We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a while ago...but I enjoyed staying here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fontana Plaza
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Torrevieja
east kilbride scotland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“It was a while ago...but I enjoyed staying here”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Fantastic location, close to beach, restaurants and all the attractions of Torrevieja. Nice pool area and pleasant staff. Basic, but clean rooms and public areas. Only had breakfast which was fine, so can't comment on other meals.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulinear1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    112
    78
    17
    20
See reviews for
40
117
20
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

My husband and l recently visited Torrevieja and stayed at this hotel. It is very convenient and well refurbished. The staff were very friendly. The rooms are nicely decorated, however, l would suggest a few extras which would make a difference. For instance an extra mirror in the main bedroom area would be an advantage with the hairdryer located there as well. This would help the ladies with their makeup etc. A few pictures scattered around would not go astray, this would give the rooms a little bit of atmosphere. However, we would stay there again, as it is well priced .

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marysmgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights and had a large room that had recently been renovated to a good standard. The bed was comfortable and the room and bathroom were very clean. There was a decent TV with 2 english language news channels. We were disappointed with the shower which was just an extension to the taps and was only barely adequate and a surprise given the standard of the other fittings. There were no chairs in the room and so nothing to tempt you to linger.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

The public areas were exceptionally sparse and minimalist to a fault. It wasn't to our liking and didn't encourage you to sit and relax. We didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on the food but the dining room looked similarly austere and wasn't particularly inviting.

Without doubt the best thing about the hotel was its location, bang in the centre of town and as we were out of season, wasn't noisy or difficult to access.

If you're looking for something that's done to a high standard (apart from the shower) and is very clean then this is it. Apart from that it has little to encourage the traveller to spend any time in the hotel.

The most disappointing thing was that the internet price was more expensive that the rate availabe to people just turning up and they wouldn't give us the cheaper price so we felt a bit ripped off.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPCHickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangor co.down
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2008

just back from a girlie weekend in torrevieja, staying at the hotel fontana! great hotel, clean and tidy, very central, great value, breakfast very nice, drink measures very very good!!!!! staff very friendly and helpfull, strongly recommended.
the girls from bangor health centre, N.I.

  • Liked — location and drinks
  • Disliked — noisy street outside
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank susanBangorCo_down
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2008

For £20 it was cheaper than getting a taxi home on New Years Eve and only 200 metres from the best Restaurant in Torrevieja, Bahia.

Rooms were noisy - overlooking a one-way street and on the way home for the night-owlers - but we knew this when booking.

Bedroom was ok enough although a bt spartan. Typical Spanish hotel in that there were no carpets, rather tiles, which meant that every step someone made in the corridors could be heard through bedroom doors. Fortunately after a few bottles of wine at the above mentioned restaurant I slept like a log.

Bathroom was ok, plenty of hot water and enough towels. Even had shoe-shine kit, shampoo, needle and thread kit.

I'll stay again - next New Years Eve, but that will be all.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Lack of carpets to deaden internal noise
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank springsteenisgod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2007

Stayed last weekend having booked and paid through internet 3 weeks previously for 2 rooms. Big debate with Svengali like receptionist whether they would acknowledge booking. Claimed I didn't have the right sort of voucher with a reference number, only email acknowledgement (with reference number) from internet booking agency, and refused to look at computer system to see if I was booked in. Downright obstructive. Eventually conceded it was genuine after some arguement and checking of computer following which complete change in personality - nothing too much trouble! If you've got a car definitely worth the €10 daily parking fee (plus 18% tax) to use the secure underground car park. However beware, this hotel is in the centre of town and the night time noise from the street is incredible if you've got a front facing room plus of course the hotel guests having to bang doors to get them to shut and the inevitable high heels on marble floors. Must be the noisiest hotel I've ever stayed in. Poolside might be quieter. Didn't use the bar. Breakfast plain but adequate. Usual Continental selection of meats cheese etc plus bacon, an egg variety, beans and sausage. 2 tiny lifts covering 7 floors, each holding max 4 people without luggage! Hope you're not claustrophbic as one didn't have any interior indication of movement between floors and both are dimly lit! Guests probably 70% Spanish and 30% Brits. Good location close to sea front. Cheap, but you get what you pay for. There are much better hotels in the vicinity if you don't mind being slightly out of town eg La Zenia. Wouldn't go back.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank earlyretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torrevieja hotels

Barry South Wales
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2007

This was a short break booked at little cost so we were not expecting much. The best that can be said about the Hotel is that it is clean. I asked for a pool view, booking several months in advance. There are approximately 32 pool view rooms which the Hotel advised were all occupied upon our arrival. I found this strange as we saw hardly any other guests during our stay. Our rooms were at the front of the Hotel which renders sleep virtually impossible because of the constant flow of merry people passing during the early hours. The Hotel charge 10 euros a day to park your car, but we found plenty of spaces a short distance from the Hotel, though you may have to drive up and down a few streets. The Hotel also wanted 24 euros (9 for me and 15 for my partner!!!) to enter their own night club. Don't bother, there is plenty to do in the immediate area. I can highly recommend Casa Nicholas for those who cannot do without a Sunday Lunch when they are away. Also El Muelle, which is heavily advertised in the town centre - great steaks. It was fine for what is was, but I will not be going back to this Hotel as I like my sleep.

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — charge for everthing
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank pula888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torrevieja hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cano
Hotel Cano
#5 of 19 in Torrevieja
117 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Dna Monse
Hotel Dna Monse
#1 of 19 in Torrevieja
438 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Playas de Torrevieja
Hotel Playas de Torrevieja
#4 of 19 in Torrevieja
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Masa International
Hotel Masa International
#3 of 19 in Torrevieja
234 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel TorreJoven
Hotel TorreJoven
#12 of 19 in Torrevieja
126 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aparthotel Atlas
Aparthotel Atlas
#9 of 19 in Torrevieja
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fontana Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fontana Plaza

Property: Hotel Fontana Plaza
Address: Rambla Juan Mateo Garcia 19, 03181 Torrevieja, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Torrevieja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Torrevieja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fontana Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Fontana Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Hotel Torrevieja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing