We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rubbish food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Servigroup Montiboli
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Villajoyosa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Lovely lovely hotel, just terrible food, fab setting, nice beach and a lovely pool

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LVGirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteles_Servigroup, Customer Service at Servigroup Montiboli, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Dear LVGirl79,

Thank you for your comments, of which we have taken note and we are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay.
We understand that hotel food plays a very significant part in our guests´ holiday enjoyment, therefore time and effort has been spent by our Head Chef creating a varied menu plan. Although we have aimed to incorporate international dishes to suit all palates, we appreciate that food choice is very much based on the individuals taste.
We also take into consideration that guests may have specific dietary needs, one of those being low salt intake. For this reason, we use minimum levels when cooking, allowing guests to add further salt if they personally require.
In addition to the main buffet, we also have the chefs “Show Cooking Station” where meat and fish are grilled to guests’ requirement.
We hope you visit us again so that we can offer you the service you deserve.

Kind regards,
Customer Service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (620)
There are newer reviews for Servigroup Montiboli
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 620 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stayed 6 nights this trip, our 5 time at this hotel. A very nice hotel, but not as good as it was a few years ago. The rooms are looking a little worse for ware and jaded.
A very good breakfast selection, but very slow to refill when an item is finished.
The unfortunate situation is that there are very few quality hotels on the Spanish coast
these days. Far to many package deal properties, I and my wife are in our 60s and do
like comfort and not to many children about ( I have nothing against kids, I used to be one. ) all in all as good as it gets in todays Spain. Oh for the hotel quality of the far and middle east.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

My visit to this hotel was to check it out for a possible place for some of my business associates to stay.

The building is lovely, location is perfectly quite and peaceful.

I ordered a coffee and a toasted ham and cheese sandwich.

The bread was only toasted on one side leaving the underside wet! The ham was a processed piece of rubbish as was the cheese - both square pieces from those pre wrapped packets which I wouldn´t buy if my life depended upon it!

This ghastly offering was placed on a plate garnished with a limp lettuce leaf and half, I mean just half, of a cherry tomato!

On the up side the plate was a lovely large one and the serviette was of a decent size and quality cloth.

12.95 euro though, I don´t know....what do you think!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank customerserviceagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

This hotel is ideal if you just want to chill out at a hotel with reasonable facilities and great access to lovely beaches. The rooms are big and have everything you would need. The breakfast is plentiful and the buffet lunch is also very good, if a bit pricey. The bonus to us were the beaches down below the hotel and the lovely terrace where you could have a sundowner or a night cap. A downside for us was how far it was from the town of Villajoyisa. You could walk down there in the day but at night you would have to get a cab (well ladies in heals would definately need to!). Which is a shame as there were some nice bars and fish restaurants along the seafront there. But for a weekend escape from England's variable summer weather it was ideal.

Room Tip: Check the hotel website, it has a good map, so you can see where your room is really likely to be. S...
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LeedsTeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I booked this "Romantic" package, dinner plus breakfast as a birthday treat for my husband. We knew the hotel from previous visits for coffee on their terrace overlooking the beach and had always wondered what it woudl be like to stay there. The setting is stunning and other reviewers have accurately described that. Our room was overlooking the beach with views out over the sea which was immediately below us. The room standard for a 5 star hotel was OK, but not remarkable. When we checked in, the receptionist was busy with another couple (fair enough) but when finished with them she continued with her computer for several minutes without any acknowledgement to us. All she needed to do was say "Hello, won't keep you a minute..." She then proceeded to check us in and began the sales pitch for the health spa we had just heard from the previous couple, we declined saying we had just heard it all. In the room they had kindly placed a card with a Happy Birthday message - with the wrong date on!

One of the main reasons for choosing Montiboli was because it is supposed to have great food in their restaurant. the waiter greeted us with Happy Birthday but didn't even offer a glass of Cava. The set menu for €40 was included in our package. The choice of 4 starters, 4 main courses and 4 deserts was disappointing as it was nearly all food that was pre-prepared. When I asked for a la carte, there was none, when I asked if there were any other choices, salad or entrecôte steak was all they could offer - very disappointing. The meal we had was OK, but not the birthday treat I was looking for. Breakfast was really good and the dining room is at it's best on a sunny morning.

Our one night treat cost us over €300 and I am sorry to say that we left with the feeling that this hotel is overated and over-priced. The staff don't behave like a 5 star should offer. Sorry now that we went!

Room Tip: You have to pay top dolla to get the sea top roomr
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Luc-Philip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

After a disastrous start - arrived tired and late, the receptionist was unable to locate our room. After showing us to a pretty average room we were, by then, thinking of leaving the next day. However, the receptionist did eventually find the correct room which was infinitely better and fully prepared for us including our six-year-old son. Best of all, the receptionist realised we were less than happy and offered complimentary drinks. It's so much easier to forgive when mistakes are recognised and genuine gestures are made.
From then on, it just got better and better. The view from our large apartment,'bungalow' was amazing and very private. Crispy clean sheets every day were also noted. Breakfast was very good - an excellent spread. The view from the restaurant through huge glass windows overlooking the clifftop was amazing. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We didn't try dinner preferring to sample local restaurants. But the spa......especially the pool with water spouts along the side was simply superb. While we were there it was very quiet, which meant we often had the pool to ourselves, but even still, it was a real treat. The outside pool was pretty chilly but worth sampling once.
Villajoyosa is worth exploring. The beach is large, clean and safe. And there weren't too many embarrassing Brits either!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BridgeHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

We have been coming to this hotel for 8 or 9 years and although we have noticed changes which are inevitable because of the economic climate in Spain we have never been disappointed at all. The staff have been there for years and are extremely friendly and efficient although if you go in busy periods you may have to wait a little longer as they do not have as many staff as they used to before the credit crunch which is the same in our experience all over Europe at present.

The views are stunning and if you take the trouble to explore the nearby town of villa joyosa
you will find some great inexpensive eating places around the harbour, try ca Marta as soon as you can.

We are returning again for three weeks in May and are looking forward to it enormously

Room Tip: Pay a little more to be in the romantic rooms
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendyjane2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villajoyosa
6.7 mi away
Asia Gardens Hotel & Thai Spa, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
9.4 mi away
Hotel Bonalba
Hotel Bonalba
#1 of 1 in Mutxamel
1,457 reviews
15.7 mi away
Hotel SH Villa Gadea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Gran Hotel Sol y Mar
2.4 mi away
Allon Mediterrania Hotel
Allon Mediterrania Hotel
#2 of 5 in Villajoyosa
474 reviews
7.7 mi away
Villa Del Mar Hotel
Villa Del Mar Hotel
#5 of 192 in Benidorm
2,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Servigroup Montiboli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Servigroup Montiboli

Address: Partida Montiboli s/n, 03570 Villajoyosa, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Villajoyosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Villajoyosa
Price Range: £132 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Servigroup Montiboli 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Servigroup Montíboli has the privilege of being located on an impressive cliff-side setting, surrounded by the Mediterranean sea, two beaches (one of them naturist) and beautiful gardens on the outskirts of Villajoyosa.Facilities and services: The hotel has two outdoor swimming pools, one overlooking the cliff top, and another one in “Torre Paradís” (Paradise Tower), and also an indoor heated pool at the Wellness & Spa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Servigroup, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Servigroup Montiboli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Servigroup Montiboli Hotel Villajoyosa
El Montiboli Villajoyosa
El Montiboli Hotel Villajoyosa
Servigroup Montiboli Villajoyosa, Spain - Costa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing