We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and very comfortable”
Review of SH Ingles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SH Ingles
Ranked #59 of 98 Hotels in Valencia
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This hotel is really central in Valencia in the heart of the old town. We travelled from the airport, using the metro to Colon. The hotel is about 10 mins walk away. Staff were friendly and happy to speak English if necessary. Room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The hotel has a restaurant but you are very close to loads of restaurants, tapas bars. We used nearby cafes for breakfast and had plenty to choose from. Not all rooms have balconies, but ours did which was a real bonus. We'd definitely use this place again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Euroamer1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (624)
There are newer reviews for SH Ingles
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

161 - 167 of 624 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

Pro's:
- Beautiful building located in heart of the old city, all attractions are within walking distance.
- Friendly and helpful staff.
- Clean rooms, comfortable beds and always hot water from the shower :-)
- Free unlimited wifi, and also a little Internet-corner with free use of the printer.
- Trendy restaurant/bar that serves delicious food and with a lovely terrace overlooking the entrance of the ceramic museum.
- Easy accessible from the airport by metro, lines 3&5 leave there and both stop at 'Colon' a seven minute walk from the hotel.
- Bike rental around the corner.

For improvement:
- seating for breakfast.
- boiled and scrambled eggs at the breakfast buffet.
- coffee at the breakfast buffet (the cappuccino from the machine tasted more like hot chocolate)

Had a great stay and would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LinnyNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My husband and I have just come back from 3 nights at SH Ingles. Lovely hotel in dead centre of town. Spacious bedroom with lovely view overlooking ceramics museum. Housekeeping was excellent with clean towels and sheets everyday. Only let down was the very poor breakfast buffet (which wasn't cheap at nearly 12 euro's each). We could of excused poor selection of food but what was inexcusable was poor service. There is not enough tables for very busy hotel, but on arriving for breakfast most tables were left uncleared. Waitress on saying hola then disappeared and came back with two mugs when all we needed was a clean space to sit! Her waitressing skills are very lacking! Sorry but wished we had not paid for breakfast and eaten outside hotel! Its a shame on what is otherwise lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

A nice hotel ideally situated for exploring the city. On arrival at the hotel we were allocated a room on the third floor, with a balcony overlooking the Ceramics Museum as requested. The room was well furnished, clean and comfortable. I had asked for a smoking room and was told that I could smoke on the balcony, however when I asked for an ashtray from the young man on reception I was told I could not have one. He eventually got me one but, looking at other balconies, I think I was supposed to dispose of my ash and cigarette ends on the balcony. Not very pleasant for anyone who was sitting on the terrace below. On our second night I noticed that the air conditioning unit was dripping. As we were just about to go out to dinner I reported it at reception. We were offered a change of room, which we refused and the girl on reception arranged for some towels for the floor and a repair the next day. We came back the next afternoon to find a note saying that it had been repaired, but as soon as it was switched on it started dripping again. This time we had no choice but to move rooms and were given a room on the 1st floor. Again this room was large and clean but obviously much noisier, although when the windows were closed at night it was very quiet. The other problem was loose tiles on the bathroom floor. Other complaints about the rooms were that the bathrooms were very dark, the lighting did not work over the bath area and why in both rooms did only one door to the balconies open. Breakfast was fine with a good selection of the usual fruit, bread, cheese and cold meat. The only problem was that dishes were not replenished very often. You could have eggs cooked to order, however on the 2 occasions we asked for boiled eggs we could not eat them as they were not cooked properly, to the extent the whites were still clear and runny. We did not eat in the hotel restaurant as there was such a good choice of restaurants in the area. We did however usually stop for a lovely cup of coffee on the terrace on our way back from dinner in the evening. The terrace could also do with a bit of attention, the artificial grass/carpet was always very messy and 2 out of the 4 uplighters were not working. On checking out we were given a voucher for 18 euros, I am not sure if this was compensation for having to move rooms, but if it was surely it would have been better to make this gesture at the time when we could have made use of it. All in all this was a nice hotel, but it did not merit the price we paid and is definitely in need of some care and attention to detail.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here before so were looking to our stay.The hotel is very good.praise to Alrxandra on reception who is very efficent.Sadly the only negative is the breakfast.
The breakfast staff appeared totally disinterrsted the lady was constantly having to be found by guests to replenish numerous items.this at a time when there were only 9 guests and quite a limited array of food.no milk. no bread.no coffee. no juice .no cheese. no butter it was a bit of a joke.
The thing that really annoyed me as we were about to leave breakfast the table next to us had a selection of cooked eggs delivered.i dont know whether extra or included but nobody even bothered to tell us. Sad review really as after 3 visits we will now look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The hotel is in perfect location, just a 2 minutes walk from Plaza Reina and about 5 minutes from other interesting sights, but it is in enough quiet area .The reception staff is very helpful . and speaks good English, the room is clean and of a good standard and a good price. The breakfast was good.The metro station Colon was 5 minutes walk.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gayane Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in August, with our friends and got 2 generously sized rooms (albeit on different floors), one of the rooms overlooked the beautiful frontage of the ceramics museum. The rooms were clean and of a good standard, beds were comfortable and there was plenty of hot water on demand in the bathroom. We booked through Expedia and got a Buffet breakfast included, which was more than adequate. Tea & Coffee was from a machine and there was cereal, fruit, cheese, meat , bread and pastries and eggs to order if required. It set us up for the day, but there is no shortage of places to eat breakfast nearby if needed. We only had one other meal there during the week, which was some tapas on our first night, what we fancied was not on the menu but when we asked the waiter he said "Is possible" and promptly went off to fetch what we'd asked for. The reception staff were very helpful and on our last night when the Air Conditioning Unit decided to drip all over the floor, they had no hesitation or issue, with moving us to another room. The Hotel is in a perfect Location , just a couple of minutes walk from Plaza Reina, but is in a quiet enough area not to be bothered at night by noise. All in all a very nice stay and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NigelStorer14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valencia hotels
Sant Francesc
Hotel One Shot Palacio Reina Victoria 04
Sant Francesc
Vincci Palace Valencia
Vincci Palace Valencia
#26 of 98 in Valencia
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sant Francesc
Catalonia Excelsior
Catalonia Excelsior
#22 of 98 in Valencia
932 reviews
Melia Plaza
#27 of 98 in Valencia
890 reviews
Sant Francesc
Hotel Zenit Valencia
Hotel Zenit Valencia
#16 of 98 in Valencia
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SH Ingles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SH Ingles

Address: Calle Marques de dos Aguas 6, 46002 Valencia, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Valencia
#31 Romantic Hotel in Valencia
Price Range: £72 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SH Ingles 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SH Ingles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sh Ingles Hotel Valencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing