We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartments - lovely resort.”
Review of Paraiso Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Paraiso Mar
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Calpe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The Paraiso Mar is in one of the best locations on the Costa Blanca you can find. Calpe is a lovely place with stunning beaches & scenery & served by some top notch restaurants & bars, all reasonably priced.

We'd visited Calpe on a number of occasions, having stayed in nearby Moraira several times, so knew it quite well & were impressed by its amenities & the beaches. Our favourite beach bar is about 100 yards from Paraiso Mar so when it came up on a search it was a no brainer.

Whilst the decor in the apartments could do with updating, they are great apartments, all with beautiful views of Ifach Rock & the sea. They are well furnished & contain everything you need, including a free safe. There is a lovely outdoor pool (the indoor pool was closed when we were there) but some of the apartments are residential so beware using any of the sunbeds or deckchairs around the pool as they are for residents only (as we found out when we were turfed off them by an annoyed resident).

The apartments are also very reasonably priced & the location is superb. You are literally 100 feet from the beach & a large number of extremely good bars & restaurants. There is also a great bar, Bar 78, right underneath the apartments with excellent food & drinks. In fact we ate breakfast there most days & drank there most nights, whilst looking out over the bay.

Our party of 5 stayed for a week from 4th June 2014. The people on the reception desk could not have been more helpful. We weren't flying home until 9.00 p.m. on the final day & were concerned that we would have to leave the apartments early & find somewhere to store our luggage for the day. However, as it was out of season, the gentlemen on reception who showed us around said we could have use of our apartments for the whole day so we effectively had them for an 8th day free of charge which was a real relief.

We had a superb holiday, the weather was brilliant every day, & the apartments & Calpe itself made it that much better. We are already looking at dates for next year! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Glenhattersley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2013

The Paraiso Mar was easy to find with the directions given (and we have a sat nav!) but when we arrived I was so glad I hadn't booked to pay for the parking, there is public parking every- where, it makes you wonder if there could be a square inch of space on the beach if the parking was full.
We were informed by email that we would have to contact the concierge (Manolo) when we arrived on the Sunday but he didn't speak English which to me was OK as my Spanish is passable as we live here, but I wondered how a non Spanish speaking person would get on, the email said the office was shut and that Manolo would give us the keys and we could pay at the office on the Monday after 10.30. I phoned as requested and a very abrupt Manolo told me the office at the front was open. After a bit of wandering about and opening coded gates we found the office and got the keys (and paid the money). Bad communication between booking staff and the apartment management.
We were delighted with the apartment (36B) which was clean and excellently equipped, mostly brand new with little sign of previous occupancy. The TV had English stations which was nice as the weather was a bit temperamental! Biggest disappointment was the balcony which only ever got a few inches of sun any time of the day, I suppose for very hot months this would be OK. The is nothing which could be done about this as the orientation of Calpe makes all the apartment balconies like this - shame.
The entrance, lift and landings were always clean and smelled nice. The surroundings areas of the pool were a little shabby and no loungers are supplied, we would have willingly hired a couple for the time we were there, alternatively the shops along the beachfront sell them.
The lack of communication between the office and the apartment, the lack of loungers and the absence of sun on the balcony makes this 4* not 5* for me.

Room Tip: 36B was an amazing apartment for the two of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lizzylogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Easy to find with good parking and access to the beach. Rooms were basic, but good value for money. Everything that you would need for a self catering holiday, although the kitchen could have been cleaned better before we commenced our stay (dirty glasses, kettle & utensils).
Really good views from the balcony of the beach and Calpe Rock. Outdoor pool was a little cold, but it was November, Indoor pool was nice and warm.
Overall really pleased and would be happy to stay again!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CornwallMmmmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We have stayed in a number of rental apartments in Calpe but Paraiso Mar must be rated number one. Our three bedroom apartment was very comfortable and the view from the large balcony was superb. Extremely well located on the front line on La Fossa beach with excellent restaurants and bars within very easy reach - in fact a very good restaurant is located on the ground floor of this complex.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank palmer38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: mas altas mejor vista
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hasess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Los apartamentos de las esquinas tienen la terraza más grande.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank evacepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017
Thank Lucyna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calpe hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Porto Calpe
Hotel Porto Calpe
#3 of 31 in Calpe
487 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Sol y Mar
0.6 mi away
AR Galetamar
AR Galetamar
#11 of 31 in Calpe
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Bahia Calpe
Hotel Bahia Calpe
#9 of 31 in Calpe
359 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel RH Ifach
Hotel RH Ifach
#6 of 31 in Calpe
980 reviews
0.5 mi away
AR Diamante Beach SPA Hotel & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paraiso Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paraiso Mar

Address: Avenida Juan Carlos I 20, 03710 Calpe, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Calpe
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Calpe
Price Range: £28 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paraiso Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Paraiso Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing