We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic atmosphere”
Review of El Faro

El Faro
Ranked #92 of 389 Restaurants in Calpe
Cuisines: European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Description: One of calpes best kept secrets. Designed and built by Ricardo Bofill and set in La Manzanera with its buitifull flower covered walls a truly wonderfull place to dine or just to drink. Open 7 days aweek 12/6 or by appointment for special occations. While the menu may be small we provide you the option to make your own menu for parties etc. WE seat 40/50 outside and a comfortable 30 inside. Please not we open 12/6 every day but due to illness there is no food available until further notice. We would like to take this opportunity to thank all our friends & look forward to meeting new ones. El Faro your friends in Calpe. Ian & Brigitte.
Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

Lovely related atmosphere. Very welcoming. Great choice of music (Rod Stewart). Definitely going back.

Date of visit: March 2017
1  Thank Calpe1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2016

We stayed in the area called La MANZANERA. Just a short walk to Calpe. We came across El Faro almost as soon as we arrived and visited almost every evening. It's a lovely meeting place and the owner Ian made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. Would highly recommend anyone who is in the area to call in. Lorraine and Paul x

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank lorrainecahill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2015

Always try to get up to El Faro Bar when we visit Calpe. Always get a friendly welcome from Ian and Bridgette. Took our friends and Brother in Law and Sister In Law last time. The Gin Bottle came out and we all had a great afternoon! My sister in law keeps talking about it and is looking forward to returning in October. Not long now!!

Date of visit: October 2014
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Phillin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2015 via mobile

The combination of a beautiful bar, tremendously friendly owners, welcoming locals and a lovely setting made El Faro our favourite place to stop for a relaxing drink. Found it on the third day of a two week holiday and visited almost every day for the rest of the trip. Looking forward to returning next time we're in Calpe, huge thank you to Ian & Bridgette! Pete, Ali & little Matthew

Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian B, Owner at El Faro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2015

Hi Pete Ali & the little adorable Mathew, enjoyed your company & look forward to the next time.
Ian & Brigitte
Your friends in Calpe. xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2015

It is a perfect place to have a glass of wine in a very charming and warm place.

From the outside, you can see just a few lights in a very cute and misterious terrace. The entrance invited us to discover that place.
Once, inside, you feel at home; maybe because of the warm chimney on the side, or because of the hostes, they are adorable; or because of the great wine we tasted.
Today was my first day, I will definitely come back tomorrow.

Thank you very much ;)

Date of visit: January 2015
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank AdelaidaVerastegui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian B, Owner at El Faro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2015

Thank's very much for the review guy's. Hope to see you on your next trip. xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Faro also viewed

Calpe, Costa Blanca
 
Calpe, Costa Blanca
Calpe, Costa Blanca
 
Calpe, Costa Blanca
 

Been to El Faro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing