We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of Hotel Villacarlos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Villacarlos
Ranked #55 of 98 Hotels in Valencia
Kiev
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 6 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for one night and found it ok. Our room was clean. Receptionists were friendly and helpful. A bit weird to see the complaints about Internet here as it was free (I asked for it at the reception and they gave me a password for wifi and didn't charge anything). Neighborhood is not as great as central part of the city but the transport connections are pretty good. Metro is walking distance (10 min) and a few bus routes next to the hotel. We didn't buy breakfast in the hotel and instead had pastry and coffee in a little caffe opposite it :)

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    194
    97
    20
    10
See reviews for
57
217
21
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Génova, Italia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I spent at the Villacarlos only two nights for a short city brake in Valencia, therefore when I made the booking online I looked for cheap offers and average standards.
The Villacarlos has it all, the rooms are adequate, good cleaning conditions and great price. The position is not very central and the Avenida del Port is not a very charming place for shopping and sightseeing, but the hotel is just 10 minutes walk far from the underground station, the bus stop is right in front of the hotel, and the famous city of Science and Arts is 10 minutes walk far away. Walking to the centre of Valencia took us about 30 minutes at normal pace, going through some very beautiful locations and pleasant sights. I would recommend it to anyone looking for great deals, good comfort and the unmistakable NH style.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hoteles

Helpful?
1 Thank cryfox79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atenas, Grecia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2012

The only bad thing I wand to mention is the prize of the internet which should have been free for the costumers and not ??????10 euros PER DAY??????
Everything else was very good.
The people working there were excellent and the breakfast also very good.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hoteles

Helpful?
1 Thank karamakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Good location & public transportation connection. Very nice & helpful personnel at the reception desk. However, our room was kind of claustrophobic: small and dark (almost no natural light). The bathroom was ok, big enough, with shower and tub. The advantage of not being boulevard oriented was annihilated by the noise made by the cleaning ladies on the floor, early in the morning. Our most unpleasant surprise was in our 2nd day of staying, when we saw a huge cockroach running on the walls. Fortunately, it didn't happened again during our 5 nights spent there. Overall, we thought that the room needed renovation - there were some spots on the walls and ceiling and a vaguely scent of old...From our experience, usually one can find better price/quality ratio than this one.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucian_Bargaoanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

A mediorche hotel located about 1,5 km or something more..away from the city center of valencia..Though, it is quite close to the famous "city of art and science" desighed by the famous Kalatrava.Metro station not so close, (not too far away though,about 10-12 minutes walkable distance).. Beakfast just good..without hot dishes and always the same...Staff in breakfast room not enough ,without replacing the empty dishes on time.Price quite good..but in no way can somebody call it "money value" ..

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funili1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

This is an average hotel with average price. The rooms are small and stuffy, a bit older and could use a remodel. There is a lot of storage space in the furniture and the closet, so I thought that was at least a clever use of the small space. There are no views outside the windows, you look into other people's apartments.The corner shower is very small. It is an old pre-fab shower unit with plastic sliding doors. I felt a little claustrophobic in there. I think it's seen better days. There are black, mildewy stains in the shower that looks like its been there for years.They must've done some repairs behind the toilet as there is a hole in the wall behind that they did not patch up. This was quite unsightly and I could only imagine what else is inside that hole. The first night I was, I found a bug on the floor near that hole. I was a bit grossed out. The bathroom toiletries was below average, I am glad I always bring my own in case the hotel fails me.
The hotel is located in a residential area of the city. Its very close to a supermarket and there are restaurants and all kinds of stores nearby. There is even a laundromat on the same street. We definitely took advantage of these conveniences. The buses are very accessible and they also have a fantastic bike sharing program in the city. So even though this was far from the city center, it was not a problem for us to get around. It is a short walk to Grand Via where there are a lot of fantastic restaurants and bars. It is a longer walk to the City of Arts and Sciences, but still walkable.
The staff here was always very cordial and friendly - for that they get one star. The location and close proximity to restaurants, groceries, bus lines, attractions - they get another star.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SavvyDesigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

The previous reviews are fairly accurate. Small, mid-range hotel, set in a boring, residential neighborhood. Advantages are that it is walking distance to the City of Arts and Sciences, and several bus lines stop either in front of the hotel or behind it to take you to/from the historic center or the beach. Disadvantages include the lack of free Internet access, and small rooms without mini-bars. Price was reasonable, booked on the NH website.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trotamundos09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valencia hotels
El Cabanyal-El Canyamelar
NH Ciudad de Valencia
NH Ciudad de Valencia
#40 of 98 in Valencia
1,044 reviews
Silken Puerta Valencia
#41 of 98 in Valencia
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Checkin Valencia
#68 of 98 in Valencia
468 reviews
NH Valencia Las Ciencias
#49 of 98 in Valencia
884 reviews
Hotel Marina Atarazanas
#92 of 98 in Valencia
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villacarlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villacarlos

Property: Hotel Villacarlos
Address: Avenida Puerto 60, 46023 Valencia, Spain (Formerly NH Villacarlos)
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villacarlos 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Lastminute, Nozio Netplan srl, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villacarlos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Villacarlos Hotel Valencia
Nh Villacarlos Valencia
Nh Hotels Valencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing