We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How MUCH?!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Vintara

Vintara
Ranked #1,636 of 3,445 Restaurants in Valencia
Cuisines: Bar, Mediterranean, European, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Family tavern located in the heart of Valencia. Enjoy our tapas with the finest ingredients. Try our scrambled eggs with iberian ham, iberian cold-cuts, paella and an excellent selection of Spanish wines with your friends or your family. Also takeaways. Enjoy our large terrace in the historic centre of Valencia with unrivalled views of the cathedral or the inner lounge for more privacy.
Bridgnorth
Level Contributor
82 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“How MUCH?!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We visited Vintrara many years ago - as a couple - and loved the high tables/chairs and the buzz given it was full and noisy! So went back as a family...

But whilst the chairs and tables remain, gosh, how expensive it has now become! Over E10 for calamari? Except for the tortilla and patatas bravas, I think every dish was E8,9 10 plus. We opted for a drink each and two bravas - E30. Later, a tapas bar down a side street where the food was excellent cost just E50 for 5 tapas, 2 bread baskets, 3 puddings and 20 drinks!

And it is a shame. We were hustled on the street to go in, the menu was that cheap type printed on a home computer, the service was slow and so we left with our memories, a (much) lighter wallet and the clear intention never to go back.

Lo siento Vintara.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thomsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    51
    53
    19
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murcia, Spain
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First Visit to Valencia for Spanish Open Golf”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

great food, great service and a great rapport with the waiters. Great value for money. We tried the clams, whitebait, camembert, calamari, wine, beer and chips - so you can see - a good all round choice - and all good. Would go again tomorrow if we could.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank EaglesLodgeLaCasita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tourist trap”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

If you enjoy the roses and sunglasses vendors, music peddlers, pre fabricated tasteless food, smokers all around you, greasy-soggy dishes and cheap rancid wines ; than that's the place for you. Never again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zevellaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My dog eats better food than I got here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012 via mobile

I ordered the seafood paella and it came out smelling awfully fishy, the seafood was spoiled, and not to mention the rice was crusty and it was clear they scooped it out of a pot that had been sitting there for hours, if not days. Worst restaurant food experience I've ever had. Do not recommend at all.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Foofoo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan T, Gerente at Vintara, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
We were disappointed to read this review of our restaurant.
Paella, both seafood and Valencian is our best-selling dish and is generally very well received by both our local our tourist clientele. Paella is a dish which can vary to an extent. However, given the fact that we have made no recent changes in kitchen staff or providers, nor have we received any other recent complaints and never any as venomous as this, we were left quite shocked.
We take these opinions seriously and have talked with all our staff over this review. Unfortunately, you made no complaint at the time of their visit – strangely, this having been your worst food experience, so we had no opportunity to make amends, if amends were indeed necessary. We welcome opinions good and bad and deal with same appropriately and we would encourage all our clients to give their opinion to the staff at the time of their visit.
Finally, I would welcome you to return at some time in the future to see if we can improve on your past experience. I would add that while dogs are welcome on our terrace, regrettably, we do not as yet have any special menu for our canine friends.
Thanks for reading this reply and hope to see you here some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Central square tapas”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2008

Very friendly waitress- but did forget our drinks. Good tapas and great value- 77 euros incl 7 beers for the two of us. Nice setting outside on the square to watch the world go by

Helpful?
1 Thank RandMWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vintara also viewed

Valencia, Province of Valencia
Valencia, Province of Valencia
 
Valencia, Province of Valencia
Valencia, Province of Valencia
 
Valencia, Province of Valencia
Valencia, Province of Valencia
 

Been to Vintara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing