We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back Again”
Review of La Casa Restaurant

La Casa Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 340 Restaurants in Calpe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$33
Cuisines: Swiss, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: A small family-run restaurant serving fresh and homemade dishes.A good selection of wines.Request on vegetarian dishes is advisable to call in advance. Please note that La Casa is very small(only 5 tables), we appreciate your early bookings.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Back Again”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Back to La Casa again for another great meal this week. I had veal strips with mushrooms in sauce. There were two us, fish of the day was the other main meal that was picked, sole with almonds. Both were great, as usual. We both had kumquat sorbet for dessert. It was to die for. If you like ice cream and sorbets this is the place to go to, all are home made.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank susiebees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    37
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Simple, tasty food at reasonable prices”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Part of the Mediterranean dining experience is that the food is quite simple. Salads, grilled foods, eaten at a gentle pace washed down with wine and water.

This restaurant fits the bill perfectly. For example, creme of white asparagus soup. Delicate yet tasty. Pan-fried lamb chops with rosemary.

Many restaurants in the town/area cater to the tourist and thus provide staple, popular cuisine, such as pizza or chicken. This place offers something different, and although it is slightly more expensive, it is worth a visit.

Note - It is a very small restaurant (maybe a dozen tables) and the toilets are upstairs and have no handicapped access.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Garnea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Came here with my partner, Food was excellent! Fillet Steak beautiful! Friendly staff although but slow but just due to being busy..
Would definitely recommend!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gemma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent every time!”
Reviewed 7 November 2012 via mobile

Cannot fault La Casa at all. Food is always at a high standard, prices are reasonable and the owners Mike and Serene are some of the friendliest people you could ever meet! I try to make a trip to this restaurant a regular occasion as I cannot get enough of their homemade baileys and after eight ice cream - to die for! 5 stars.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Expensive for what you get”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Thought we would try this place and was extremely disappointed. The place was expensive for what you got. The steak wasn't cooked how I asked and I can only describe the service as slow!
The whole place felt "old fashioned " and uncomfortable, and the menu a bit dated and limited.
Not quite sure how the place got so high up the charts but hey ho each to their own!!
I can easily name at least 4 places in Calpe a million times better to go and eat than this one. Sorry but that is my view!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CCHASER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Casa Restaurant also viewed

Calpe, Costa Blanca
 
Calpe, Costa Blanca
 

Been to La Casa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing