We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again!”
Review of Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Queens Hotel
Ranked #81 of 191 Hotels in Benidorm
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Never again!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Booked for 3 nts to extend our holiday. Ideal location however upon arrival there were no staff to check us in and we waited around 20 mins after arriving from the airport to get our room keys. Not ideal. The room was tiny, with walls like paper so we heard every word of the noisy teenagers staying next door. The bathroom was dark and dingy and so small. Constant power cuts and air conditioning useless.
Shame their pet parrot kept on the roof seems unhappy since it's pulled all of it's own feathers out. We actually found that they had locked it in a dark toilet cubicle on the roof - we dragged the poor things cage out. I also bought sunflower seeds for it as it didn't seem to have had fresh food given to it for several days.
I will never recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalQueens, Front Office Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
We are sorry that you experienced numerous power trips during your stay, this was an external issue affecting many businesses and has now of course been rectified. We are a budget guesthouse/pension and as such offer small rooms with small shower rooms at low-prices. We were clearly not what you expected and can only apologies. You certainly should not have been kept waiting to check-in, however we are a small guesthouse/pension and simply do not have the luxury of 24 hour reception staff. Our staff have to double up and serve in the bar as well as check-in guests during quiet times.

The Parrot is sadly has ongoing health issues, but we can assure you he is visited every day by the same person who spends time with him and changes his water. He does spend much of his time chucking all his food out of the cage. We are to be honest at a loss to know what to do for the best, he is not a happy bird.

Sorry we did not live up to your expectations on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    116
    40
    33
    70
See reviews for
26
146
77
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I cannot comment on staying at Queens as we only had drinks there. We went there on our first night and it was fantastic. The show that the Drag queens put on although is a bit tacky loads of fun but audience participation helps the evening entertainment as we found out. Staff were very friendly and Dusty joined us for a drink afterwards which was good. We are coming back in 2015 and cannot wait.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottjames1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalQueens, Front Office Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
A big thank you for your review of the Queens Girls show. Great that you enjoyed the show, the "Girls" do work so hard in those heels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Having stayed at the queens numerous times before we booked for a four night short break june 2014, omg it has changed but not for the better, the room was ok, not as clean as they used to be, tea tray was awful had to ask for another cup and tea bags as the tea bags were stained, and she bought them up in here hands hence to say we didnt use it, furniture was falling to pieces, towels were like sandpaper, didnt get cleaned one day, sand in the shower tray stayed for the four days, electric kept going of, holes in bathroom ceiling,broken tile in bar area all bits left there, food was ok,staff friendly and helpful, sheets were clean and that is the only reason we stayed. Sorry queens very dissapointed

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalQueens, Front Office Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
We are very sorry that we failed on your recent visit to us. We are glad that the room was OK but disappointed that our room staff failed to keep you room clean. The problems with the power tripping was out of our control and affected many businesses in the old town, this has now been rectified of course.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I booked this place over a year ago and was not disappointed the view from room 70 is stunning. the food was ok and tried most on the menu. The cheese burger was best in Benidorm in my opinion. The Lasagne tasted ok but too dry for my taste, where was the cheese cream sauce?. The Entertainment was second to none Didier was his/hers usual upbeat self XXX, My only gripe however and sorry to bring it up, but security for keys needs to be improved, Twice I returned to the hotel to find my key had been given to someone else. It turns out the guy often booked room 70 and just as a matter of routine asked for that key, but the guy just handed it over without question... not good... the only downside to an otherwise great holiday.... will most definitely be back.... and a short tip, the room could use a lick of paint.

Room Tip: Try and book early and ask for room 70 or 71, the sea views are to die for
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DSpowart68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalQueens, Front Office Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Many thanks for you positive review and glad you enjoyed the food, entertainment and the room. We have noted your comments about a guest asking for the wrong key and the room needing a lick of paint. All rooms do of course offer a room safe for additional security, having said that we have never had any reports of room thefts over the last several years.

Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Lovely staff who checked me in, but I lasted around 5hours before I had to check out and move to the Cristal Palace hotel:
The room I was put in was an absolute state: (pictures added)
Greasey marks all over the walls
Ceiling was rotten in shower
Television didn't work (the lead didn't reach the socket where it was mounted on the wall)
No bed head, just a very worn and dirty wall.
Lampshade was missing and light fitting broken
Previous guest had left a message written in the dust of the cupboard :)
Disgusting tea/coffee tray and smelly kettle
Cottons buds on floor in bathroom and bin not emptied.
There was no hot water from the moment I arrived to the moment I walked out, when I did give in and have a cold shower - the black towel is the result of leaving it on the floor in the bathroom.
I would never step foot in here again, if the bedrooms are like this - imagine what the kitchen and cellar are like!!!
AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE

Room Tip: Any room - just in another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank adagil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalQueens, Front Office Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
We are very sorry that we totally failed on this occasion. You certainly should not have been given the room you were allocated as it had not been in use for some weeks following a flood. The hot water was off. Whilst we are of course a basic guesthouse, your experience was unacceptable and is not our usual standard. We have a very high return rate of guests who enjoy our low cost and central location. Sorry once again that we failed this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Looking back over the recent reviews, there was only one negative, the rest very positive. I have stayed at the "Queens" many times, seen different management and owners come and go. It has always been a friendly place, accommodating and well worth staying, either as a base or "half board".

If you want 5 star accommodation, dont come to the Queens. If you want character, clean accommodation, great staff, good food just book as I do.
I don't want to appear over enthusiastic........I just book for 3 stays a year, 2 weeks per visit, nothing more can be said........cept just waiting for my dates for 2015.

Thanks Royal Queens Old Town Benidorm... see you in September 2014

Room Tip: Over looking the square, is where I prefer, however can be a bit noisy, around trhe back, can be noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalQueens, Guest Relations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Wendy, thank you for your honest appraisal of the Queens we hugely appreciate your feedback and as always it is a pleasure to have you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
282 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Really really enjoy the drag show last Tuesday night. I was there with a friend and I have to say I found it so entertaining. I myself do drag in Ireland and loved how they did a lot of local Spanish music. Defo worth visiting and will recommend to people. Dusty is brilliant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hallie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalQueens, Guest Relations Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Great you enjoyed the Drag show at the Queens and the Spanish flavour of the show. Always good to get positive feedback from a fellow Drag Artiste!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bilbaino
Hotel Bilbaino
#66 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Santa Faz
Hotel La Santa Faz
#82 of 191 in Benidorm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rocamar
Hotel Rocamar
#11 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Primavera Park Apartments Hotel
0.1 mi away
Pension La Orozca
Pension La Orozca
#64 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.0 mi away
Estudios Benidorm
Estudios Benidorm
#111 of 191 in Benidorm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Property: Queens Hotel
Address: Placa Constitucio 5 | Old Town, 03501 Benidorm, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Benidorm
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Queens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A budget priced Hotel in the centre of the Old Town of Benidorm. At the top end of Tapas Alley. Facilties open to Residents and Non Residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing