We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gran Hotel Sol y Mar
Nearby Hotels
AR Galetamar(Calpe)(Great Value!)
US$59
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel RH Ifach(Calpe)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Porto Calpe(Calpe)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$157
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$162
US$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (2,771)
Filter reviews
2,771 results
Traveller rating
2,048
534
111
37
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,048
534
111
37
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschampagne barbeach clubsea viewinfinity poolold townfantastic hotelseparate showersun creamstandard roomhalf boardjunior suitelittle extrasbreakfast was amazingfree waterwalk in showerbreakfast and dinnerbeach towels
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
678 - 683 of 2,771 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I stayed at the Sol y mar apartments in June 2102 with around 30 of my family and friends. I had booked them nearly a year in advance as the sol y mar was to be the base for my wedding.

Following reading all the rave reviews we were excited to stay here and the hotel certainly did not dissapoint. Correspondence with the hotel was excellent - I did have concerns that there may be issues with our bookings due to the number of apartments we booked, all checking in and out on different days with different requests, however there were absolutely no problems and staff were extremely polite throughout the duration of our stay.

The apartments are modern and spacious with high quality furnishings - however they could do with a kettle.

The pool area is the perfect meeting point with a stunning infinity pool, comfy loungers and fantastic sea views over to calpe rock.

I would strongly recommend the apartments to anyone as they are incredibly good value for money, however some of our guests went for a hotel room instead and they said the breakfast was to die for with just about every possible need catered for.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RivieraCentre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Yet again another great experience,last year we stayed for 3 nights,which was absolutely not enough,luckily this time we were able to stay much longer and it was well worth it!!!! From the moment we arrived the staff could not have been more friendly or helpful.I had booked a superior room again which is definitely worth the extra money for the view alone(I also think the 8th floor is the best),the bathrooms are incredible and also having complimentary water in your mini bar everyday is an added bonus.The only negative comment I will make is that the pool and beach club are too small to accommodate a lot of people,however the hotels location right on the beach meant that we spent everyday there,which is fine in early season but in high season it's too busy!!!
This however would still not put us off returning,I have already booked for October.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChelseaChampi0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

The sol y mar has the whow factor! it is modern, newly built hotel with all the facilities you could ask for.
we had an internal room with a view of the garden. we looked at tripadvisor prior to our stay and could find no reviews on these room so here goes. it is a beutiful room, very modern, two showers, lovely big bed, free aircon, fridge, safe. I was very impressed with the complimentary toothbrush and toothpaste, comb,tissues,cottonpads,shower gels,shampoo, moisturiser ect. we were also given a free botlle of water every day which is lovely to wake up to. the room was spotless! admittable the sea view rooms have beautiful views and go for it if you can afford it but we were very happy without the view as we don't spend much time in the room.

food!!! unfortunately we were not very impressed. on the first day when we arrived we wanted to get a quick bite to eat something small before dinner. we saw the restaurant and asked if lunch was available. we were b&b board and lunch costs 60 euro for two. we thought this was quite expensive but we thought we could have a big lunch and small snack for dinner. the lunch is self service buffet which was not explained to us. we went an got a selection of food and it was cold and tasteless. it was a bad experience as it was our first meal away and an expensive mistake!

fortunately there are lots of other restarants in the area which are affordable and offer beautiful food.

the staff are very friendly and helpful and although i would not go there for the food theactual hotel is lovely.

we went at the end of may which is very very quiet. lots of restaurants were emply, i would suggest late june, july, august.

we climbed the ifac which was an amazing experience and i would suggest to do it in the cooler morning or evening and bring water and good shoes!!

Room Tip: i think all rooms will be modern!!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosguillHolidayPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Spent here one week. Great location, facilities and service. Recommending.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarioMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I stayed at Sol Y Mar for one night with my partner. We had been staying in a villa with family for the week and so wanted to treat ourselves at the end of our holiday. We arrived at 10am despite knowing check-in wasn't until 4pm but our room was ready - the staff were excellent and extremely helpful. Some of the staff struggled with speaking English, but this was the minority. Rooms are clean, spacious and we even had a partial sea view which was lovely. The hotel generally is absolutely spotless and smells remarkably clean all of the time.

We decided to try the Abiss restaurant which is adjoining the hotel - it's a la carte and offers amazing views out to the sea. Dress code was relaxed, which was lucky as my other half didn't have any trousers! The staff didn't speak much English but it was quite nice them explaining what we were eating in Spanish - I wouldn't go here if you are a fussy eater! The food was delighful and not hugely expensive, as you would usually expect. We were even given a complimentary glass of champagne to complete our evening!

It was quite windy the night we stayed here but we really wanted to try the Champagne bar (adults only which was bliss for us). Despite it being a Saturday night it was absolutely dead and we managed to get ourselves a bed on the top floor, looking out to sea. Again, this was extremely relaxing and just epitomises the top quality and exclusivity offered by the hotel.

We were bed and breakfast and the breakfast is second to none - there is something for everyone and we celebrated the last day of our holiday with champagne and orange juice and a full fried breakfast - bliss!

Check-out was easy and we made use of the parking. Beware though, parking is 12.50 for 24 hours! After 24 hours you will be charged at the normal rate which is really expensive. The receptionist suggested we move the car to the street as it was Sunday and therefore free parking.

We had a late flight home so decided we would try out the spa after check-out - a MUST if you want to forget the outside world. The spa has a 14-circuit course and really does leave you feeling very sleepy and relaxed. I would recommend this entirely - we had it completely to ourselves too because it was siesta time, that was a bonus.

Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel - it's worth every penny if you want complete relaxation and top quality service/facilities.

Room Tip: A sea view room would be lovely but most rooms have a partial sea view room anyway. Go for sea view if you can to take in the Med!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s4bby85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews