We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice bar”
Review of El Faro

El Faro
Ranked #92 of 390 Restaurants in Calpe
Cuisines: European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Description: One of calpes best kept secrets. Designed and built by Ricardo Bofill and set in La Manzanera with its buitifull flower covered walls a truly wonderfull place to dine or just to drink. Open 7 days aweek 12/6 or by appointment for special occations. While the menu may be small we provide you the option to make your own menu for parties etc. WE seat 40/50 outside and a comfortable 30 inside. Please not we open 12/6 every day but due to illness there is no food available until further notice. We would like to take this opportunity to thank all our friends & look forward to meeting new ones. El Faro your friends in Calpe. Ian & Brigitte.
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

Great little bar, we initially went in for food, but unfortunately they are not cooking at the moment, still we found a great little friendly bar with great banter and a friendly atmosphere

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank johnaA4824AW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2017 via mobile

We arrived in Calpe having forgotten it was a public holiday. All the shops were shut so after a little walk around the area found the lovely El Faro. After a few drinks we asked the owner Ian if he was serving food as we had nothing in our apartment. He wasn’t but offered to order in a takeaway and serve it in his bar - Incredible and welcoming start to our hols! We have been back several times since then and Ian is always friendly, welcoming and the perfect host. The Manzanera area of Calpe is so lucky to have El Faro.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank 73Katie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian B, Owner at El Faro, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

It was a pleasure to serve you Enjoy IanB..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

Arrived at our accomodation in Manzanera quite late and were desperate to find a place to have a beer or two and possibly some snacks. This is when I recalled about El Faro and the Tripadvisor stories about it. It was the closest place to our apartment so I turned on my navigator and surprisingly El Faro was open!
I felt at home immediately. That was one of the best impressions about Calpe at all. The owner Ian made us feel absolutely cozy and comfortable. It's so sad that there's no kitchen there any more (I've heard that it used to be great before) but even withohut the kitchen this place is something special. Ian got us some food (delicious!) and we had a great time there.
And I know why: because of the personal attitude. Because you feel the friendly attitude and you get friendly yourself and you get the feeling of peace and friendliness. This is worth a great deal and I doubt there are many such places these days.
We came again several times after and even now I regret we didn't come more often.
If i'm in Calpe again - El Faro will be the first place I'll go to.
Thank you Ian,
Nikolay, Rada and Sonya from Russia.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank robingad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

On first sight you might pass this bar without calling in. It is true that the bar has had problems recently due to bereavement and that at the moment meals are not being served but tapas began to appear towards the end of our stay which was delicious and that bodes well for the future.
Ian, the British owner, has been here for 19 years and is the fount of all knowledge and runs a nice multi national bar.
The bar was only 100 yards from our accommodation and the only one within a 20 minute walk so we found it a very welcome sight at the end of the day.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
Thank clive1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

We did not actually eat here but used to have a bottle of wine before we went on to find a restaurant. Lovely place just on the edge of the old town. House wine 7.50 Euro how can you go wrong and usually bought out a small tapas with it to try.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank kipplingsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Faro also viewed

Calpe, Costa Blanca
 
Calpe, Costa Blanca
Calpe, Costa Blanca
 
Calpe, Costa Blanca
 

Been to El Faro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing