentarios a nuestros empleados, para que ellos también disfruten de sus gratas palabras.

Le enviamos un cordial saludo desde la Costa Blanca,

Carmen Fillol
Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

If you are looking for a site to enjoy family vacation with your children, this is your hotel where they will enjoy with wonderful child activities staff, to me that is the core of this place.

In short, staff are friendly and they are allways supporting you in whatever you need. Site is incredible with great pools.

To share something for improvement, Ratio quality/price is quite good but in my opinion buffet could be improved with more diversity and quality...Although we do not have to forget is a 4 stars...

Room Tip: We were in a junior suite and the experience was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoseIgnacio794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommunityVillaitana, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Villaitana, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Joseignacio794,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to make your comments known on Trip advisor.
We always value our guests opinions and it is wonderful to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are always on the lookout for ways to improve our service and the guest´s experience at Melia Villaitana.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future if you choose to come back to La Costa Blanca!
Best regards,

Inmaculada Lucas - Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We have just returned from this beautiful hotel, one of the few hotels where the images are totally true to life. Wonderful swimming pools, good restaurants, great rooms and excellent service.

This kids club was great for our 6 year old who went everyday and loved it. A special thank you to Christina who was so good with our daughter, and really made her feel at home.

The hotel is an oasis away from the main city, far enough away unless you really wanted to go there.

We enjoyed the hotel and facilities so much we only left the hotel once !

We will return next year and hopefully have the same stunning room 5061 an exec junior suite.

Thank you Melia.

Room Tip: Go for a junior suite if you can, overlooking the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nigel U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommunityVillaitana, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Villaitana, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Nigel U,

We highlight appreciate the time that you have taken to share your experience with us and other guest through Trip Advisor because we constantly strive to exceed our guest´s expectations of service and it is always satisfying to hear that these efforts are noticed.

I will share your kind comments with the entire team who will be very glad to know that our effort is appreciated by our guests.

Regarding for seeing you again soon on your next holidays,

Kind Regards,

Carmen Fillol
Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

A group of us booked this hotel for a friends birthday. There was six of us in the party. We booked this hotel a few months before going. A month or so before we had an email saying they were moving us to melia hotel. We were furious as we booked this particularly for the amenities and labout and of course the golf as my husband is a keen golfer. No apologies off the hotel despite numerous emails etc and it was too late to book any other hotel. Apparently they had a function on so forget about your guests who booked first a shame will not recommend to anyone in future. Anyway the melia hotel I would say average supposed to be a five start omg noo. Rooms were average inside of the hotel is impressive with the vines but we'll the service is utter disappointing. The restaraunt area is well overcrowded if feels as if you are in a food court there was a range of dishes but nothing exceptional. The lady on the restaraunt entrance what a rude woman. One morning my husband no I went to see if our friends were at breakfast she would not let us in to look for them she thought we were going in for a second breakfast. No thanks. The pool area is jam packed with little available loungers my friends experience of sitting on the grass full of ants was no fun at all. Food average rooms average location out of the way and a you have to have a taxi into town if you have heels on of course. Music was blaring from the entertainment in the evening which went on till late lucky we did not have our grandson with us I would have been furious. We as a group had a great time but no thanks to the melia we were disappointed by the prices and the fact that thee was no apology for the booking we basically ended up with a hotel we did not want. I would not ever chance booking again as you may be let down I have read a few reviews which say the same.
Melia is over rated and over priced. So reviewers when you read this think hard and carefully about booking because you may be let down without an apology or any courteous gesture.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thebompster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommunityVillaitana, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Villaitana, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Thebompster,
First of all, we really appreciate that you took the time for sharing your comments about your recent reservation at Meliá Villaitana.
Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you had during your booking and the situation of an overbooking that took place. In this situation we had no other alternative than allocate you in a another four star hotel in the city.
We hope to have a second opportunity to welcome you in Melia Villaitana and be able to guarantee your complete satisfaction.
Please do not hesitate to contact Quality Department for further assistance about the issue or in case of a future reservation.
Looking forward to welcome you very soon,

Inmaculada Lucas - Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed at the old Gran Villaitana some 6 years ago, and wanted to show our friends the beautiful building and atmosphere of the place. We noticed that it was taken over by Melia, but being a frequent user of the Melia sol y Nive in Granda, we did not worry to much about this. Boy did we make a mistake! We were 9 persons staying at the Melia Villaitana. The whole place was getting ready for a big NISSAN corporate event. Bars were closed, and the service was terrible. In addition, we were literally physically throw out of the place at 12:00 at the date of check out! I have never been treated this way, and it is safe to say Melia does not care about paying guests. They have directed their attention to the corporate world, which is fine, AS LONG AS THEY STATE THIS WHEN YOU BOOK. A formal complaint will be issued towards Melia in the near future, and hopefully they will do something in order to restore the faith in the Melia brand.

Room Tip: The family rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Schlytter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommunityVillaitana, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Villaitana, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Schlytter,
First of all, we would like to express our appreciation for sharing your comments about your recent reservation at Meliá Villaitana.

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you had during your reservation and the situation of a private event in our facilities. We understand it was not the best way to check out your vacations but we have tried to do in the best option. We had a engagement with this corporate function from Monday to Saturday and we were forced to check out our guest before to 12:00 pm.

Your remarks help us in identifying opportunity areas and how we can improve our services.
We hope to have a second opportunity to welcome you in Melia Villaitana and be able to guarantee your complete satisfaction.
Best regards,
Inma Lucas
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benidorm
2.6 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#48 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,782 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa Venecia Hotel Boutique
2.6 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
#36 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Servigroup Torre Dorada
Servigroup Torre Dorada
#31 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Don Pancho
Hotel Don Pancho
#3 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
1.3 mi away
Asia Gardens Hotel & Thai Spa, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Villaitana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Villaitana

Property: Melia Villaitana
Address: Avda Alcalde Eduardo Zaplana 7, 03502 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Benidorm
#6 Spa Hotel in Benidorm
#17 Family Hotel in Benidorm
#19 Luxury Hotel in Benidorm
#28 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Villaitana 4*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 20 minutes from Alicante, Melia Villaitana has two hotels Melia Villaitana 4* y The Level at Melia Villaitana 5*. Melia Villaitana has been designed in the form of a Mediterranean village, lying between 2 golf courses designed by Nicklaus Design and boasting some wonderful views of the Gran Bahia of the Costa Blanca. Its 25 individual buildings and its unique architectural style replicate picturesque squares and historic corners of the region, making the hotel an innovative experience for both leisure and business, and positioning it as a new concept of exclusivity, comfort and service on the Costa Blanca.Accommodation: The hotel has 455 spacious double rooms, including 99 rooms of The Level (5 star) category.Services: The hotel has 2 golf courses, 5,000 m2 of outdoor pools, as well as a wide range of cuisine, 2 tennis and 6 paddle courts, an outdoor children’s play area, a kids’ club, artificial beach and a complete Spa & Wellness Center with 13 treatment rooms, thermal pools, gym and relaxation room. A Convention Centre with 6,000 m2 of flexible space, divided into 17 meeting rooms to meet every requirement in relation to conferences and large events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Melia, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia Villaitana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villaitana Wellness Golf And Business Sun Resort
Villaitana Wellness Golf & Business Sun Hotel Benidorm
Villaitana Wellness Hotel Business Sun
Villaitana Wellness Resort Business Sun
Sheraton Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing