We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What I expected”
Review of Avondale Motor Inn

Avondale Motor Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avondale Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Avondale
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What I expected”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

A cosy place to stay as I was only in town for 3 nights. The staff were friendly and the room was clean and tidy. Would stay again if I visit Auckland again.

Room Tip: I had their deluxe studio unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    13
    5
    3
    12
See reviews for
13
11
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

I've stayed here twice now, the owners have made me feel welcome both times, the room was adequate to my needs, and the location is fine, not too close to the city, but not too far to drive. It does me.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waikato
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Ever get the feeling that the cheap price for accommodation was not cheap enough to match the quality? Free WiFi was a challenge to get working and when it did it was unreliable.
Very basic. I was not even sure the sheets on the bed were clean. If you just need a place to sleep this will do - don't expect anything other than basic.
There is a little McDonalds across the road in the Shell Service Station.
You would need a good reason to use the pool.

Room Tip: As far away from the entrance as possible - Ash St is busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farminventor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Avondale hotels

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

WIFI was panyts but pretty much like most of New Zealnd, Skype contact home was impossible, no aircon in roms but clean and tidy does the job

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

we booked in for 2 nights room was smaller than we thought and very basic,they had gang members staying there who ended up punching 2 of our friends and threatening the ladies.police were involved but got no help from owners we had to leave as threats were made from gang and couldnt leave room without been chased by them.very disappointed on extra costs we incurred for extra travel and extra motel,the money was more important to them and they made excuses for gang members even though it was all caught on cameras...would not recommend if you have kids or want a peaceful stay

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carlie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We stayed here for 2 night and found it to be very clean great owners and have spent a lot of time and money doing a referb the rooms are a tad small but thats ok the queen bed was nice and comfy good value for the price will stay here next trip to nz

Room Tip: number of people and how much do u want to spend?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbelltown, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We had a short trip to Auckland & had not booked any accommodation. We needed to be based around Avondale/New Lynn/Kelston area & found out quickly there aren't that many places to stay. The Peninsula looked like it had closed down & New Haven full. The only option was Avondale Motor Inn. The previous review was not positive so I was expecting it to be an unpleasant place. I asked to see the rooms before booking, which the owner welcomed. The 1st room downstairs had a double & single. It was dull & the bathroom didn't look too great. So, I asked about a room with a queen bed. These rooms are on the top floor. The room I was shown was a studio room. It had a queen bed, bedside tables, phone, dining table for 2, full kitchenette with fridge, microwave & utensils etc., BIR and ensuite with hairdryer. Linen, toweling & teatowels were clean & the towels were changed for clean ones the next day. Outside the room we had a patio table & 2 chairs on the balcony. I was quite surprised how clean it was. Ash St is very busy but we didn't hear any of it in our room. It has a security gate for safety which made us feel at ease. Also, a pool which I didn't take much notice of. I can't comment on the other rooms, like the family room but the room we had $95/nite for two people was just right. So over all we had a pleasant short stay.

Room Tip: Check room & you get what you pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HibiscusRose2560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avondale
5.0 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
679 reviews
5.3 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#50 of 67 in Auckland
321 reviews
3.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Lincoln Green
Quality Hotel Lincoln Green
#1 of 1 in Waitakere City
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Surrey Hotel
The Surrey Hotel
#49 of 67 in Auckland
182 reviews
1.2 mi away
Avondale Motor Park
Avondale Motor Park
#1 of 1 in Avondale
61 reviews
1.0 mi away
New Haven Motel
New Haven Motel
#29 of 67 in Auckland
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avondale Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avondale Motor Inn

Property: Avondale Motor Inn
Address: 85 Ash Street | Avondale, Avondale 1026, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Avondale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Avondale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Avondale Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Avondale Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avondale Motor Inn Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing