We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great idea!”
Review of HOTEL SH IFACH

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
HOTEL SH IFACH
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Calpe
Certificate of Excellence
Whitstable, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great idea!”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

This was our (husband and I) first stay in Calpe and first Saga all-inclusive holiday. We made a great choice as we had a wonderful time. The hotel is beautiful, the staff very friendly, and the location is perfect. The hotel has an outdoor pool, an indoor pool (heated), a workout room, and a sauna. Lots of outdoor lounge areas.

The all-inclusive amenities included a free bar from 1pm to 11pm, three mealtime buffets: breakfast, lunch, and supper. All had many offerings, including hot and cold food as well as a chef who cooked some things (differed daily) as you watched and to order.

The Saga rep was on-hand most all the the time and she and the other Saga guides were Spanish residents and totally fluent in both English and Spanish. Although we were there only one week, we had two included excursions and about four optional ones.

Can't think of any real downers, although I probably would have liked more authentic Spanish food dishes. Paella was available every lunchtime and it was always excellent. And, as has been the case for EVERY hotel we've ever stayed in (world-wide), we'd have liked better lighting for reading and more electrical outlets. Oh, and this is a BIG downer: the television in the room never had a good picture on ANY channel! The only English channels were the repetitive Sky News, BBC Worldwide News, and CNN News. No programs other than these three news channels in English. They really need to upgrade all the TVs in the rooms, get cable, and get a proper connection or aerial or whatever it takes.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ifach, Departamento de Calidad at HOTEL SH IFACH, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for having chosen SH Ifach for your recent stay in Calpe.

We greatly appreciate your comments, and we are very glad to know you had a nice experience in our establishment, and we are especially satified to know that you received a kind treatment by the staff.
We have read your comments and we will consider them to improve the details you mention regarding the facilities.
We would like to emphasise that guest satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us.

We remain our gratefulness for your confidence in our hotel, and we really hope to welcome you in the next future.

Yours sincerely,

Quality Department
SH Ifach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    404
    139
    60
    28
See reviews for
402
300
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Have stayed in Calpe many times and had often admired the location and exterior of the SH Ilfach. So for our latest trip, which was to coincide with our wedding anniversary, we booked a short stay at the hotel.
We arrived around midday to be greeted by probably the most unpleasant hotel receptionist I have ever met!! His bad attitude was breath taking!! That aside, we made our way to our room and were pleasantly surprised. The room was on the top floor, and gave beautiful views of the the, town and surrounding mountains in the warm afternoon sunshine.
The room was comfortable and spotlessly clean. It was serviced each day to a very high standard. The bed was very comfortable and allowed for a very good nights sleep. Only disappointment was the decor and furniture. The rooms really could do with being modernised!! Furniture and decor is extremely tired and dated - has not been refurbished in a very long time!
The same has to be said for the whole hotel.
We stayed as bed and breakfast. The breakfast was fine, though choices were limited.
We also planned to use the facilities of the gym and spa. However, we were disappointed to find there was a separate daily charge for each use. In saying that we did not even feel tempted to use the gym. Again extremely dated with very old broken equipment!
The pool area and bar were great, though again, very dated furniture and decor. It was staffed by very friendly helpful folk who could not do enough to help - pity this didn't extend to the receptionist!
In all we had a pleasant stay, but such a pity that the potential for this hotel has not been unlocked! With a makeover this could be one of the best hotels in the region!

Room Tip: Top floor room - odd numbers gave the most fantastic view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJFJDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ifach, Departamento de Calidad at HOTEL SH IFACH, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for having chosen SH Ifach for your recent holidays in Calpe.
We are sorry for not having fulfilled your expectations in some aspects; we apologize for any inconvenience and we will focus on guest care in order to improve it.

We greatly appreciate your opinion as a useful tool for continuous improvement, according to our quality policy.

We hope you choose to stay with us again and rest assured that we will do our best to make your stay thoroughly enjoyable.

Yours sincerely,

Quality Department
SH Ifach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elewijt
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed in SH Ifach for 2 weeks in Spet 2012, return in June 2013 (11 days) and another trip already planned for Sept 2013 (3 weeks). I am convinced to have enjoyables holidays, again.
Yes, maybe, it takes some more time to check in then in other hotels, but at that moment, holidays starts and you have to ignore complaining about that matter.
And, indeed, we can always complain about little things but for us, we are well aware that 100% perfection does not exist!
For us, the hotel's location is TOP, sea & promenade, harbour, mountains... all in the very close surroundings.
Hotel staff is more than ok, very friendly, helpfull and room maintenance is perfect !
So, we are again assured to enjoy our trip in June & Setember and really looking forward to!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ludo004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ifach, Departamento de Calidad at HOTEL SH IFACH, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear guests,

First of all thank you for your loyalty to our establishment. It is a pleasure to express our gratitude for the positive comments, because we appreciate this very much.
It is very encouraging for all the staff to receive these positive appreciations, because this inspire us to make a bigger effort in order to make your next stay in Calpe even more pleasant.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank again you for your choice.

Yours faithfully,

Quality Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Upon arrival at the hotel after 9 pm we were pleasantly surprised to find the dining room open until 10 with a great hot and cold buffet. The food was good, and the mealtimes very flexible. The bedroom, bathroom and balcony were all of a good size and extremely clean. All the staff were very friendly and were only too pleased to help you. We were on the 14th floor and had great views of the sea, which we requested on booking, but should we return again to the hotel we would request high pool view as the afternoon sun shines on the balcony this side and also has views of the salt lake and the sea. The hotel was lovely and clean, (except for the grafitti left by the Portugese students). Unfortunately while we were there 7,000 students descended on Calpe and the hotels were obliged to take their quota. The majority of the students were polite but just like students anywhere it just takes a few unruly ones to upset everyone around them. Two lovely sandy beaches, a paved walk around Ifach with exceptional views and bird watching, the salt lake with the flamingoes, fishing boats returning to the harbour at around 4 pm and the subsequent auction (one euro to view) are all within a five minute walk of the hotel. A regular bus service into the old town and to the train (tram) station was just three minutes walk away, fares very reasonable. Altogether a lovely hotel, well run and well positioned. Just do not go when the students are in town unless you want an 18/30's style noisy holiday.

Room Tip: High floor for best views. Pool side view for afternoon sun and salt lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dillyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Stayed 3 weeks at this hotel. Hotel is lovely, food very good staff excellent, but what a shock on the first day of our third week.We were inundated with over 200 students aged 17 to 19 from Portugal. Their behaviour was atrocious - some of them behaved worse than animals. On a number of occasions quiet a few of them had to be physically removed from the dinning room.
It was such a shame in such a lovely hotel. It completely spoiled the last week of our holiday.
Great Hotel - Dont go in March.2 seniors

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are very quiet and give wonderful views..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ValerieAnn187050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ifach, Departamento de Calidad at HOTEL SH IFACH, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for having chosen SH Ifach for your recent holidays in Calpe.
We are sorry for not having fulfilled your expectations in some aspects, especially for any inconvenience during the stay of the mentioned group, despite the preventive measures the hotel established in order to avoid any impact on the enjoyment of other guests with different interests.

We greatly appreciate your opinion as a useful tool for continuous improvement, because guest satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us.
We remain our gratefulness for your confidence in our hotel, and we really hope to welcome you in the next future.

Yours sincerely,
Quality Department
SH Ifach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsingborg,sweden
Level Contributor
142 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Super slow checkin, and front desk agent did not greet us at all , looked like he didnt want to be there at all. Rooms ok size, especially the bathrooms, very spacious. Rooms dark and dull. Beds very hard and my pillow was like a big lump,the sheets had holes in them. Breakfast and lunch great, with a big varity of foods. Extra charge to use pool, fitness room and sauna, everything had to be paid up front, even the towels.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oregongirl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ifach, Departamento de Calidad at HOTEL SH IFACH, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for having chosen SH Ifach for your recent holidays in Calpe.

We greatly appreciate your opinion regarding our services and facilities, because we consider it a useful tool for continuous improvement to make your next stay even more enjoyable

We remain our gratefulness and we would like to continue with your confidence.

Yours sincerely,

Quality Department
SH Ifach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one month in February 2013 travelling with Saga. The bedrooms are a good size, clean and comfortable with large balconies and the upper ones have great views. The staff are,on the whole, friendly and efficient. The location is very good with transport links and walking opportunities.
The restaurant provides a buffet service for all meals and you will not go hungry. On week days the restaurant atmosphere is calm and pleasant. However, on each weekend that we were there, a huge number of Spanish visited. Accepting that this is business that the hotel needs, they do need to employ more staff for these busy periods.
A further disadvantage is that there are no UK TV programmes. The brochure states 'satellite TV' but the only English programmes are Sky News, CNN and BBC World News. There is reasonable entertainment provided every evening.
We enjoyed our stay and would return if the hotel provided some UK TV programmes for the long dark evenings in the winter.

Room Tip: For afternoon sun you need a room with an odd number and an even number for morning sun. The higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christine1044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ifach, Departamento de Calidad at HOTEL SH IFACH, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen SH Ifach for your stay in Calpe.
Your comments encourage us to improve our service every day; we greatly appreciate your opinion and we bear in our mind every comment or suggestions regarding our hotel.
We hope you choose to stay with us again and rest assured that we will do our best to make your stay thoroughly enjoyable.
Yours sincerely,
Quality Department
SH Ifach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calpe hotels
1.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Sol y Mar
0.6 mi away
AR Diamante Beach SPA Hotel & Convention Centre
0.2 mi away
Hotel Porto Calpe
Hotel Porto Calpe
#2 of 31 in Calpe
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bahia Calpe
Hotel Bahia Calpe
#10 of 31 in Calpe
214 reviews
0.6 mi away
AR Roca Esmeralda & SPA Hotel
0.8 mi away
AR Galetamar
AR Galetamar
#8 of 31 in Calpe
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOTEL SH IFACH? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL SH IFACH

Property: HOTEL SH IFACH
Address: Avenida Juan Carlos I S/N, 03710 Calpe, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Calpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Calpe
#3 Luxury Hotel in Calpe
#5 Romantic Hotel in Calpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — HOTEL SH IFACH 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SH Ifach Hotel is located only 150 metres from the excellent Fossa Beach, blessed with warm and crystal-clear waters, along the Infanta Elena seafront promenade. Only 150 metres from the Port of Calpe from which the famous Rock of Ifach rises up. 1 Kilometre from the centre of Calpe, a shopping centre and the main bus station. 75 Kilometres from Alicante airport. The SH Ifach Hotel is located on one of the main highways through Calpe and enjoys views over the famous Rock of Ifach. The hotel provides 193 guest rooms: 170 Double rooms 22 Superior double rooms 1 Suite All of their characteristics and equipment explained in detail: The SH Ifach hotel is located only 1 kilometre from the centre of Calpe, where the ancient heart of the town is home to the "Torreo de la Peca" defence tower, the ancient walls and the Church of the Virgin of the Snow, the only remaining example of the Arabic Mudejar style architecture in the whole of the province of Valencia. The location enjoys a privileged climate almost all year round. The large and bright lobby welcomes guests to a modern hotel, designed for the enjoyment of your vacations or the celebration of very special events. The hotel have a new FREE WIFI system available the whole zones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your HOTEL SH IFACH reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sh Ifach Hotel Calpe
Sol Ifach Calpe
Sol Ifach Hotel Calpe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing