We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If I could give a Zero Rating I would have.”
Review of Aarangi Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aarangi Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kohimarama
Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“If I could give a Zero Rating I would have.”
Reviewed 10 March 2013

This place needs to be tore down. I can't believe the reviews it's getting. The room stunk, the bedroom smelt so bad I couldn't even sleep, it was disgusting. The shower was horrible! Disgusting dirty carpet. The only good thing is that it is in walking distance of some beaches. Horribly overpriced. Worst place we stayed at out of 13 accommodations. It was a step away from a hostel. I would not recommend this place to anyone. Stay further outside of Auckland like Matamata (Chestnut Lane) or Whitianga (Oceans Resort) and get your moneys worth.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SPF04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AarangiMotel, Owner at Aarangi Motel, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
The owners and management of the motel are sorry that your stay way not as you expected. We have looked at the issues you raise, and are just sorry that you did not see fit to raise them with us during your stay. We take great pride in the cleanliness of the motel, and in the comfort of our guests.

It is our goal to ensure that all guests have a great experience whilst with us, at what we believe is a realistic value for money price. We wish you well with any future visits to Auckland and hope that you find accommodation to meet your standards.

I feel that travellers should also be made aware that your suggestions of places to stay are really not a suitable option for visiting Auckland. Whilst beautiful locations in their own right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    18
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
16
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I stayed in Aarangi for 10 nights in February, The motel is 5 seconds away from the beach, rooms are spacious and very clean, hosts really helpful and friendly. There is one of the best cafes in Auckland next to the motel where they serve super coffee and excellent,organic food. Plenty of eating options in Mission Bay and St Heliers which are 10mins away from the motel. I will definitely stay again, this was my 8th visit to Auckland and Aarangi is the best place I stayed. The only thing I would change is stop charging to use the washing machine which is pretty dated.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have a view of the sea,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aandrzejczak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AarangiMotel, Owner at Aarangi Motel, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
What an amazing review for both the Motel but the local area. Thank you so much it is most appreciated. See you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We came to NZ for a family wedding and to complete the Ironman 70.3 race in Auckland. We just stayed here in Jan 2013 for nearly. 3 weeks, a great location, 5 mins to the city and 30 seconds from the beach. Very helpful hosts, nothing too much trouble. Rooms serviced daily by very friendly staff. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brentperkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AarangiMotel, Owner at Aarangi Motel, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Thank you for your review, really appreciate the feedback, and chuffed to have a 70.3 Ironman staying at the Motel, very proud of you. Looking forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new plymouth
Level Contributor
79 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We stayed in Unit 4 which is a upstairs end unit with balcony. We paid $169 a night. Aarangi is located in an amazing location only a few minutes walk to Kohimarama Beach or a 10 minute walk to Mission Bay.Each morning we got breakfast from "The Store" which is a short stroll away at the end of the street and ate it on the balcony in the sun each morning. Priceless ! We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DesignerLas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AarangiMotel, Owner at Aarangi Motel, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Thank you so much for your review, very much appreciated. See you next time you are inNZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We traveled with a 5 year old and an 18month old - tricky at the best of times - and had come to Auckland after a month on the road. I can honestly say it was our favourite. The other reviews are correct - great location, good for the city - but the main selling point was the amazing customer service from Roz. She bent over backwards to ensure we had a comfortable stay, providing baby equipment, typed instructions to airport, and many other personal touches. Book in advance as it gets busy and no wonder. A real gem. Loved it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosieKohiBeach, Owner at Aarangi Motel, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Thank you so much for those lovely words, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. You are welcome back anytime. Hope all good for you in the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012 via mobile

Since there are only two motels and one or two B&B's east of Parnell in Auckland, this gem is one short block from Kohimarama Beach. Three very good restaurants, a pub, a pizza takeaway and a wine store are within a block. Mission Beach and St. Heliers Beach are two minutes by car or 10 minutes away where there are more cafes and restaurants.
The units are small, but well laid out and have a full kitchen. There are do it yourself laundry facilities on site for a small fee as well. We stayed in room 3 with a king bed for one night at $169nZ which we thought was a very good price. Units are quiet and secure.
Owners are very friendly and helpful. A lucky finf for us, but rooms do book up quickly so phone ahead.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank HaroldandSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenora, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

First night (2) in New Zeland. Dead tired after the flight and it was kind of tricky to find the hotel. Location (when found) was great. Out of the city but easily accessible. Beach within a few feet. Bars and such nearby. Accommodation was really nice. As usual, internet was a bit weird but that is true everywhere in NZ. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Maybe get an upper floor room. Some noise transferred down from the upstairs. Not significant but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenoradave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kohimarama
3.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
673 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,201 reviews
4.0 mi away
Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre
Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centr...
#1 of 4 in Mount Wellington
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,453 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
3.7 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aarangi Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aarangi Motel

Property: Aarangi Motel
Address: 1 Melanesia Road, Kohimarama 1071, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Kohimarama
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kohimarama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aarangi Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sparkling clean Motel Units in a quiet residential neighbourhood, 1 block to Kohimarama Beach and 1km to Mission Bay. Choose units from upstairs, with a "peep of the sea" or downstairs and enjoy the garden. Walk, jog, bike along popular Tamaki Drive, enjoy scrumptious breakfast/lunch/dinner or just a coffee or wine in neighbourhood cafes and restaurants. Kohimarama beach is a safe beach with popular activities ranging from swimming to stand up paddling, kayaking and kite surfing (wind dependent). It is also home to Kohimarama Yacht Club for juniors, a club that has produced many a top sailor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Aarangi Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aarangi Motel Kohimarama, Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing