We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“was good”
Review of Hotel TorreJoven

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel TorreJoven
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Torrevieja
uk
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“was good”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

we stayed for 2 nights in august and had a great time and would stay there again breakfast was good eggs and bacon beans etc room was clean air con good, beds comfortable.good price , we had a 2 bedroom 1 bathroom , do not listen to the bad reveiws they pay peanuts and want 5 star

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nadia69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    28
    39
    19
    23
See reviews for
18
42
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Motherwell, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We booked a 5 night full board stay and ordered a room with a lounge attached and also a double room. We had no lounge. The rooms looked out to waste ground with rubbish on it, terrible, disgusting. The food was cold and inedible and despite paying for full board we ate ALL meals out. The staff were nice enough but the Hotel, which was supposedly redone a few years ago, was old fashioned and very basic. I cannot imagine what it was like before the revamp!. prostitutes adorned the street and roundabout outside. You also MUST have a car as it is not near anywhere other than a couple of bars. The town is not in a place you could walk to. You had to pay a deposit for remote controls and the system is that when you leave the room you take your door pass out of the electricity slot which puts the air con off. this means when you get home in the evening the room is unbearably hot. the air con is also noisy and if you have a suite of 2 attached rooms there is only one air con in the bigger room leaving the small room too hot to sleep in. Please go to another hotel. anyone who says this was a good place to be is CRAZY!

Room Tip: Please just go to a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Margo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torrevieja hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Motherwell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

This 'renovated' hotel is very old and out of date. awful old aircon units in rooms that are noisy, poor quality and go off when you are out. If you have a family room/sitting room, the extra room has no aircon so it is impossible to sleep in it. If you have a room on the back (half the rooms are looking out back) you get to look at waste ground and rubbish stewn back yard. the food is terrible, very basic, greasy and cold. entertainment is a bad DJ. the hotel caters for OAP day trippers and coach tours, cheap and nasty. there is a little row of shops bars and restaurants nearby, you can sit there at night and listen to the awful karaoke at the same time watching the prostitutes at the roundabout across the road and on the corner. you need a car to go any where, the route to the town centre is along a dual carriageway! please, DO NOT GO HERE - it is awful!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank margo707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

We arrived at the Torrejoven not expecting too much as the write ups on different sites were a bit damning, our comments on the negative press;
Many people said the place was hard to find; True, well not hard just not where you expected it to be (even with a sat nav!). It's on an urbanisation called Rocio del Mar but unfortunately you never see a signpost with that on it. It's actually on the roundabout just before the shopping complex with Mc Donalds on it - Mc Donalds is well sign`posted even if the hotel isn't!
People said the breakfast was pants - very true, stick to bread and croissants the 'hot' food just isn't worth thinking about!
The bar/ restaurant manager is a miserable git - also true!
The pool is small and only gets the sun in the afternoon - yep, but not a lot the hotel can do about the orientation and as it is in a residential area space is limited. The sunbeds are pants as out of a meagre seven of them, four or five are broken!
We only paid 56 euros a night for bed and breakfast and for the price I have stayed in a lot worse. It's a safe feeling area, the reception ladies are very helpful and friendly, the room (119) looked recently decorated, there was plenty of hot water and the sheets and towels were clean.
There are plenty of places to eat (mind you watch the drinks prices if you venture into Dave's Sports Bar - 3 euros for a large glass of water - robbing swine!).
The busses run to Torrevieja every 30 minutes.
The beach was clean (and almost deserted - in August!)
Yes, there were a lot of Spanish people in there but fer goodness sake, it's in SPAIN!
The disco wasn't open when we were there so I can't comment on that aspect of it.
We drove up from our home in Southern Spain and felt comfortable parking the car in any of the side streets round the hotel.
It's a 3 star hotel and in Spain that's not so high a rating as you might think. I think the place represented good value for money - perhaps we are more easygoing than some?

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lizzylogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

I've just returned from a 3 night/4 day stay at the Torrejoven with five girlfriends (we're aged between 22 and 27.) This wasn't a typical tourist hotel by any means but was good value B&B for a short sunshine break out of season.

Two friends and I stayed in 302 which I thought was a really good size and was cleaned every day. It consisted of a main room with two single beds, desk, fridge (working!), wardrobe, TV, safe and air conditioning. (We had to pay a refundable deposit of 20 euros for the safe and air-con.) The third bed was in an adjoining room which led to the bathroom. This room also had a sofa (possibly a sofa-bed?) and a desk.

The bathroom was very clean, all marble-tiled and included a shower over bath (with glass screen), hairdryer, toilet, bidet and sink. We were given clean, good quality towels everyday.

Our room didn't have a baclony and was to the back of the hotel, overlooking the highway and a grassy wasteland. Considering its location I didn't notice any problem with traffic noise nor music from 'the Area' nightclub downstairs, but I was woken up once by them emptying their glass bins at 7am.

(The other three members of our group stayed in 306 which on the same side of the building and was very similar apart from it didn't include the sofa.)

We found the staff to be very helpful, for example in booking us taxis, providing extra drinking glasses for our room and change for the vending machines etc. I did get the impression that they didn't really get many groups of young English people staying their though so perhaps we were a bit of an oddity!

Pool area - hardly any sunbeds and they were very uncomfortable. I did see staff testing the water quality of the pool, although I didn't see anyone cleaning it and noticed a few bugs and oil floating on the surface.

Area - across the road (a busy dual carriageway) from the hotel is a shopping complex with a large supermarket, 24-hour McDonalds, Subway and a number of other bars and restaurants. A few of these were English-owned, including the Captain's Table fish and chip restaurant where we had a really nice meal. There were also a few other bars/restaurants within walking distance. I only had breakfast at the hotel once and stuck to bread as the cooked food was cold by 9am.

I hadn't read other reviews before we went but didn't notice any problems with prostitutes/crime etc around the hotel which others have mentioned. The hotel is not in Torrevieja as such though and it costs 12 Euros in a taxi to get there. Woudn't bother with the beach near the hotel as it's tiny/rocky with no facilities.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2009

Just returned from two weeks at this Hotel and found it perfectly adequate for my needs.I found the Staff friendly,with the exception of the Restaurant Manager who was very moody!
Luckily it was fairly quiet at this time of year,although I would imagine it would be pretty hectic later on in the season. As I lived in Torrevieja twenty years ago I was horrified by the overbuilding that has taken place,at that time the Hotel stood alone in it'[s own grounds with just the Camp ground opposite,now it is a concrete jungle.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tunejim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langholm, Dumfriesshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2009

We stayed from February 21 to 28 2009. Extra was paid for a superior room(no balcony)
Location is dominant, on a rise, 4.7km south of Torrevieja on the N332 road to Cartagena. Parking was no problem in the streets surrounding it(could be different in Summer when the apartment blocks are occupied) The area is residential apartment blocks, with a good selection of restaraunts and bars close by.
The room was on the fourth floor, facing Torrevieja, across open ground. Traffic noise was not a problem, as long as the window was shut! A nice touch was individual air conditioning/heating units, which were available all the time. The bathroom floor had been re-tiled, which left a low step to trip over, if not careful! Maid service was daily and everywhere was very clean, throughout the hotel.
We were half board and found the food selection acceptable, except that the hot food was served warm or cold! Only cold plates were available and the hot area of the buffet counter was incapable of keeping anything hot! One of the waiters brought in a dish of hot food, holding it with his hand under the dish, so it does not leave the kitchen hot to start with! The dining room is pleasant, but you have to clear your table and sort the items onto a trolley.
This is a Spanish Hotel, run for the Spanish. Most of the residents were construction workers, who had their own section to eat in. A large party of Spanish children arrived on the Friday. Most notices are in Spanish and reception had only basic English.
There are prostitutes working the roundabout nearby, but there are also more on other junctions in the area(even advertising in a weekly paper! )
The location is very handy for exploring the coast both ways and the Torrevieja by-pass starts nearby. We drank in one of the local bars, cheaper than the Hotel.
TIP If on the Motorway from Alicante, come off at Torrevieja North to miss the toll charges, which only apply for 3 sections round Torrevieja on the AP 7.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sirob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrevieja
6.8 mi away
Servigroup La Zenia
Servigroup La Zenia
#1 of 2 in Playa Flamenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Masa International
Hotel Masa International
#3 of 19 in Torrevieja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Fontana Plaza
Hotel Fontana Plaza
#6 of 19 in Torrevieja
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Aparthotel Atlas
Aparthotel Atlas
#7 of 19 in Torrevieja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Dna Monse
Hotel Dna Monse
#1 of 19 in Torrevieja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Cano
Hotel Cano
#5 of 19 in Torrevieja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel TorreJoven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel TorreJoven

Property: Hotel TorreJoven
Address: Urbanizacion Rocio del Mar, 03180 Torrevieja, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Torrevieja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Torrevieja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel TorreJoven 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel TorreJoven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torrejoven Hotel Torrevieja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing