We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, cannot believe it's classed as a 2*!”
Review of Hotel Porto Calpe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Porto Calpe
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Calpe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Excellent value, cannot believe it's classed as a 2*, i've stayed in worse 4* properties. It may be down to us havng a superior room (i cannot vouch for the standard rooms), but the rooms were very clean, bright, airy and modern. The rooms were cleaned every day with fresh towels and bedding when required and the reception staff very helpful.
Located near the Port/Harbour rather than the centre of Calpe, but next to great restaurants and a couple of beautiful coves, not to mention the Penon de Ifach. The walk into Calpe along the beach is a pleasant one so it was nice to be outside of the busier part of town in the day and to stroll towards the action in the evenng.
Would definately stay there agan, and can also highly recommend the bar next to reception!

Room Tip: I would definately recommend the superior rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank slickt0ria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Porto Calpe
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2012

I knew how good the position of the Porto Hotel was, as we have stayed in Calpe many times. Front line, right opposite the harbour. We paid a little extra for a superior room, which, as expected, was at the front, so overlooked harbour. The room was of reasonable size, well furnished & with 2 very comfortable single beds. There was efficient air-conditioning plus a small fridge, a safe & a good size balcony. The smallish flat screen TV had a choice of Spanish channels.
There wasn't a lot of extra facilities, but there was a communal lounge, though we didn't see anyone using it, a small outside area for sunbathing & a small pool. We thought breakfast was a bit expensive at €7 for continental, but there was a good choice & you could eat as much as you want. There was no bar or restaurant, but that isn't a problem as there are at least 10 bar/restaurants within 100 yards, & many more within a short walk.
The staff were all friendly & helpful, especially the receptionist, who spoke very good English.
In summary, a small, comfortable hotel with mostly Spanish guests, in an excellent position, & very reasonably priced. Recommended.

Room Tip: Worth paying a little extra for a superior room at front, overlooking the harbour.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobert67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Needed somewhere to just lay out heads whilst visiting family in Calpe. Was very impressed with this 2* hotel. Rooms were very clean and spacious. We had a view over the harbour which was beautiful, would say could be a bit noisy in the mornings, but not enough to really be a problem. we only had it on a room basis only! it is cheap enough to go for breakfast in the harbour front. (would recommend "Cafe Ole") Would use this hotel again without any hesitation. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jollytrav1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Just returned from a great week in Calpe. We stayed at the 2* Hotel Porto Calpe. What a lovely little hotel. A lot better than the 4* Gran Hotel Bali we stayed at in Benidorm.

The staff were very friendly and welcoming from day one, nothing was too much trouble. We had a triple room and were on the 3rd floor. Room was spacious with plenty of storage. The beds Were comfortable. The shower was great, plenty power and heat. We had a side view of the harbour and Calpe Rock. It was lovely, but room at the front would obviously have had a better view of the harbour. If any downside, the bathroom was a bit small for 3 of us and the tv was a tiny portable with only a couple of English speaking news channels. So with a 6 year old in bed earlyish, we couldn't watch much tv. But overall I would definitely go back to this hotel and recommend it. Apparently it is being renovated as and when a floor at a time.

There is also plenty places to eat and drink around the hotel including a bar that joined onto the hotel, 4 / 5 fish restaurants on the harbour all serving amazing fresh fish dishes. Can personally recommend Dracula's and Cafe Ole which is on the same street as the hotel.

If you're feeling energetic there is the opportunity to climb Calpe Rock, although not for the faint hearted!!!

We will definitely be going back. Thankyou to all the staff there. It was thoroughly enjoyable.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ali4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2008

Hotel has an excellent location overlooking the harbour and the national park. Front rooms have panoramic veiws,although it can be a little noisy it is worth it. Hotel was fine and good value for money.Great fish restuarants nearby. Lovely walks along the promenades and out to the Penon and the national park.
Tip,If you are driving head for the harbour (Porto).Free parking
but busy.
This is the nearest you will get to the hotel to park.
Alternative is a large parking lot one block behind the hotel.
Calpe is very nice with lots of "Nos"
No rubbish,No stray dogs,No beggars,No graffiti,No drunks,No tourist gettos.etc
Recommend it for Mature couples, mum,dad and kids.

Keith Hall
Photos later

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank Storeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2007

On arrival at the hotel, check-in was very easy and courteously handled. All the staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful.

We had a room on the 4th floor (only 5 floors of accommodation) with balcony overlooking the beach, port, marina and "Penon de Ifach" National Park. The room was clean and spacious, we had lots of room for our clothes and so we were not living out of our suitcases for a week. Bathroom was spacious too. The room had air-conditioning. There are safe deposit boxes available at the hotel reception for 1 euro per day.

There is a swimming pool at the hotel, but this is quite small - a plunge pool really. However, the hotel is only 100m from a small, clean, beach so plenty of opportunity for a long swim if you want one.

We stayed on a B&B basis: breakfast was self service with the standard fare for a European Hotel - croissants and other pastries, cereals, yoghurt, cold meats and cheese, h/b eggs, bread rolls and sliced (for toast), jams, honey, etc., fresh orange juice, plus other fruit juices, coffee and tea.

If you really must have a fry-up, the Taverna de Port bar/restaurant attached to the hotel serves breakfast, but this was not included in the room price. The Taverna also offers good value snacks and evening meals. There is a menu of the day (3 courses plus bread and a drink) for under 10 euros which offers very good value for money.

Overall an excellent small hotel, we would certainly be happy to stay there again.

Stayed: October 2007
6  Thank PooleQuirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MariCBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calpe hotels
1.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Sol y Mar
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bahia Calpe
Hotel Bahia Calpe
#11 of 31 in Calpe
312 reviews
0.2 mi away
HOTEL SH IFACH
HOTEL SH IFACH
#5 of 31 in Calpe
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
AR Diamante Beach SPA Hotel & Convention Centre
0.9 mi away
AR Galetamar
AR Galetamar
#9 of 31 in Calpe
257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Port Europa
Hotel Port Europa
#8 of 31 in Calpe
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porto Calpe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porto Calpe

Address: Explanada del Puerto, 7, 03710 Calpe, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Calpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Calpe
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Calpe
#3 Romantic Hotel in Calpe
Price Range: £35 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Porto Calpe 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Porto Calpe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Hotel Calpe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing