We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Apartments, Great Location, but....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hipocampos Apartments
Ranked #4 of 14 Calpe B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 June 2010

We arrived back from Calpe this morning. We booked transfers with suntransfers.com and I have to say that they were brilliant. It cost a party of 5 €240 return which wasnt bad. The journey from Alicante takes about an hour and the roads pass through some pretty breathtaking landscape. The first thing that bothered me was having to collect the key and check-in at a different location from the apartments. Whilst it is not a huge distance from the Hippocampos, it would be long enough by foot with suitcases and young children. With our transfers, we paid and extra €12 for an extra stop and the driver waited for us whilst we checked in which was brilliant. The security at the apartments is second to none. We had a fob to gain access to the complex, a key to access the building and another key to access the room. The apartment was the largest two bedroomed apartment I have stayed in, absolutely fabulous, couldnt fault one thing about it. The hob took ages to master - it was touch controlled! There are plenty of utensils, delph, saucepans etc. There is an iron and a washing machine which proved very useful. There were two spacious bedrooms, one double with its own en-suite and a twin room. Eventhough the temperatures were high during the day, we didnt need to turn on the air conditioning which was great. The apartments are located on the beach prom. Couldnt get any closer. The beach is just second to none. Beautiful. The pool area was small and disappointing when I first saw it but with young children the small childrens pool meant I could keep a closer eye! I had a medical emergency with my daughter and of course panicked, I found the support at that stage very hap hazard. The lifeguard did the best he could but the language barrier was frustrating to say the least. In the end I remembered that emergency services was 911 and got an ambulance. Please if you are from Europe dont forget your E111 forms - I totally forgot and ended up paying for the medical charges which I didnt mind as all went well. The lack of a designated reception area was un-nerving but there is an office at the main entrance which will answer any of your questions. There are loads of restaurants and shops on the prom, you couldnt be any closer, we climbed most of the rock which really is worth it, the views are spectacular - I climbed in flip flops so dont worry about not being prepared. Water and drinks can be got also on the way up, just in case you forget! The scenery is just second to none. There are two supermarkets and a chemist nearby. There was no linen change or cleaning service during the week - we would have liked some fresh towels and sheets mid-week. You have to bring out your own rubbish to the large bins at the top of the road ( a minor inconvenience I know!) . Sorry about the long report but before I went I was worried about the lack of reviews. In summary - the apartments are fab, the location is fab, the pool area is small and the collection of the key is a bit of a pain but I certainly would not rule out going again. Once you know whats there, its really a lovely place, lovely people and lovely scenery!.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Trippy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2009

We booked to stay at the Turmalina Apts but on arrival we were offered the Hipocampo. What's the catch? we asked but it appeared that there wasn't one. The Hipocampo is far more modern and has aircon in all of the rooms (although we never quite got the hang of it). Nonetheless the exterior fan on the aircon unit on the balcony was fantastic for cooling you down whilst you were sunbathing.
There is only a pedestrian promenade between the beach and the front-line hotels and apartments so the Hipocampo is literally is on the beach and that, coincidentally, is who we booked our holiday with.
We took our walking boots and a guide book/map so we could head into the mountains but we were there during an exceptionally hot period so we mainly chilled out. The balcony was an absolute godsend. Ours was on the 9th floor and was chevron shaped so the sun shone on it from 8.30am to 5.30pm. Plenty of room for two loungers and a table and 4 chairs and a great view of the beach and most of the Penon Ifach rock which is well worth climbing early in the day.
Later in the day you could move to the pool area (generally deserted) just before the sun disappeared behind Calpe town.
There is cable TV with about 400 channels but once you've mastered how to access it you'll only find BBC World Service and German Eurosport of any value.
There was a fridge/freezer, a washing machine, a full 4 burner cooker/oven and a microwave but no kettle. We only needed a one bedroomed apartment but it also included a convertible sofa in the living room.
We never needed to use the staff but on the last day they agreed to let us stay on until 5pm as we had a late flight home.
There are two main beaches in Calpe, we were on Levante beach, the other beach is on the other side of the Penon Ifach rock which splits the town. The other beach is nearer the old town but in my opinion is not a patch on the Levante Beach which is cleaned with special machinery every morning.
We used the beach for strolling back and forward on during the hottest part of the day as the sea breeze was very refreshing. The people in town were mainly elderly or were families with pre-school children and the Germans seemed to be the majority visitors. It's still easy to get an evening meal for less than 10 euros (try that in Dublin!) and a large beer was rarely more than 2.50 euros.
The Wok is a chinese buffet restaurant on the Moraira road about quarter of a mile past the Diamante Beach Hotel. I don't think I have ever seen as much unlimited quality food in a buffet. After you've had your fill of starters you take your uncooked steak or fillet of fish or squid or giant prawns or frogs legs or salmon steak or octopus or chicken kebab to the chef and he'll cook it before your eyes in a choice of a dozen sauces, all for 9.95.
October is the end of the season so there were lots of establishments that had already closed and the promenade was generally deserted by 11pm but you'll always find a beer at a late hour if you want one.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lutonnappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2009

Hipocampo or Hipocampos in Calpe! The real name is Hipocampos I think!
We had a very nice holiday in the apartments of the group Calpe Rent Apart in Hipocampos: we were there for 1 week and we had a lovely time. The apartment was very nice, fresh with a lot of colour. We had a large terrace with direct views to the sea.
We have rented this apartment because a friend of mine went there and he was very pleased. The service we had was very good: they showed us around, how to use the keys, where the supermarkets are, how to use the TV and the airco...! By renting directly with these people, I think you get a more personalized treatment because we did not notice anything of bad service! Maybe the other travellers rented with another company???
Anyway.. WE had a lovely time!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caroline025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2008

Just back from a two week stay at the Hippocampos with our three children aged 9 to 18.
We had two, one bedroomed apartments on the 9th and 10th floor, and I have to say that they were well equipped, furnished and spotless just as the previous previewer had mentioned. The balconys were very big with table chairs and sun loungers supplied and we were lucky enough to be on the top two floors which ensured we had a great sea view and had sunshine on some part of our balconys from around 10am right tru till after 8pm
The pool although it seemed small was very clean and never seemed to get packed as even though the apartments were fully booked while we were there, most people only seemed to use the pool for an hour or so before going on to the best beach (only yards away) I have ever been on, or when returning from the beach. As a result there always seemed to be enough loungers and parasols available.
As diy annie said in her review . The janitor/concierge did a great job at the upkeep of the whole block and was very vigilant, ensuring guests did not bring a load of sand from the beach on to his very clean terrace at the entrance to the apartments.
The apartments were very quite at night time, as all the guests seemed to be families and young and old couples. Actually Calpe itself was quite in itself and was ideal, if you wanted a safe quite place with beautiful beach and a wide range of restaurants with prices's for all pockets availablefor your holiday.
I did not notice any trouble or rowdieness once while we were there, and I have to say that peaceful/feel good atmosphere was quite addictive.
Downsides are that the reception office only opens for certain hours during the day, so if you are checking in or out, outside of these hours, then you have to use an office in an apartment block that according to their website is on the next street from theirs, but what they fail to mention is that the next street to theirs is around 500m away which can be awkward when you have to lug cases around at 5.30am with you.
There are also no safe deposit boxs available at the Hippocampos and the nearest available ones are in a hotel further up the resort.
I also found the chap that worked in the office to very rude and not very helpful when we looked for local information or when we enquired after the first week if the linen or towels get changed, which it turns out they were supposed to twice a week, but somehow they wern't and when we politely enquired about it we were given the impression that we should be happy with what we have instead of what most establihments would do which is explain why it did'nt happen and then get it done.
But all in all we enjoyed our stay in the Hippocampos, and would not rule out returning there sometime, but I have stayed in a lot of establishments that although provide a lower quality of accomadation, they certainly provided a much higher quality of customer service.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hoopmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2008

We stayed in the Hipocampos for 7 nights at the beginning of May. We had originally booked a one bedroom apartment at the Turmalina, but were moved to the Hipocampos on arrival. We were prepared for this after having read some reviews that said it might happen. It was to our advantage as the Hipocampos is much more modern.

We had a lovely one bedroom apartment on the 8th floor with sea views. It was very comfortable with a bid double bed, nice bathroom, well equipped kitchen with hob and washing machine. There was also a nice dining/living room - although it was hard finding an english speaking TV channel even though they had satellite. The balcony was huge and had a table and chairs and two sun loungers. The bathroom wasn't as clean as it could have been, but that's our only complaint. The on site janitor guy did a great job at the upkeep of the whole block.

The apartments are on the second beach in Calpe, so it's a bit of a walk (but pleasant) around the headland to the old town of Calpe. When we were there the second beach was quieter than the one closer to the old town, which was good.

There were quite a few nice bars and restaurants nearby (the mosquito bar and coconuts) and we ate in a really lovely french restaurant at the end of the beach called La Regatta, which I would certainly recommend for fresh local seafood (the garlic prawns were fab!). There were also 2 big supermarkets within a 5 minute walk along the road which was handy as the apartments were self contained.

We used our apartment as a base for exploring further inland too. There are some stunning walks up in the mountains and May is a lovely time to go as it's not too hot and the wild flowers are still in bloom. We also climbed the Penon de Ifach while in Calpe which was definitely worthwhile for the views (although watch out for swooping seagulls trying to protect their young!).

Overall, our stay at Hipocampos was great and I would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank diy_annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pucelana83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sergio N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calpe hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel RH Ifach
Hotel RH Ifach
#6 of 31 in Calpe
980 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gran Hotel Sol y Mar
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Turmalina Unitursa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
AR Galetamar
AR Galetamar
#11 of 31 in Calpe
264 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Porto Calpe
Hotel Porto Calpe
#3 of 31 in Calpe
487 reviews
0.2 mi away
Topacio 1
Topacio 1
#24 of 31 in Calpe
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hipocampos Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hipocampos Apartments

Address: Calle Llevant 1, 03710 Calpe, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Calpe
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Calpe
Price Range: £34 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hipocampos Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hipocampos Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hipocampo Hotel Calpe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing