We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, clean hotel, serves it's purpose very well”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Playas de Torrevieja
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Torrevieja
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We read the review beneath this one about it being a bit negative that it was full of Spanish people, but we took that as a huge plus... if the locals use it and you're not going to be surrounded by Brits then fantastic!
The hotel is clean and the staff are friendly and on the whole speak English (the reception staff all spoke English).
The beaches were very good. Clean and child friendly and very popular again with the locals. There were plenty of sun-lounges available for you to hire.
We were there for a long weekend and received a free room upgrade on arrival as the hotel was fully booked.
The breakfast was a buffet which was as described in previous write ups, there were always pastries and fresh fruit available.
A very child friendly hotel which seems to take a lot of coachloads of travellers.
There was always evening entertainment on which could go on until around 12.30am but as you don't tend to eat until around 10pm anyway then this was never really a problem for us noise wise.
Local food and drink all good value, you don't really need to get in to your car unless you want.
We'd definitely recommend a walk up the beach one evening to La Mata too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JLN-Raff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Playas de Torrevieja
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2012

good points- nice hotel for 3 star, rooms good size and cleaned daily, breakfast- something for everyone- bacon,egg,sausage- cold meats, cheeses,croissants, cake,yoghurt,toast,juices etc.the pool is a good size.
not so good points- this is a very spanish holiday area (lovely people), they bring there own seats and parasols to the beach, so there are not many to hire. they go to the beach and then back to there apartments, so there are not many shops apart from small supermarkets. They Cabo Cervera is 150m from a small sandy beach,250m from a bigger beach and 350m from the best parts of the area of La Mata.A bus stop is outside of the hotel and it costs one euro thirty go either way to Torrevieja or La Mata. Very few brits to talk to.

Room Tip: All rooms have pool/sea view.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KenTotnesDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I was here with group of friends to participate in Habaneras choir competition 2 weeks ago. It was summer - and it is a perfect hotel for below reasons :

- only few meters walk to the beach side (well, 2 minutes to the rocky beach, 5 minutes to the closest sandy beach)
- lively pools (by means, pools with lots of entertainment til night)
- friendly staff
- bus stop right in front of the hotel (if you decided to go to the city with taxi - it'll cost you around 8 Euros one way)

what i don't like about the hotel was :
- choice of buffet (probably because we were there for a month, along with other participants, they arrange us a buffet for bfast / lunch / dinner - but taste gotten horrible as we stayed longer, also the restaurant staff / head staff was rude)
- room cleaning, they tried to clean up the room, but it is always sandy no matter how they cleaned it
- towels ! even worse, the cottons were falling off the towels, and also strong smell of bleach

Room Tip: - the hotels have two wings, looks like the other wings (facing the sea) is new-er than the sides i...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank si_mandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Noisy is the overall impression of the hotel. Disco music from 10:00 in the morning to 01:00 at night around the poole area, unfortunately every room facing the pool so it's impossible to change to a more quiet room. This together with the fact that you can hear almost everything going on in the room above makes it very unpleasant. The staffs English capabilities are limited to none existing. The in room safes has to be rented and are not complimentary and is in poor condition. Due to the hotels gym facilities the hotel is exstra crowded with locals froom nearbye school classes, so make sure you plan a 10 minute wait if you are interested in asking the reception anything during daytime. The breakfast is below average at best, everything is there but not in good condition.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

This hotel is very large, the rooms spacious, but very basic.The location is quite near the beach, but otherwise not very attractive. From the balcony I had a sea view, that was nice. For shops you have to walk. There is a bus connection to Torrevieja about every 30 minutes, but the buses run unregularly. In the winter the area is quite dead. The buffet breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arcticbramble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I think that means I liked it more or less! A friend of mine has a property not far from
here, so its usually more cost effective to book a hotel for a night when somebody is in the property, than it is to book a next day flight: if that makes sense? Cabo Cervera is perfect for
this. Its reasonably priced, breakfast is adequate and the staff are very friendly.
Overall Cabo Cervera serves its purpose quite well for a short stay.

Room Tip: location is a key factor for people who book this hotel
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christopher s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We arrived late (1am), and I honestly just wanted to turn around and find another hotel.. The room smelled like it had not been opened for several years, and it was hot and sticky..The furniture was old and curtains and AC was beond outdated... But it was clean, and no bugs. We decided to stay the first night and see the next morning.

Breakfast...maybe I'm picy but I just couldn't eat there. Eggs, and bacon were both soggy, and nothing really looked appealing...There was a selection of bread and pasteries, yoghurt, cereal and fruit - but presentation....Anyway, we found a nice little place by the beach that served omelette and coffe (the omelette was not on the menu and they served us before they even opened:))

We stayed 3 nights. Torrevieja is not the place for luxury, we could not find anything but 3 star hotels, afterall this was probably a ok choice for this area. The room was big and clean, and service Ok for a 3 star hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CeeAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrevieja
5.2 mi away
Hotel Dna Monse
Hotel Dna Monse
#1 of 19 in Torrevieja
447 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Cano
Hotel Cano
#5 of 19 in Torrevieja
124 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Playas de Guardamar
Hotel Playas de Guardamar
#6 of 9 in Guardamar del Segura
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Fontana Plaza
Hotel Fontana Plaza
#6 of 19 in Torrevieja
277 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel TorreJoven
Hotel TorreJoven
#12 of 19 in Torrevieja
126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Masa International
Hotel Masa International
#3 of 19 in Torrevieja
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playas de Torrevieja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playas de Torrevieja

Address: Crta. Torrevieja a la Mata, s/n, 03188 Torrevieja, Spain (Formerly Cabo Cervera)
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Torrevieja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Torrevieja
Price Range: £53 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Playas de Torrevieja 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Playas de Torrevieja Hotel offers a great location in Torrevieja just 250 metres from the beach. Situated in the surroundings of Torrevieja, this modern complex offers a great selection of facilities along with 186 well equipped guest rooms. Our large and modern rooms, with one or two bedrooms, lounge and terrace faced to the swimming-pool and the sea, are full-equipped with air conditioning cool/hot, TV-SAT, telephone, safe box, fridge for free use (minibar on request), bathroom with hairdryer... We also offer Restaurant, coffe-shop, meeting rooms, business facilities, swimming pools for adults and children, gym and sauna.What we offer... • 9 Floors with a total of 186 rooms with 1 or 2 bedrooms:• 106 twins , 65 from 3 to 5 person "family rooms " and 9 Junior Suites , all with lounge and terrace with spectacular sea views.• Big reception hall, hospitality desk for groups, six lifts and 24 hours front desk service.• TV and lecture room, free internet access in all the Hotel, meeting, convention and celebration rooms.• In our restaurant El Mirador you will find free buffet service, Mediterranean and international cooking, all type of rice, home style desserts and Show Cooking service.• We have just added our own rent a bike service with more than 20 last generation mountain bikes and information about routes in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Playas de Torrevieja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabo Cervera Torrevieja
Cabo Cervera Hotel Torrevieja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing