We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villacarlos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villacarlos
Ranked #54 of 100 Hotels in Valencia
Atenas, Grecia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

The only bad thing I wand to mention is the prize of the internet which should have been free for the costumers and not ??????10 euros PER DAY??????
Everything else was very good.
The people working there were excellent and the breakfast also very good.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hoteles

Helpful?
1 Thank karamakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    176
    85
    19
    7
See reviews for
48
198
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

Good location & public transportation connection. Very nice & helpful personnel at the reception desk. However, our room was kind of claustrophobic: small and dark (almost no natural light). The bathroom was ok, big enough, with shower and tub. The advantage of not being boulevard oriented was annihilated by the noise made by the cleaning ladies on the floor, early in the morning. Our most unpleasant surprise was in our 2nd day of staying, when we saw a huge cockroach running on the walls. Fortunately, it didn't happened again during our 5 nights spent there. Overall, we thought that the room needed renovation - there were some spots on the walls and ceiling and a vaguely scent of old...From our experience, usually one can find better price/quality ratio than this one.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucian_Bargaoanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
110 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

A mediorche hotel located about 1,5 km or something more..away from the city center of valencia..Though, it is quite close to the famous "city of art and science" desighed by the famous Kalatrava.Metro station not so close, (not too far away though,about 10-12 minutes walkable distance).. Beakfast just good..without hot dishes and always the same...Staff in breakfast room not enough ,without replacing the empty dishes on time.Price quite good..but in no way can somebody call it "money value" ..

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank funili1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

This is an average hotel with average price. The rooms are small and stuffy, a bit older and could use a remodel. There is a lot of storage space in the furniture and the closet, so I thought that was at least a clever use of the small space. There are no views outside the windows, you look into other people's apartments.The corner shower is very small. It is an old pre-fab shower unit with plastic sliding doors. I felt a little claustrophobic in there. I think it's seen better days. There are black, mildewy stains in the shower that looks like its been there for years.They must've done some repairs behind the toilet as there is a hole in the wall behind that they did not patch up. This was quite unsightly and I could only imagine what else is inside that hole. The first night I was, I found a bug on the floor near that hole. I was a bit grossed out. The bathroom toiletries was below average, I am glad I always bring my own in case the hotel fails me.
The hotel is located in a residential area of the city. Its very close to a supermarket and there are restaurants and all kinds of stores nearby. There is even a laundromat on the same street. We definitely took advantage of these conveniences. The buses are very accessible and they also have a fantastic bike sharing program in the city. So even though this was far from the city center, it was not a problem for us to get around. It is a short walk to Grand Via where there are a lot of fantastic restaurants and bars. It is a longer walk to the City of Arts and Sciences, but still walkable.
The staff here was always very cordial and friendly - for that they get one star. The location and close proximity to restaurants, groceries, bus lines, attractions - they get another star.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SavvyDesigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
87 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

The previous reviews are fairly accurate. Small, mid-range hotel, set in a boring, residential neighborhood. Advantages are that it is walking distance to the City of Arts and Sciences, and several bus lines stop either in front of the hotel or behind it to take you to/from the historic center or the beach. Disadvantages include the lack of free Internet access, and small rooms without mini-bars. Price was reasonable, booked on the NH website.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trotamundos09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

Good value hotel, clean and friendly service. The room was spacious and well appointed. It is half way between the beach and the centre. Probably 25-30 minute walk in either direction which when it's hot is not ideal for either but you can always jump in a taxi one or both ways. The walk to the centre takes in the lovely Jardines del Turia and the old bridges so is a lovely evening stroll (we got taxis back though at the end of the night). If you want to go to a lovely City and stay in good value accommodation then I would recommend. If you would prefer to be in the heart of the City and avoid the long walk or taxi then stay more central. But no complaints as I knew this before I booked and overall was happy with my stay here for the price I paid.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

Was there for a conference at the nearby SH Valencia Palace, which was a great 8 mins walk away. NH Villacarlos was a simple, no frills lodging though we thought it was slightly more expensive than it should be. The front desk staff were all very helpful although we had some problems communicating in English at times. The rooms were small and uninteresting, with the windows opening up to nothing much at all.

The street on which the hotel was on was not too bad; there was a self-service laundromat and supermarket just right across the road. Apart from that, the location of the hotel was rather quiet and away from the main sights.

Overall, it was a quiet, uneventful stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rayne03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valencia hotels
Casual Valencia de las Artes
#29 of 100 in Valencia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Expo Hotel Valencia
#63 of 100 in Valencia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,942 reviews
NH Valencia Las Ciencias
#49 of 100 in Valencia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Cabanyal-El Canyamelar
NH Ciudad de Valencia
NH Ciudad de Valencia
#42 of 100 in Valencia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Silken Puerta Valencia
#43 of 100 in Valencia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Hotel Kramer
#10 of 100 in Valencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villacarlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villacarlos

Property: Hotel Villacarlos
Address: Avenida Puerto 60, 46023 Valencia, Spain (Formerly NH Villacarlos)
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villacarlos 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Lastminute and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Villacarlos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Villacarlos Hotel Valencia
Nh Villacarlos Valencia
Nh Hotels Valencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing