We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful”
Review of AR Galetamar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AR Galetamar
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Calpe
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We stayed here for a week mid June and the hotel was lovely.
Good points:
Pool clean and not too busy
Close to the new town for bar's and restaurants
Supermarket five minutes away
Costas the barman is fab!
Spacious rooms, cleaned daily
Massive double shower with separte water jets

Bad Points
Air con in our room was not very good
45 minute walk into old town (were main pubs and restaurants are) and no buses back to Galatemar after 10pm (E12 in taxi in the evenings)
slight hill walking up to hotel (I had read this on trip dvisor before we arrived and laughed when I seen what people were talking about, but by the end of the week the hill did become a drag... although I must stress it is very short lol)
Beds and pillows very hard

We only ate breakfast in the hotel as lunch or dinner was E30 for a couple which is quite expensive compared to what is on offer if you walk down the beach 10 mins. Breakfast was fine, some mornings better than others and yes you do need to use the microwave! Overall a very chilled out relaxing place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nonamenoname22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    99
    46
    22
    6
See reviews for
81
101
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson
Level Contributor
80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

This is a large hotel with rooms and also apartments. We had a one bedroom apartment which had a large living room and kitchenette (with fridge, which we've rarely found in Portugal or Spain) and a large balcony. There is free parking, a restaurant and bar and a large swimming pool and garden area. There are cafes and bars within a 10 minute walk of the hotel (a few a lot less than that) and the Playa La Fossa-Levante is also a 10 minute paved and easy walk with loads of shops and restaurants. The hotel was quiet and very spacious and had everything we needed for an excellent price. There are 2 large supermarkets nearby (15 minute walk or 5 minute drive). If you want to be right in the thick of everything then there are plenty of other hotels right at the beach, but we preferred being a 10 minute walk away from it all, where it was quieter, cheaper and still had great views from the rooms that face (side-on) to the sea. Safe free parking is always a bonus for us.

Room Tip: If possible, get a one bedroom apartment and even if you only get a room, the ones facing the sea an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Nice location however this hotel was about a 40 minute walk from Calpe town.It's nice to walk along the beach to it but theres not many places to go out along the beach so went to town every night. A taxi back cost 10 euro which was fine.You can get a bus from 200 metres down the road from the hotel which only costs 1.40 and it takes about 10 mins.
We went half board for €296.00 (5nights) but the breakfast or dinner was'nt great. There is a microwave in the eating room and it's there for a reason as more than not you had to reheat the food before eating it! But at the end of the day we paid for what we got really so it was fine for us! The room was very clean and clean towels every day and beds made. Balcony with table and chairs was nice also. The pool out back was nice but was'nt as clean as could be. However the weather when we were there was cloudy most days so this may have been the reason.There was'nt many people staying in the hotel at the time. I'd say this is fine if your not fussy! The staff there are very friendly which is definately a bonus so hats off to them!
A hotel i would recommend though would be Gran Sol Y Mar (4 star) in Calpe and it's awesome (we missed out on booking it as we left it too late so it was too dear as it went up in price by €200) but you can get bed and breakfast there for €305 which is well worth it! (i went for a wedding and alot of the wedding party stayed here so i seen first hand what it's like ;-))

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Idil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

We are probably not typical visitors to this hotel as we were not interested in the sun, pool or beach. We were there in December using the hotel as a base for rock climbing in the area. It's a recommendation in itself that this is the third time we've used this hotel.
So, what can you expect.....Staff are friendly and helpful, Most speak good English, those that don't still speak enough to understand what we want. Rooms are comfortable, clean and spacious. Price is very good, best we can find in Calpe. Parking is free and plentiful in the covered hotel car park. Food is indifferent. All buffet style, self-service which is OK. Breakfast is typical for a european hotel. Dinner has extensive salads which are pretty good but the hot food is poor, bland and tasteless with little variety. There is however an excellent Chinese at the other end of Calpe which does an excellent set menu for 2 ( 4 courses) for as little as 16 euros (that's 8euros each!!). The guests during our stay were mainly aged 60+ and exclusively Spanish.
Overall I would recommed the Galetamar as a good value cheap hotel with the reservation that the food is iffy and we'll probably pay a bit more for something a bit better next time.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank crammy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almoradi, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We stayed overnight at this Hotel on the 28th September 2011. We got a special deal of 40 Euros for a double room without breakfast. The Hotel itself is a little dated but very clean and with lovely balconies, many with a sea view. It also has ample free parking. To find the Hotel take the main road towards Moraira and as you pass Mercadona Supermarket on your left look for a little right turn with a sign to the Hotel. Breakfast was 6.9 Euros, but we preferred to get 'coffee and croissants' at one of the many bars nearby. The hotel has nice grounds and a pool, all overlooking the sea. There is a gate at the end of the gardens. Just turn left and you are down to a lovely little beach. You also find yourself at the Paseo Maritimo (seaside walkway) where you can take a lovely walk into the North beach of Calpe, passing bars and restaurants on your way. The hotel has a lovely location and the only downside for us were the incredibly hard beds. Hopefully, not all of the rooms have beds like that! The views across the north bay to the huge rock, the Penon de Ifach are superb. We would suggest going in May or June when the lighter evenings maintain the views. The Hotel is well worth a visit, just watch out for those beds.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony with a good sea view and an acceptable bed(s)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ruby19121970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Stayed at the galetemar in September for a week and booked a bungalow.
The property was suprisingly large with all creature comforts, the decor was a little dated but overall was clean and tidy with towels and toilet rolls replaced frequently.
The hotel it's self was very relaxed with a nice pool area and extremely helpful staff.
Overall surprisingly goodvalue for money and would definatley stay again.
Calpe it's self was refreshingly good value for money, with many beachfront restaurants offering three course dinner with a bottle of vino for between 8 and 13 euros!
Also don't pay for expensive transfers with your holiday provider,
We caught the bus to calpe from the airport, changing at benidorm for I think about 12 euros, saving at least £100!
Ten out of ten for a cheap value holiday.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank darrenah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We stayed here July 2011 for the forth time in 10 years. For the price, booked direct with the Hotel, it was great value for a twin room on the second floor.

Simple basic 3 star accomodation that was clean and well maintained. The beds were firm and the A/C a little noisey but the rest of he hotel made up for it. Situated to the north of the main beach, Galetamar is one of the original hotels in the resort, poised like an Ocean liner against the harbour her scalloped balconies are a joy to relax on. There are recenlty updated two person showers in the bathrooms and an overhall of the room furniture.
When we stayed in the second week in July 2011 it was before the hoards of Brits had arrived with their excited children. There were plenty of Spanish families who gave the place a relaxed feel.

Days by the pool were stress free and for those of you that venture a little further afield local eateries had plenty to offer.

Some of the previous reviews have mentioned noise from the entertainment. We sunbathed all day, ate lunch at the hotel bar, had the occaisional siesta and ate out every night bar one. We returned around 11 ish and found that some sort of entertainment was going on untill 11.30ish then all was quiet.
The hotel has a great resaurant withour GB rip off prices. The one night that we ate in we bought a roast chicken from the local super market for 10 Euros with fries.

Some guests in adjacent rooms came in at 4am and made the bed squeek for a while but that was it. A great family friendly well maintained hotel to be enjoyed by us on many future trips.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InkyPinkyWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calpe hotels
0.8 mi away
HOTEL SH IFACH
HOTEL SH IFACH
#4 of 31 in Calpe
892 reviews
1.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Sol y Mar
0.1 mi away
AR Diamante Beach SPA Hotel & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Porto Calpe
Hotel Porto Calpe
#2 of 31 in Calpe
441 reviews
0.2 mi away
AR Roca Esmeralda & SPA Hotel
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bahia Calpe
Hotel Bahia Calpe
#10 of 31 in Calpe
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AR Galetamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AR Galetamar

Property: AR Galetamar
Address: urbanizacion Caleta 28 a, 03710 Calpe, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Calpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Calpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — AR Galetamar 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your AR Galetamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galetamar Hotel Calpe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing