We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet little bar and restaurant”

Restaurant Valkenburg
Ranked #459 of 845 Restaurants in Benidorm
Restaurant details
egypt
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice quiet little bar and restaurant”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Found this place on the main promenade up towards the new town. From the front its quite an unassuming place and a bit quieter than the many lively bars in this area hence we first visited it to have a quiet drink and play cards. It's a family business and much frequented by the Dutch. We didn't eat here but the drinks are very good and I can well recommend the G&T's which are just the best ever. Smoking is in an issue but we didn't find it detracted from our enjoyment as the front of the bar is fully open and the and the roof at the front of the building is a sliding canopy.We liked it so much we returned several times and it will certainly be on our visit list when we next holiday in Benidorm.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whippet1409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    24
    11
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Lovely until they opened the roof/doors and the smoking started.”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We visited on what started off as a cloudy day in Feb, ordered our meal and just before it arrived the sun came out.

Ashtrays were placed on tables and the roof and sliding doors were quickly opened.

As our meal arrived we were then surrounded by both cigarette and cigar smoke causing an unpleasant environment to eat in. What made it worse was that the young male waiter was sitting chatting to friends smoking.

Food was good but because of the ambiance, was terribly let down.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank SJBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice place to people watch!”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Lovely little bar (Dutch I think?) Very pleasant, lovely staff, lovely view, often call in for a coffee at lunchtime.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JackieAdder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Dated, Okay in the 1990's”
Reviewed 8 February 2013

This was a lovely little bar/Cafe facing onto the lavente beach, we have used it many times in past years, but it needs a revamp, it looks a little tired and needs to smarten itself up, the area is becoming more upmarket and "Valkenburg" is being left behind.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best coffee in Benidorm”
Reviewed 15 January 2013

This cafe is a real gem, the service is excellent with a laid back feel. They have the best coffee ever!! It comes with a little shot of Bailey's and cream and believe me they are addictive, we didn't try the food but the other customers who did really seemed to enjoy it. The restaurant is family run and this shows in the attention to detail and the friendly service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Valkenburg also viewed

 
Benidorm, Costa Blanca
 

Been to Restaurant Valkenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing