We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Fontana Plaza
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Torrevieja
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Just returned from a five night stay at the Hotel Fontana with family (4 adults & 1 child age 9). First impressions were good, hotel looks modern/new and very clean, the rooms were good too and beds were very comfortable. The pool wasn't open at this time of year which was really disappointing as this was not made clear from the website when I booked the hotel, there is also no bar/cafe or anywhere else to hang out in hotel. The bedrooms are a good size and very clean and modern however there is no facility to make a tea or coffee in the room and not even a bottle of water is supplied or any glasses, the maid came daily to clean the room but did not replenish any soap, shampoo satchets our entire stay and last couple of days the floors did not appear to be swept either. Our view from the veranda was into a derelict supermarket and littered street however I can't blame the hotel for this and I didn't expect to have a great view when I booked. We only stayed bed and breakfast and the breakfast left a lot to be desired, the first morning there was a choice of scrambled egg(of a sort)/bacon/cold meat/cheese/yoghurt(of a sort)/toast and a couple of cereals like coco pops, it was quite a poor breakfast. The other days were the same except some fruit and muesli was provided. All in all we were comfortable at the hotel but it isn't one I would recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lesley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Fontana Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2013

lovely hotel , very clean and comfortable. Would have been better if coffee/tea making facilities were available ...we had breakfast included which was nice , however the waiter in the restaurant was scary! No smile , banged about and generally looked a bit 'put out' !

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Nicely located just a couple of blocks from the harbour, and the beds were lovely. Nice pillows to! The bathroom was completely open to the rest of the room, (the toilet had a glassdoor) so we got very cold in the shower and it was a little inconvinient.
Good cleaning, but we all missed something in our rooms (ashtrays, blankets, table? cups etc).
Maybe because it was november?

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marianne o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

My husband and I recently stayed for 2 nights in this hotel and it was fabulous. The room was modern and spotlessly clean. Our room overlooked the pool and it was beautiful. There was a fridge in the room plus a hairdryer and a safe. The wasn't a kettle but that was ok. The reception lobby was beautiful and the staff at reception were friendly, polite, helpful and spoke excellent english. Would not hesitate to use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

When we arrived the reception area was very posh looking, the staff at reception were extremely helpful and spoke good English. Got to the room, decent size, nice decor, no kettle for tea and the tv didn't have any English channels, we had a fridge but family members next door didn't plus they had a safe and we didn't. Can't complain about the cleanliness and was excellent. The room had a balcony which opened up to a view of the town, was lovely to sit there and people watch. Used the pool on a couple of occasions, was clean and enough sun loungers but something was missing, it wasn't to the standard you receive when you arrive at reception. Breakfast was expensive plus the main guy was not really hospitable, never smiled or made you feel welcome, not an amazing breakfast just standard. Check out was easy so all in all I was happy with the hotel and the staff at reception were excellent but disappointed with breakfast, nice hotel worth a stay as its close to the front, would stay again if I went back to the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We were very impressed with this 3* hotel.The rooms were cleaned everyday with fresh towel,beds made etc...I didn't expect that so was impressed.Ok the Restaurant beside the hotel was a buffet style place where u cud avail of breakfast lunch dinner...to be honest with the location we were excited to try all the cafe's etc around the area so we didn't go & eat there.i read people complaining that breakfast some days was 'scraps' they don't just cater for the hotel it's open to the public!
The staff were very helpful & polite always.
The renovations have the place looking lovely.its very minimal & clean looking!
The swimming pool was great,we didn't think the photos of it did it any justice.
Overall I would highly recommend this hotel,location was amazing.this was our 3rd trip to torrevieja & we usually stay in a friends villa but we would definitely go stay at Hotel Fontana Plaza next summer!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RockyGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We stayed in this hotel for just one night whilst visiting Torrevieja and it was very pleasant. Apparently the hotel was very run down and has just been newly renovated. The hotel reception/lobby area was beautiful, all white, very posh! The front desk staff spoke very good English also so that was a plus as we spoke almost no Spanish. Our room was on the second floor and had a balcony overlooking the pool area which was good, however as the hotel is right in the center of Torrevieja there is other buildings surrounding the pool and hotel which are not very pleasant on the eyes. However other than that, the building is in a super location, very central, minutes walk from the beach and shops. The room has a massive bed! Very clean rooms, basic and spacious but that's all we needed. Breakfast was not included in our booking but that was fine as we got up too late for breakfast and there are plenty of lovely cafes around the city to go to. You have to be careful in the city as there are a lot of pick-pockets and looky-looky men so don't have anything in your pockets and make sure your bags are zipped up! Not bad for 68 euros for one night! Would definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: Room 201 was on the opposite side from the road and also overlooked the pool so was ideal!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nataliebritovsek94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torrevieja hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cano
Hotel Cano
#5 of 19 in Torrevieja
124 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Dna Monse
Hotel Dna Monse
#1 of 19 in Torrevieja
447 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Playas de Torrevieja
Hotel Playas de Torrevieja
#4 of 19 in Torrevieja
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel TorreJoven
Hotel TorreJoven
#12 of 19 in Torrevieja
126 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aparthotel Atlas
Aparthotel Atlas
#9 of 19 in Torrevieja
38 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Masa International
Hotel Masa International
#3 of 19 in Torrevieja
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fontana Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fontana Plaza

Address: Rambla Juan Mateo Garcia 19, 03181 Torrevieja, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Torrevieja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Torrevieja
Price Range: £50 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fontana Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Fontana Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Hotel Torrevieja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing