We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“sad”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ray's1 chippy

Ray's1 chippy
Ranked #60 of 822 Restaurants in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$16
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“sad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

went to Rays1 in May on a girls holiday we all enjoyed it so much, that in july I took my family and we were sad as it wasn't as good, so when we visit Benidorm again we may give it a miss, maybe it was just a bad day and one off,

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peapod63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    71
    26
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle under Lyme, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Chippy in Town !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

The original Rays, Rays 1, is the best chippy in town!!!
This is a must for expats and brits on holiday or anyone wanting a great plate of traditional fish and chips. Everything is cooked fresh and there is plenty of it!
We always go for the Hake special which consists of a large chips, large Hake, bread and butter (to make a chip butty with) plus a drink too.
You can either eat in or have a take away. They are open from lunch till late evening every day.
This is a great family run business. Everyone is very friendly and welcoming.
Its always a must for us to go to Rays 1 a few times on our visits to Benidorm.
One not to be missed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Bloody good fish and chips!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Not much more to be said. Fish and chips were great, as was service, price and friendliness. If you fancy good old fish and chips when youre in Benidorm this is the place to go.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anz3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fish and chips”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

The fish tasted as if the oil was never changed.not very nice
Not really anything to like about our experience

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank alan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best fish ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We never eat English food whilst on holiday, but we'd heard great reports about rays1 & we weren't disappointed!
Everything freshly cooked amazing service from lovely smiley people
We actually went twice it was so good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank tpstanno66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ray's1 chippy also viewed

Benidorm, Costa Blanca
 
Benidorm, Costa Blanca
Benidorm, Costa Blanca
 
Benidorm, Costa Blanca
Benidorm, Costa Blanca
 

Been to Ray's1 chippy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing