We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunsea Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunsea Village
Ranked #7 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Calpe
Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“First Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

We arrived at Sunsea village with our printed reservation from Trulytravel.com and luckily the bar personnel were still in at 11.30pm they contacted a Sunsea Rep who came and informed me that Truly Travel had not informed them of our arrival (4 persons requiring 2 X 2 Bed apartments). I thought this is going to be a disaster "how wrong I was".
The Belgian or German Rep coolly and calmly in perfect English (better than mine) asked for us to wait ten minutes while he had a look ? He came back and said no problems I have found you two apartments (actually upgrades from our original booking) and he had us booked in in no time, no fuss no bother.
the following day he came and found me and handed me an email proving he had not been informed of our holiday by Truly Travel. I had not requested this nor had we complained but he just wanted us to know Sunsea Village were not to blame.

The apartments were very clean newly decorated and very well equipped plenty of everything and i mean plenty, enough for 10 people. the pool area was ideal size with plenty of good quality sun beds not your plastic type. I could not fault this resort. First Class at the price.

Pub on site with limited stock of drinks but fine Sangria, food was basic but reasonably priced.

Car is essential for visiting surrounding areas but I was aware of this before I booked.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank DAVIDGALVIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    21
    10
    6
    0
See reviews for
19
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

This is a pleasant family-orientated small holiday complex. You need a car to get around if you’re staying here.

The pool/bar area is superb: a convenient mix of sunny and shady spots, potted flowering plants and palm trees. Good pool beds, thatched parasols and a bright, clean, good-sized pool. The building is beautifully Spanish.

We didn’t eat at the restaurant: when we wanted to it was quite chilly so we would have had to sit inside and, though the outside is very pretty, the interior seemed a bit dark and stuffy.

The tennis courts are concrete and in pretty good condition – pleasant in the mornings, hot in the afternoons. The fitness room needs an urgent renovation. Skip the fitness altogether: tennis and swimming is good enough.

All the apartments are below the pool area. There are downstairs apartments opening out to the garden and upstairs apartments with a pleasant, sunny patio. We were upstairs. The complex is in a valley in hilly Calpe: stairs are part of the charm! The lowest apartments were being renovated.

The rooms were clean and decent in size. The beds were terrible. But I was told they have ordered new ones so hopefully that is no longer a problem.

The kitchen is small but adequate: a hob with 4 hotplates, kettle, coffee percolator, microwave. No oven, no dishwasher. As usual in a holiday kitchen there are things you miss. Tip: we always take our own old (disposable) dishcloth + tea-towel, some scissors and a sharp knife. Indeed: they do not have wineglasses, but the rosé tasted just as good in the tumblers! Unfortunately you are not allowed to barbecue due to the risk of forest fires.

We paid nearly EUR20.- for a week’s WiFi – don’t! The WiFi was really poor – you had to keep logging on every few minutes.

Our kitchen sink was blocked but the friendly reception guy came down straight away to unblock it, so no problems there.

All in all we had a good time. A week´s stay was not expensive. Some improvements are needed but it´s a good spot.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nelsonhond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

I have just returned from the Sunsea Village and was very impressed. Great views in a quiet location. The only downside I found is that you WILL need a car. However it is cheap to rent and gives you more freedom to explore.

The restaurant in the complex served the best chilled beer I have had for a long time (3 euro a pint). A snack cost 6 euro and a meal 10 - 15 euro. The guy behind the bar was very friendly and ordered our taxi back to the airport - The taxi charged a fair price and turned up on time. If you do not want to hire a car I recommend using him to take you to town. The other taxis were OK but did over charge.

The apartment was fine. It is self catering so you do not get a cleaner coming in everyday. It was clean and quiet - Just what the doctor ordered ! There were a few nights when were woken up by the people above us coming in late but no major problems.

Would I go again......The simple answer is 100% YES

Best,
Paul

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Paulhawtin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

We arrived Saturday evening and were allocated an upstairs apartment as far away from the pool as possible. As my partner has mobility problems we asked the receptionist/ manager if there were any other rooms available. He said he could only swap us with the other ‘English’ party who had yet to arrive [which we found to be a strange comment]. They turned out to be Scottish as it happens! We decided to stick with the original allocation. We were also relieved of €100 deposit against breakages in cash - credit cards were not acceptable.
The allocated apartment had plenty of space including balconies at front and back; so that we had one in sun, one in shade at all times -brilliant. However the kitchen was lacking space – a total of 22 cm useable worktop. It had no oven despite having 4 rings. Not sure why were provided with metal casserole dishes. Also missing was a chopping board, tea towel, tall glasses, wine glasses and the slow boiling kettle, which dripped when poured had an exposed element encrusted with calcium. When the following day we asked for wine glasses and a tea towel we were told that the Spanish don’t use such items! Never been in a Spanish restaurant or bar that did not have wine glasses! The next day we were given some more tumblers and a chopping board. We also complained on the Saturday about the lack of cleaning. We were advised that no cleaning staff would be available until Monday. My partner took several hours on the Sunday to bleach the bathroom and clean the urine and dried on faeces from the toilet. [No doubt our German host would claim that the Spanish do not worry about such things]. There was a sign in the kitchen area stating that the bin had to be emptied and the liner carried to the large bins beyond reception on a daily basis. When we asked for bin bags so that we could comply with the order we were advised that we would have to provide our own. There was no recycling facility within the premises, disappointingly. Shortly after arrival we advised the manager that the shower head fitment was broken as we did not want to lose part of our deposit. This fault was never addressed. Subsequently we reported that the light/ceiling fan in the bedroom was not working – this was never addressed

For an extra €15! we could have purchased use of satellite TV enabling us to watch a several German and French channels and BBC world news.

The complex had a restaurant open to residents and non residents alike. I never saw anyone eating in the restaurant but as the menu of the day started at €32 I am not surprised [In town an acceptable, filling, menu of the day could be found for €8 including a drink]. The very attractive courtyard area appeared to be ‘off limits’ to residents. The bored looking chef had to limit himself to providing the odd warmed up frozen Pizza/burger and chips to residents in the bar area.

The website states ‘concierge’ is available. In my experience that term implies 24 hour assistance. Reception was rarely open and even on the Saturday of arrival when it is advertised as being open 08:00 to 18:00 on the two occasions I visited after initially checking in there was a sign stating ‘back in 15 minutes’. The manager was easily found on these occasions sat outside the bar.
A beautiful, peaceful location full of colourful trees. No road noise; just the sound of birdsong. The gym equipment could have done with a little lubrication but the facility was a welcome bonus.
A car is essential and self catering is a challenge given the lack of space in the kitchen
The Manager appeared to welcome French / German guests far more than UK guests

Room Tip: Go for first floor to get front and back balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SteveBury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2008

My wonderful wife took me to to Calpe for my birthday and we stayed at the Sunsea Village complex.
We arrived on Saturday evening to find the reception all locked up and no one around. The owners of the attached restaraunt couldnt help as it is a seperate franchise.
We eventually found a small note on the reception door telling us which apartment we had and that it was open and the keys were on the dining table. This must be a regular thing as there was a similar note the following Saturday for another late arrival.
The apartment itself was okay. It looked clean but a closer inspection revealed that it was only superficially clean and was in need of a gold old fashioned scrub.
We did however have a loungs, kitchen, two double bedrooms, a bathroom and two huge balconies on two sides. It was equipped with all utensils, crockery, coffee maker, microwave, iron and board and a TV with freeview. Plenty of room for the two of us.
There are also one and three bedded apartments all in small blocks.
The location means that a car is really essential unless you are a dedicated hiker. The complex is in a small valley down a very very steep hill and is around a 50 miute walk from the nearest Calpe Beach. We hired a car online from Victoria car hire in Calpe for around £55 for 5 days. We had a Corsa which was perfectly adequate.
Calpe itself is a really nice place with a fabulous promenade and a lovely old town and I can imagine it will be a lot busier in high season but as we were there in January it was fairly quiet with several bars closed but there were plenty of places to eat but the nightlife was very low key. We dont like rowdy but a little live music would have been nice.
There is a huge number of ex-pats and repeat visitors and all English needs are catered for especially the bars. Could do with a little more authentic Spanish really but there are plenty of small villages to visit in the car.
The weather when we were there was around 60 to 65 F and very pleasant.
Finally a big thankyou to BAZ and RENE from Lichfield who gave us plenty of advice and really put themselves out to help. A pair of diamonds and we wish them lots of return visits to their favourite resort.

Helpful?
12 Thank sj171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calpe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2007

we stayed in the sunsea village,it was a fantastic place with a very high leavel off accomadation,very good pool and tenise courts and a fab reastraunt.Calpe itself was charming great beach and local cafes and bars were exerlant,no loud music or disco,s in calpe. So if you want that don,t go there.But if you want charm and no hastle with touting calpe is the place for you.we will be going back again.

Helpful?
10 Thank sunworshiper001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calpe hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calpe
1.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Sol y Mar
2.2 mi away
Hotel Porto Calpe
Hotel Porto Calpe
#2 of 30 in Calpe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
22.6 mi away
Pueblo Acantilado Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Apartamentos Turmalina Unitursa
2.2 mi away
HOTEL SH IFACH
HOTEL SH IFACH
#4 of 30 in Calpe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel SH Villa Gadea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunsea Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunsea Village

Property: Sunsea Village
Address: urbanizacion Maryvilla 33, 03710 Calpe, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Calpe
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Calpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunsea Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Sunsea Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing