We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bang for a Buck!”
Review of Hotel Dna Monse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Dna Monse
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Torrevieja
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Spotless clean, modern and nice staff.

Gym is more like a fitness room and Pink Cafe at rooftop is bit pricey if you compare it with
a bar at ground level but overall highly recommendable place to stay.

Breakfast is something they could improve, we decided to have cup of cappuccinos and sanwiches at ground level pizzeria.

Only negative side is location, I think it is almost impossible if you don´t have rental car.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Doña M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Dna Monse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013
Google Translation

“Estimado huésped. Agradecemos su comentario sobre nuestro hotel en Tripadvisor, así como conocer que su estancia resultó como deseaba y que lo recomienda para alojarse. Pink Café, en nuestra azotea, es un lugar para vivir momentos únicos, con unas vistas exclusivas de la Laguna Rosa; muy recomendable, como dice. Nuestro desayuno, muy completo y variado, es mejorado continuamente teniendo en cuenta los gustos de nuestros huéspedes, así que anotamos su comentario. Y, en cuanto a la ubicación, tal y como se especifica en nuestra página web, nos encontramos en la tranquila urbanización Los Balcones, a pocos minutos del centro de Torrevieja y de sus playas. Esperamos que vuelva a alojarse pronto con nosotros. Reciba un cordial saludo.”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (477)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 477 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013

Very modern hotel that is spotlessly clean. Stayed hear for 6 nights last week. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The pool area on the top floor is beautiful, it would be better if they could reduce the prices for the drinks a little, I would expect to pay more but a pint in their bar attached to the hotel was 2 euro where by the pool it was 5, I think 3.50 would be a fair price. The food we tried in the bar was excellent and very good value, and there are other options about 15mins walk away. Very nice place to stay

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Doña M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Dna Monse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013
Google Translation

“Estimado huésped. Es un placer conocer que su estancia en Hotel Doña Monse resultó como deseaba. Agradecemos su comentario, así como saber que apreció la especial y dedicada atención de nuestro personal. Tomamos nota de su comentario respecto a los precios de las bebidas de la terraza. Las opiniones de nuestros huéspedes nos ayudan a mejorar y ofrecerles siempre el mejor servicio. Esperamos volver a verle pronto por nuestras acogedoras instalaciones.Reciba un cordial saludo”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Clean, comfortable and modern hotel at a very competitive price. Friendly staff but a bit out of the way so a car is useful. Our room was a good size with a comfortable bed. The staff in the bar and restaurant were friendly and breakfast was ok. Downstairs is a restaurant, El Cucharon, and they do the best black pudding and choritzo roll i have ever had in my life (it's the only one actually). Nice place, nice people and good value.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ArchDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Doña M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Dna Monse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013
Google Translation

“Estimado huésped. Es un placer conocer que disfrutó en nuestras instalaciones y reconoce el valor y la calidad de éstas. Cuidamos, como pudo comprobar, cada uno de los detalles para que su estancia sea inolvidable. El restaurante El Cucharón es un lugar único donde disfrutar de los mejores platos de la cocina tradicional. Le recomendamos una nueva visita para disfrutar del sabor de nuestras especialidades. Esperamos volver a verle de nuevo en Hotel Doña Monse de Torrevieja. Reciba un cordial saludo”.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My family and I were treated to a guided tour of the hotel by Rebecca when we were there to have lunch in El Cucharon. Everything looked fab -and even though we have a place just a few Km away we will be very likely to stay the night here in order to get full use of the facilities

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iainmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Doña M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Dna Monse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013
Google Translation

“Estimado huésped. Nos alegra conocer que les gustó tanto el hotel cuando vinieron a visitarlo, así como que pudieron disfrutar de los estupendos platos del Restaurante El Cucharón de Torrevieja. Será un placer volver a verles de nuevo en Hotel Doña Monse y que puedan vivir una experiencia única con nosotros.Reciba un cordial saludo”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

The hotel is fairly new and is very clean but the decor is cold and naff. The hotel tries to be like a cool and fashion hotel but it is just that....a try.

Beds are big but not comfortable. Mattress are covered with a "plastic bag" that you can be feel while you are lying on the bed. Sheets ares cheap and, oh God!, you can feel them.

Rooms are big, both the bedroom and the bathroom, but again they are made with no sense. Strange space distribution with a sense of being in the middle of "a forgotten road motel" (the hotel is located outside Torrevieja)

Special mention to the amateur staff. No cleaning schedule at all, so you can see cleaners all around the hotel cleaning over the already cleaned things. Since there are not many guests in the hotel (it scares a little bit because you never see anyone around except for the staff) they have to kill the time doing unproductive things. That could not be bad except for the fact that they vacuum just next to you while you are checking in (we barely could hear the receptionist because of the noise) ....maybe it is their way of showing how clean the hotel is. Cleaners also take with them a walky talky to communicate among them, but I guess they feel more comfortable shouting one another letting the walky talky just a fashion accesory.

We were attended by an Argentinian receptionist extremely amateur. For a simple check in (we were the only guests in the reception) we have to wait more than 15 minutes seeing how she answered the phone to manage appointments for the spa while we were stuck in the reception waiting for her (note for the managers: maybe it could be a good idea to have less cleaners and more people on the reception or someone managing the spa appointments) Our surprise was bigger when we were to the see the spa and we discovered that there were 2 people! In the spa reception..why didn't they manage the spa appointment instead of the amateur Argentinian receptionist?

The Argentinian receptionist also tries to oversell you as much as services as she can (I guess the owners will love that girl) The problem is that it is very obvious that she does't care about you, she only cares about your money (....and her commission?)

We are still wondering if there is maintenance staff in the hotel. We called reception asking for someone to come to our room to fix the safe deposit box (we couldn't open it) and nobody shows...maybe they were helping cleaners.

Terrace on the top seems very nice but unfortunately it was cold during our stay so we could not being there (no bar service available) This is without no doubt the best area of the hotel.

Spa is OK (a little bit small and expensive, ask for the prices before you use it!) Gym is a big space (again with no logical space distribution) with a few old machines. No worth it at all but al least it is free for hotel guests.

The hotel has also a bar. Average food at reasonable price. Rude staff.

If you must stay in Torrevieja, Hotel Dona Monse can be an option to consider since there are not many new and clean hotels around but I would recommend to look for a hotel in the nearby villages. Definitely I would not recommend it for a vacation stay, just for a short stay if you must be very close to Torrevieja (be aware that the hotel is far from Torrevieja village and you will need a car to go to the town)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view over the lagoon (even though you will also view the road) Very ugly views i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SPHotelReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Doña M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Dna Monse, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013
Google Translation

Estimado huésped,
Lamentamos que su estancia no haya sido de su total agrado. Desde el primer momento hemos buscado la máxima calidad en todos los elementos incorporados en Hotel Doña Monse.
Las habitaciones de nuestro hotel han sido diseñadas con el más mínimo detalle, cuidando especialmente la distribución, la iluminación, los tonos de color y los pequeños detalles que aportan calidez para crear el equilibrio perfecto entre un espacio actual y acogedor, en un marco incomparable que nos ofrece la laguna rosa a través de la ventana, que conforman un espacio único.
Detalles que cuidamos también en todo nuestro equipamiento textil. El protector de colchón, al que hace referencia, además de ser impermeable y transpirable, está confeccionado con tejido de algodón de la más alta calidad. (Es por esto que no entendemos que usted sintiera como dice “una bolsa de plástico”.)
Hemos de añadir que las sábanas tienen una composición 50% algodón 50% poliéster, el gramaje de las toallas es de 400 gramos y que son 100% algodón. Una señal más de la excelencia que intentamos alcanzar día a día y que le invitamos a comprobar si desea volver a visitarnos.
Nuestra ubicación, efectivamente, no es en el centro de la ciudad sino en la tranquila Urbanización de Los Balcones, tal y como indicamos en nuestra página web. El centro se encuentra a apenas 4 kilómetros, y la playa está aún más cerca, distancia que en coche se recorre en menos de cinco minutos. Razón por la que tampoco comprendemos que nuestro hotel le pareciese, como dice, un “motel de carretera”, ya que se encuentra localizado en una urbanización, con supermercados, restaurantes y otros servicios cercanos.
Asegura también en su crítica que las máquinas del gimnasio de Hotel Doña Monse son “viejas”. Y nosotros le animamos a volver y comprobar lo que asegura, ya que se trata de máquinas semiprofesionales que todavía no tienen ni un año de antigüedad, y que se compraron e instalaron completamente nuevas tres meses después de la apertura del hotel, hecho que se produjo en mayo de 2012.
Mención especial merecen sus calificativos hacia nuestro personal. Desconocemos la atención que pudo recibir y rogamos disculpe los problemas de comunicación que se hubieran podido producir, pero nuestro personal al 100% está completamente comprometido con el mejor servicio a los clientes del hotel. Se trata de profesionales altamente cualificados que trabajan siempre con un objetivo: que el cliente se sienta como en casa y atenderle en todo lo que pueda necesitar.
Sirva como ejemplo otras críticas positivas, cerca del 100%, hacia nuestro personal y nuestro hotel, tanto en Tripadvisor como en otros portales web.
No obstante, agradecemos su opinión y continuaremos buscando la optimización de nuestros servicios. Esperamos que estos hechos no le impidan visitarnos nuevamente en una próxima ocasión.
Reciba un cordial saludo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Stayed here during a work period in Spain. The hotel is a little remote from any centre so a car is pretty essential. The hotel is of a very high standard, new and modern. The room i had was small but perfectly ok. Dined in the hotel on the evening and the food was very good.Would i stay again? yes i would

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoylite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Doña M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Dna Monse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013
Google Translation

“Estimado huésped. Esperamos que decida alojarse de nuevo con nosotros, como comenta, en su próxima visita a Torrevieja o alrededores. Agradecemos su comentario que contribuye a posicionar el buen nombre de Hotel Doña Monse. Como pudo comprobar hemos cuidado cada detalle para que la estancia de nuestros huéspedes sea inolvidable, con el confort y la calidad necesaria para ello. Reciba un cordial saludo."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

My wife and I have just spent a most enjoyable week at the Dna Monse. The hotel is very modern, finished to a high specification. The room was lovely, with good heating and soundproofing, the Wi fi worked perfectly. Staff were very helpful. As former expats, my wife and I saw this hotel built from ground level, what a super job they made of it. We wil definitely return!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrevieja
2.9 mi away
Servigroup La Zenia
Servigroup La Zenia
#1 of 2 in Playa Flamenca
1,179 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Cano
Hotel Cano
#4 of 19 in Torrevieja
130 reviews
5 mi away
Hotel Masa International
Hotel Masa International
#3 of 19 in Torrevieja
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel La Laguna Spa & Golf
3 mi away
Hotel Fontana Plaza
Hotel Fontana Plaza
#7 of 19 in Torrevieja
294 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Playas de Torrevieja
Hotel Playas de Torrevieja
#5 of 19 in Torrevieja
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dna Monse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dna Monse

Address: Avda. Orihuela, 75-Urab. Los Balcones, 03186 Torrevieja, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Torrevieja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Torrevieja
Price Range: £57 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dna Monse 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a privileged area, just two minutes far from Torrevieja and Orihuela Costa beaches and five minutes far from the city centre. The Hotel Dna Monse offers an exclusive accommodation in a unique environment with views to the Pink Lake and the Mediterranean Sea. It was opened in May 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Stayforlong S.L., Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Dna Monse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing