We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will not recommend this hotel”
Review of Ona Aldea del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ona Aldea del Mar
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Torrevieja
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2013

It was very difficult to find the reception. Finally we did find a small reception marked with filthy and ragged flags by the entrance. We had booked and paid through an agent for 10 days. Nevertheless we had to make a deposit of 100 Euro. Neither minibar nor internetconnection were made available to us in our room. So what was the deposit of 100 Euro for ? The answer from the receptionist was for "hotel policy reasons".
Linen and towels were changed once during our stay. Toilet paper was not supplied after the first couple of days. The reception was closed until 10 o`clock in the morning. The receptionist was not very helpful and could only supply us with a streetmap made by hand. We decided to leave after 8 days. The hotel did not refund us for the 2 remaining nights which were paid for in advance. Also due to the hotel policy.
We will never come back to Aldea del Mar and we will not recommend this hotel to anyone. Stay away.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Martin49_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnaHotels, Public Relations Manager at Ona Aldea del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear guest,

Nowadays, Ona Aldea del Mar doesn't apply any hotel policy to make a deposit of 100 Euro. I must say that I am surprised by the comment about our cleaning protocols because they are actually one of the points most valued by our customers.

We welcome suggestions and comments: thanks to them we can detect our weaknesses and at the same time, make improvements to our service.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2012

Although we arrived after reception had closed, I rang from England the week before and also sent an email to advise of out ETA and they waited with the reception open for us. We walked to the apartment which was in a wonderful quiet residential location, it was a large 2 bedroom, really comfortable beds, washing machine, TV and air - con. It was so very comfortable, we loved it there and hope to go back some time in the future. The man on reception was very helpful and the pool area, gardens at apartment block all were kept immaculately clean.
If i could just point out that I think they are missing out on selling drinks at the pool. I understand that it probably doesn't warrant keeping the bar area open but a selection of cans and water to buy there would give an income and make life easier for the guests who have to take these with them from their apartments which are all off site.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet high floor, we did and it was superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wendylegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ona Aldea del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your time and for sharing your opinion with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our resort.
We are sure that all your suggestions will help other customers to enjoy their stay at Ona Aldea del Mar even more.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

My first experience was when I rang from the UK to make an airport shuttle arrangement as indicated on Aldea del Mar's website. A young woman answered and when I began to explain what I wanted she simply hung up on me. I tried again and she hung up on me a second time too. This did not fill me with much confidence. On arrival at the area of the hotel we could not find the reception and it was fortunate that other friendly holiday makers were around who managed to help us locate it. It was closed temporarily however so I rang the numbers provided and got through to someone who came around straight away. He was great, booked us in and even took us to our apartment. The apartment was a lovely 2 bed apartment in very good condition apart from a wonky patio door that needed a good shove to open/close. It had a balcony which overlooked a pretty and gated garden.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HOTHOOFER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ona Aldea del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear guest,

From Ona Aldea del Mar we want to thank you for the time taken in posting your opinion in regard to your experience in our aparthotel.
Your comments and suggestions are highly appreciated, thanks to them, we can identify our weak points and at the same time, make improvements in our service.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We chose Aldea del Mar via the Interval website. The pictures of the apartment looked good and the description made it sound like a pleasent place to stay...this was a total misrepresentaion of what actually awaited us!
On arrival we eventually found the reception area and we were greated by dirty deep fat fryer smells and a tired looking lobby. The lady checking us in was less than pleased to see us but she dealt with the process quite quickly.
What we didn't realise was that the building we were staying in was several roads away from reception and the pool area. We were led, without explanation, down several streets till we finally reached the building. It looked quite promising from the outside with nice gardens and walk ways. We were then shown the apartment...dark, dingy, dirty were our first impressions. we were shocked and could not beleive that this could be the same place as shown on Intervals website!
The lady proceeded to tell us that they had new cleaners so not to leave any belongings in the apartment as she could not trust them yet and also to keep the security gate on the front door locked at all times...humm sounds lovely...not!
The bathroom was dirty and tired, the kitchen was unusable with a fridge that looked like it had never been cleaned, the beds had concreat based and plastic protective sheets - yuk!
This was not the standard we expected from an Interval property.
All in all a huge disapointment and we complained imediately to Interval...we stayed 1 night and left first light the next morning.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank loulabelleBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ona Aldea del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear guest,

We welcome suggestions and comments: thanks to them we can detect our weaknesses and at the same time, make improvements to our service. This is under the condition that they conform to some experienced reality and above all proceed from real guests.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2011

We exchanged through Interval International to stay here in order to catch up with old friends, they had checked out the location for us in advance. It was a first floor apartment overlooking the pool (neither the pool nor the surrounding garden was open at this time of year). Comfortably furnished, altho' more lighting in the lounge area would have been useful, as ever the spanish electric goes into meltdown if you have too many appliances on, like the kettle ! The beds were on the hard side, but overall the apartment was very well decorated, and very clean everywhere. We had a nice balcony and the location meant we were able to get to all the places we needed to. Buses pass this large complex, although we would not have managed without a car as we easily notched up 500km in a week. There are some pretty decent restaurants in the immediate vicinity, but no shops, its a fair way to the nearest Mercadona. We shall definitely come again.

Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
4  Thank silvertraveller0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ona Aldea del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the time spent in sharing your opinion through TripAdvisor.
We are sure that your comments will help other users to enjoy their stay with us even more.
The whole Ona Aldea del Mar team strives daily to fulfil the wishes of our guests and our ultimate reward is customer satisfaction.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel on your next visit.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Came to Torrevieja for vacations and to spend time with friends who have an appartment there. Chose Alder del Mar for its closeness to the friends' appartment and to the Los Locos beach. The club has a large territory, very green and cozy. Stayed in apartment 4, 1floor, block 14. It was a really nice and clean apartment, quite spacious, with large balcony and convenient, properly equipped kitchen. The apartment can accomodate up to 6 people which makes it a great value/money choice for a large company or a family. Rooms are cleaned daily (dish washing is not included). Club guests may use the pool in the garden for 8 euros per day. There is also a free pool near the reception (1, Gabriela Mistral), but it`s a bit far from the blocks.
The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. I was to come late at night, so the lady at the reception gave me detailed instructions over the phone how to find my appartment, open the doors, etc.
There were, of course, some drawbacks, like lots of doors you have to open to get to the apartment (and the nessesity to carry a bunch of keys), lack of elevator in the block and caused by that troubles with luggage carrying, oddly functioning TV remote control, no car parking around the club. Still, these drawbacks are eliminated by comfort and atmosphere of the hotel.
Having stayed in another hotel in Torrevieja I must say that this is the best choice for sea/sun/sand program.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MontenegroStars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ona Aldea del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your time and for sharing your opinion with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our resort.
We are sure that all your suggestions will help other customers to enjoy their stay at Ona Aldea del Mar even more.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2009

The only difficulty we had with this place was finding the building we were allocated. Arriving on a Sunday and off season we collected our key and instructions through a pre-arranged sequence of security codes and maps. You really have to pay attention to the instructions - the street where we had our apartment had three number 17 buildings.

The apartment we were allocated was nicely appointed and had a nice array of kitchenware and was cleaned daily. There is even a washing machine and ironing facilities in the apartment if needed. There's a TV and music system for those who may find a need for them.

The complex is about 40 mins drive from Alicante airport - a navigation system will help find it much more easily than maps - the place is not on a main street, but once you find it it should be easy to get back to.

We didn't use any of the facilities the complex had to offer.

Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
2  Thank Mohikaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ona Aldea del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the time spent in sharing your opinion through TripAdvisor.
We are sure that your comments will help other users to enjoy their stay with us even more.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel on your next visit.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torrevieja hotels
4.1 mi away
Hotel Dna Monse
Hotel Dna Monse
#1 of 19 in Torrevieja
457 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Cano
Hotel Cano
#5 of 19 in Torrevieja
126 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Playas de Torrevieja
Hotel Playas de Torrevieja
#4 of 19 in Torrevieja
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Fontana Plaza
Hotel Fontana Plaza
#6 of 19 in Torrevieja
280 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Masa International
Hotel Masa International
#3 of 19 in Torrevieja
247 reviews
3.5 mi away
Aparthotel Atlas
Aparthotel Atlas
#9 of 19 in Torrevieja
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ona Aldea del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ona Aldea del Mar

Address: Calle Gabriela Mistral 1 | (esquina con Dr. Roentgen), 03183 Torrevieja, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Torrevieja
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Torrevieja
Price Range: £38 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ona Aldea del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our holiday complex Aparthotel Ona Aldea del Mar Torrevieja is located in a residential district of Torrevieja, a village that has preserved its unique Spanish character and charm for ages. The distance from Aparthotel Club Aldea del Mar to the beach and the centre of the village are within walking distance (it will take you approx 10 min.) The village offers a wide range of activities you can choose from: The Santa Pola amusement park, sand dune beaches of Guardamar, the salt museum, The Torrevieja lagoons, where you can enjoy the therapeutic mud baths, are only a few among other interesting places worth visiting. Then another wonderful way to spend your free time is Terra Mitica theme park that lies 70 km away from the resort in Benidorm a breathtaking journey through the ancient civilizations of Greece, Rome, Iberia, the Mythic Islands and Egypt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ona Aldea del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Complejo Aldea Del Mar Hotel Torrevieja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing