We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place - too bad the reception does everyting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Hotel Sol y Mar
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Calpe
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice place - too bad the reception does everyting”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Our room, view, service was really good here. The internet was dodgy, as is the case with most hotels in Southern Spain.

It is not evident that breakfast can be had in the room; to date I am unaware, though this would have been ideal, as we had a lovely balcony and view, and do not eat breakfast - just coffee.

But the information services, though good, are not complete, and the reception does everything. Need a towel for the beach, reception, return the towel, reception, checkout/in reception. So you queue quite a bit.

The room had air conditioning, but it was not on as the weather was not hot enough. Trouble is, one had to close the window, so the air was very hot in the room. Finally we opted for opening the balcony door and let the sun wake us...

Breakfast is really well organized . Better be, the turnover over 500 people a morning. So it is far from relaxing. (that-s why it would have been nice to know if my coffee could have been had in the room...).

Finally, what's with the elevators? 8 floors, I believe, but the elevators are tiny, so people wait, and wait for an elevator that arrives full.

Thank goodness I am fit for stairs....

The staff were excellent and well, the POOL, to die for. Really beautiful.

Value for money was good when one considers the gorgeous view.

Room Tip: higher the better, and the view rooms are well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maybellehoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Departamento Ca... G, Quality Department at Gran Hotel Sol y Mar, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear sirs,

First of all we would like to thank you for your reservation with us.

We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your holidays in our hotel.

In reference to your comments about the reception desk, we would like to inform you that the towel service now is in the beach club, there is a person specially doing this service.

Many thanks for your opinion, because it helps us to improve and offer you a better service.

We would like to see you again and we hope you had a nice journey back.


Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,756
    474
    99
    35
    34
See reviews for
739
1,232
30
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I loved everything about this hotel. I booked a sea-view and to my mind this is well worth the extra cost. From my balcony I couldn't see the rock, which would have made it even better, but it was still a first-class room and view. I stayed half-board and the food was absolutely delicious and in abundance. The only complaint, my friends had, was that the plates were not warm. I felt the hotel had a tranquil feel to it with a large bar area to relax in and look at the stunning view. I found the staff very helpful and friendly. Calpe has a good train, or tram, service as they call it which is very cheap and the bus service connects to the station. Reception will give you details.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Departamento Ca... G, Dpto de Calidad at Gran Hotel Sol y Mar, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
First of all we would like to thank you for your reservation with us.

We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your holidays in our hotel.

Many thanks for your comments in Tripadvisor, your opinion is the most important for us.


We hope to seeing you son.


Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waalre, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed here for three days. This hotel has spacious rooms, very kind and helpful staff and top-class food. Everything was perfect (only the check-in could be more quicker/efficient). We enjoyed the good food and the magnificent sea-view. Definitely a very good choice!

Room Tip: Take a half-board arrangement (breakfast + dinner). The food is so good, you will enjoy every minute...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricR3847YA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Departamento Ca... G, Quality Department at Gran Hotel Sol y Mar, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear guest,


First of all we would like to thank you for your reservation with us.


We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your holidays in our hotel.


We would like to seeing you again.


Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haute Pyrenees
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed here for my wife's Birthday. The hotel has a "to die for" location, with great views over the Calpe Bay.
Checking in was a little slow because the staff were meticulous over ensuring that we were fully informed where everything was and what amenities were available. The receptionist even noticed that it was my wife's Birthday and a bottle of bubbly appeared in our room, with the best wishes of the hotel!

I had booked a Junior Suite and it was magnificent, spotlessly clean, spacious, well appointed and very comfortable. Both bathrooms were provided with every toiletry you could wish for including a razor, shaving cream, a toothbrush and toothpaste. Even though there were a lot of people at the hotel, our room was very quiet. No external noises intruded, with the exception of the sea when we opened the large sliding patio doors onto our large terrace.

The reception staff were exceptionally helpful confirming the location of the restaurant we had booked for dinner. Even phoning the restaurant to make certain that our booking was confirmed.

Breakfast in the dining room was very busy on the Sunday morning, but there were no delays being shown to a table and coffee arrived promptly. The buffet breakfast was vast, with every palate catered for, including Bucks Fizz, if desired! The staff ensured that tables were kept clear of used crockery and cutlery at all times.

The bar was surprisingly cheap compared with many hotels of a similar quality that we have stayed in. Prices were comparable with some of the bars beyond the hotel and the service was yet again impeccable.

Only one thing was a disappointment. When I went to check out there was a large party being checked in with only two receptionists. We needed to check out and get on the road quickly so I had to eventually find another member of staff and get them to organise our checkout. Despite that little hiccup we would have no hesitation staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grockles65230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Departamento Ca... G, Quality Department at Gran Hotel Sol y Mar, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, many thanks for chosen our hotel for your holidays.

It´s a pleasure to us to know that you have enjoyed our facilities and service having a pleasant stay.

We would like to seeing you in the future.


Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I booked this hotel as it was rated #1 in Calpe which is disappointing for the remainder,
The room on the 8th floor was good and the service from both reception and waiters was excellent. However, the food at both breakfast and the buffet (two nights as we went out the others) was poor, particularly the so called hot dishes which were hardly luke warm.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rugby59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Departamento Ca... G, Quality Department at Gran Hotel Sol y Mar, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, many thanks for your reservation with us.

We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Many thanks for your comments in Tripadvisor too because the opinion of our customers is the most important for us

We hope to seeing you son.


Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Visited last week. From the moment we arrived reception staff made you feel extremely special. Bedrooms are spacious, airy & clean. Breakfast and Dinner time spoilt for choice with the wonderful array of well cooked food. Restaurant staff extremely efficient and friendly, a special mention for Kristina for her efficiency both in the bar and restaurant. This hotel is fabulous and we hope to return very soon.

Room Tip: There were 52 in my party with differing rooms from interior to exterior with balcony and also apart...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Molly4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Departamento Ca... G, Quality Department at Gran Hotel Sol y Mar, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your booking in our hotel.

We are very pleased that our hotel and our service has been satisfactory and you had a lovely stay with us.

We hope to seeing you again.


Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Wife and i stayed at the Gran Sol Y Mar for a few days at the end of march, superb location with a georgous sea view room.
The restaurant Maitre d was surprisingly sullen with no greeting for some but the restaurant organisation was the worst part.
I have never seen such a poor layout for food in my life items that you would normally see grouped close by were often found elsewhere ? we were continully walking around looking for things, and then the following day the layout changed which confused us again. worst of all was the person who should have been cooking at the hot food counter who was continually awol leaving the food trays empty, very poor for this standard of hotel.
Would we return of course we would, its such a lovely place sadly spoilt by senior staff who should really monitor this better.
Calpe was very quiet at this time of the year we walked past the rock to the next beach and could not believe the number of empty hotel/apartments a bit like a ghost town.

Room Tip: Just pay more !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank airtool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Departamento Ca... G, Quality Department at Gran Hotel Sol y Mar, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear guest,


First of all we would like to thank you for your reservation with us.


In respect of your comments of our restaurant service we would like to inform you that the degree of satisfaction of our customers is very high but we will comunícate to our maitre and our chef your opinion because is the most important for us.

We hope you had a wonderful way back to home


Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calpe
1.1 mi away
HOTEL SH IFACH
HOTEL SH IFACH
#4 of 31 in Calpe
896 reviews
1.4 mi away
AR Diamante Beach SPA Hotel & Convention Centre
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bahia Calpe
Hotel Bahia Calpe
#10 of 31 in Calpe
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Porto Calpe
Hotel Porto Calpe
#2 of 31 in Calpe
444 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel SH Villa Gadea
0.3 mi away
Suitopia - Sol y Mar Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Sol y Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Sol y Mar

Property: Gran Hotel Sol y Mar
Address: C/Benidorm 3, 03710 Calpe, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Calpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Calpe
#1 Luxury Hotel in Calpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Sol y Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new concept thought for leisure, rest and pleasure moments. Services and details of first quality. Elegant decoration and the most exquisite restaurant service in addition you will be able to enjoy the spa fitness area with a large and exclusive treatments Style, distinction, character, and an exclusive location beside the seaside overlooking the Mediterranean sea and the impressionant Penyn de Ifach. We want to give you unforgettable moments. Feel how sweet can be this life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Onthebeach, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Gran Hotel Sol y Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Calpe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing