We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Cozy”
Review of Aarangi Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aarangi Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kohimarama
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Cozy”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This motel was such a pleasure to stay! The hospitality provided by the owners made our stay a comfortable one. The cleanliness and fully equipped kitchen was more attracting than staying in a 5-star hotel that just provides you with a bed & tv.
Aarangi Motel is also in a superb & convenient spot to bars & restaurants, a minute stroll to the beach, public transportation and free Wi-Fi. I would stay there again and would recommend to anyone who loves to be in a safe and friendly environment.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AarangiMotel, Owner at Aarangi Motel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you so much for such a great review, we hope to see you again in the near future. So pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    18
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
16
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
175 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Stayed for one night at Aarangi Motel. While the buildings are not modern, the warmth of the hosts and cleanliness and comfort of the rooms is excellent. The location is good too for walks along Tamaki Drive (and the fantastic views over the Waitemata Harbour). Lots of top restaurants nearby at Mission Bay. Ros is always happy to give guests advice and assistance on places to visit and things to do.

Free secure parking is also a bonus - costs a lot in the city.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crazysteveb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AarangiMotel, Owner at Aarangi Motel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely positive review, we hope to see you again next time you are in Auckland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Short walk to Tamaki Drive,popular beachfront with cafes and lovely sea views. Bus stop to city is very close.
Very clean accommodation, good service. a very attractive part of Auckland city.
Free Internet.well equipped kitchen. Double bedroom plus single bed in lounge.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AarangiMotel, Owner at Aarangi Motel, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you for reviewing the Motel, really appreciate hearing your views, and good that you enjoyed the beach and the location. We hope that you stay again next time you are in Auckland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in March 2013. The manager/owner, Ros was extremely friendly and helpful and the accomodation was airy, clean and totally adequate for our stay. The apartment was cleaned daily and topped up with clean towels, toiletries etc. as well as tea, coffee, biscuits and milk. The location, however, was best of all as it is within close walking distance to local amenities - cafes, restaurants and the beach. I have no hesitation in recommending this motel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy51_Lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AarangiMotel, Owner at Aarangi Motel, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Motel, and thank you for the kind words.
It is most appreciated. See you next time!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in January after arriving from the airport after our 24 hour flight from Heathrow. Ros was really welcoming and helpful. The Motel is old but well cared for with all the facilities you need for self-catering. Location is great being just a minute from Kohi beach and short walks to Mission Bay and St Heliers. First class bakery/cafe just 200 yards away towards the beach with a small set of shops 5 minutes walk in the other direction. The local bus to the CBD was right outside. It is a beautiful 10 minute ride along the seafront. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toffeeman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AarangiMotel, Owner at Aarangi Motel, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
Thank you for the review and your positive comments. It is a beautiful day in Auckland today and the beach and sea look perfect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

This place needs to be tore down. I can't believe the reviews it's getting. The room stunk, the bedroom smelt so bad I couldn't even sleep, it was disgusting. The shower was horrible! Disgusting dirty carpet. The only good thing is that it is in walking distance of some beaches. Horribly overpriced. Worst place we stayed at out of 13 accommodations. It was a step away from a hostel. I would not recommend this place to anyone. Stay further outside of Auckland like Matamata (Chestnut Lane) or Whitianga (Oceans Resort) and get your moneys worth.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SPF04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AarangiMotel, Owner at Aarangi Motel, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
The owners and management of the motel are sorry that your stay way not as you expected. We have looked at the issues you raise, and are just sorry that you did not see fit to raise them with us during your stay. We take great pride in the cleanliness of the motel, and in the comfort of our guests.

It is our goal to ensure that all guests have a great experience whilst with us, at what we believe is a realistic value for money price. We wish you well with any future visits to Auckland and hope that you find accommodation to meet your standards.

I feel that travellers should also be made aware that your suggestions of places to stay are really not a suitable option for visiting Auckland. Whilst beautiful locations in their own right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I stayed in Aarangi for 10 nights in February, The motel is 5 seconds away from the beach, rooms are spacious and very clean, hosts really helpful and friendly. There is one of the best cafes in Auckland next to the motel where they serve super coffee and excellent,organic food. Plenty of eating options in Mission Bay and St Heliers which are 10mins away from the motel. I will definitely stay again, this was my 8th visit to Auckland and Aarangi is the best place I stayed. The only thing I would change is stop charging to use the washing machine which is pretty dated.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have a view of the sea,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aandrzejczak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AarangiMotel, Owner at Aarangi Motel, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
What an amazing review for both the Motel but the local area. Thank you so much it is most appreciated. See you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kohimarama
3.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
4.0 mi away
Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre
Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centr...
#1 of 4 in Mount Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#1 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
3.5 mi away
Novotel Auckland Ellerslie
4.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aarangi Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aarangi Motel

Property: Aarangi Motel
Address: 1 Melanesia Road, Kohimarama 1071, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Kohimarama
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kohimarama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aarangi Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sparkling clean Motel Units in a quiet residential neighbourhood, 1 block to Kohimarama Beach and 1km to Mission Bay. Choose units from upstairs, with a "peep of the sea" or downstairs and enjoy the garden. Walk, jog, bike along popular Tamaki Drive, enjoy scrumptious breakfast/lunch/dinner or just a coffee or wine in neighbourhood cafes and restaurants. Kohimarama beach is a safe beach with popular activities ranging from swimming to stand up paddling, kayaking and kite surfing (wind dependent). It is also home to Kohimarama Yacht Club for juniors, a club that has produced many a top sailor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aarangi Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aarangi Motel Kohimarama, Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing