We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room for improvement”
Review of Bioparc Valencia

Bioparc Valencia
Book In Advance
More Info
US$71.71*
and up
Valencia Parks Segway Tour
More Info
US$20.32*
and up
Valencia Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional Oceanographic Aquarium Ticket
More Info
US$125.49*
and up
Valencia Tourist Bus Ticket with Walking Tour and Paella Dinner
Ranked #4 of 267 things to do in Valencia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: BIOPARC VALENCIA is a unique zoo. Its design employs the “zooimmersion” concept, in which visitors are surrounded by meticulous recreations of the natural habitats being presented. Social animals that live together in groups are displayed, as well as groups of different species that coexist in the same habitats. Predatory species are integrated into the visual space, but are separated from other species by barriers invisible to the eye of the visitor, ensuring the safety of both the animals and the people. The animals, vegetation and landscape provide opportunities for discovering the complexity of natural ecosystems.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Baby buggy parking, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Bergen, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Room for improvement”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We got there in the early afternoon. Not having pre-booked a ticket we queued for about 30 minutes in the heat. Our three year old was very uncomfortable, as very most of the other children. When we finally were about to go in, the family before us had their bags searched and their food and drinks were confiscated. The bioparc in itself was fine, our son enjoyed it. When we went to have lunch, the queue once again was very long and we ended up leaving.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank idareprise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,878 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,345
    1,857
    477
    97
    102
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brno, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lemures enjoy your stay”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This was a really good choice. We have found on accident invitation leaflet to Bioparc in Valencia. We had not expected too much, what is good starting point for surprise. Absolutely nice garden, for animals, as well as for visitors, after few minutes of walk you loose barrier feeling and you enjoy being almost a part of animal`s world. I`m not an expert in zoos, bus as visitor I found myself feeling - this is professionally managed site. Even you cannot touch the animals, you feel their happiness to be there, to play around and be happy.
Elephants enjoying waterfall, giraffas looking for closer contact to visitors, water birds performing theit beauty in front of "human" rest area.
I recommend visitors to take a tour "clokwise" way. Your top experience at the end will be Madagascar. Lemures around you, on the ground, in the trees. Just be aware you cannot touch them and your Bioparc experience will be covered by "being a part of nature" feelings.
Really nice event, we loved it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rider_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The Bioparc was a zoo that I'd hand-picked as one that I wanted to visit on the continent and we weren't disappointed. The quality of both the exhibits and the collection is generally excellent.

Positives:
- Minimised use of glass/mesh fencing makes photography easy. I took about 700 photos.
- Whilst it is predominantly African species on display, the variety is excellent. There are a number of species on display which are very rare in European zoos, such as Spotted-Necked Otter and Red-Flanked Duiker.
- Some of the exhibits are absolutely phenomenal. The central African savannah paddocks, "Kitum's Cave" (housing Hippos, Crocodiles and African fish) and the Equatorial African exhibit were all difficult to fault.
- The entry costs are fairly good value for attractions in Spain/Portugal at 23€ for an adult.

Negatives:
- The rejection of mesh aviaries (but for one walk-through) means that large numbers of birds have to be pinioned rather than retaining the ability to fly.
- The restaurant was quite limiting, particularly for vegetarians!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Harry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This is a really cool zoo (and believe me, I know zoos). We went on a Saturday afternoon and it wasn't crowded at all, which was a nice surprise. Recommendations:
- The lemurs (never thought I'd be saying that...)
- Don't miss the hippo!
- Gorillas and their ilk are fascinating creatures.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Guy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A very nice and interesting place to go”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

There are a lot of animals and the environment imitate the real habitat of the animal. There are a beautiful pink flamingos, lemurs that walk around you and , of course, impressive gorilla "silver back".

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rositsa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bioparc Valencia also viewed

Valencia, Province of Valencia
Valencia, Province of Valencia
 
Valencia, Province of Valencia
 

Been to Bioparc Valencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing