We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The staff were great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Cookbook Gastro Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Calpe
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“The staff were great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

We stayed 7 nights B&B in late July. Cannot compliment the staff enough. Not often you get a hug and embrace from the girls on check out so it was actually quite sad to leave.

The facilities were also first class. Dont go here if you want floor shows etc this place is designed for you to relax. 2 great little children s pools and i guess a smallish adult pool.

Price wise i d say fair enough. The restaurant at night is more expensive than down the sea front but it s a far better quality. Ditto for the daytime bistro. Great cocktails.

All in all....i d say 9 out of 10. And i m saying that as a married father with a 2 year old.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicmorris2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    25
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
14
88
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2010

Nice atmosphere. Beautiful garden. Modern and clean rooms. Beds bit too hard.
Staff was very friendly (minor was that the staff almost didn't speak English)
Food was not so good for a four start hotel. Problem is that outside the hotel it was even worse. So don't expect gourmet candlelight diners.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daansta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2010

A hotel that is a refreshingly different option from the highrise blocks of flats and hotels that dominate the area...we stayed for the Easter weekend with our two very young children (2 yrs and 9 months) . The hotel itself is situated in a residencial area of the town which is very peaceful but still within easy walking distance of the beach. The rooms are well decorated and we had two terraces to relax outside equiped with table, chairs and sun loungers. The food at the restaurant is good (not outstanding) and it is value for money - we took the set menu which had three courses for 20€. There are two pools and the kids one is excellent for very small children to paddle in. The staff are very friendly - nothing was too much for them. They really make you welcome and your stay very personal. If you are looking for a place near pubs, clubs and excitement then dont stay here - if you want a quiet, relaxing stay in a quality environment then this is a good option.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2009

This hotel made you feel special! The rooms were comfortable but not stuffy or over the top. The main plus is the grounds and the well maintained common areas. Because the hotel is out of town and a boutique hotel without hordes of other guests, it was very easy to relax. The staff were also attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiniBGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
258 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2007

we have just returned from a stay at the Hotel Marisol Park. the hotel is located in a partly build area of Calpe its about 15 minutes walk to the beach and local Restaurants. The breakfast was very minimal (even for spain) the hotel provided live music until after 01.00 one night which is over one hour longer than advertised this was very annoying the hotel seems to run with mininal staff (ie ordering food and drink can take a while) the fitness centre steam room did not work at all. the hotel Resuarant has a basic menu which is very expensive with good but small portions. one plus side was the maid service this was very good

  • Liked — its a small hotel, quiet apart from one night
  • Disliked — lake of staff, breakfast and load music until after 01.00
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djl-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calpe hotels
0.7 mi away
Gran Hotel Sol y Mar
0.7 mi away
AR Diamante Beach SPA Hotel & Convention Centre
0.6 mi away
HOTEL SH IFACH
HOTEL SH IFACH
#4 of 30 in Calpe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Porto Calpe
Hotel Porto Calpe
#2 of 30 in Calpe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bahia Calpe
Hotel Bahia Calpe
#9 of 30 in Calpe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.8 mi away
AR Roca Esmeralda & SPA Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cookbook Gastro Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cookbook Gastro Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: The Cookbook Gastro Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: Urbanizacion Marisol Park, 1-A, 3710 Calpe, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Calpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Calpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cookbook Gastro Boutique Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cookbook Gastro Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing