We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Catalonia Excelsior
Ranked #24 of 98 Hotels in Valencia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed over at this hotel and found it to be a real nice clean and tidy hotel. The staff were friendly and were very helpful. The night we stayed happened to be the night of the "le cup del rey" between Barcelona and Real Madrid. The credit to the city is that it is big enough to hold this event and you would Think there was nothing on.
I would definately choose this. Hotel again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCEXCELSIOR, Director General at Catalonia Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for your kind review. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Best regards from Valencia.

N. Rosselló

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (964)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

182 - 188 of 964 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed in October last year for one night. The location was perfect, right in the centre of the city, but on quiet street. The decor of the reception area is more contemporary than the rooms. It was very clean throughout, the the rooms were a good size, with decent bathrooms. However the walls are thin, so soundproofing is an issue. We had a group of children next door, who were very excited and loud! However reception dealt with the matter swiftly. Good for a night or two, but not the most swish of hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Finsbury15
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This is a very good small hotel in an excellent location. The staff are friendly and professional. We had a 'premium room with terrace' - number 604. It was a good size with a large bathroom and beautiful terrace. Breakfast was very good. We had no complaints about this hotel and will book here again should we ever return to Valencia. For less than 100 euros (room and breakfast) it was excellent value.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank archie23London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed her as a couple for 10 days to discover Valencia. The location of the hotel is great, very close to the city centre and since Valencia is not that big it was easy to get around. There is a metro station close by that can bring you to the airport and the beach. The room was spacious and included everything we needed. We did not like the two big, separate beds and the shower was not too good either but these were not major issues.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa_h01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I was in this hotel last week-end, with my girlfriend, and I think it is simply more prestigious and pretty than what it is possibile to expect by looking at the pictures on internet.

It is located in a quite pedestrian street, in a position that, in my opinion, is the best you can get in Valencia: in the city centre, very close to Plaza de l'Ayuntamento, and 5 minutes walking from tube, shopping streets and Cathedral.
Our room was very comfortable and perfectly cleaned every day, staff was great and useful for every kind of advices and information, and there is free wi-fi and 2 FREE internet stations whereby you can do whatever you need (for example printing ryanair online check-in).

It seems to be almost a 4-stars hotel, but the price is of a 3-stars one!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maximit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The hotel was in a good location about a 10 min walk from the main train station and approx 5 mins to the city area There were also many restaurant in close proximity. The room was small but adequate and the staff were fine BUT!!! I rang my 8year old grand daughter for her birthday and spoke for (I believe) less than 10 minutes. The charge for this call was €62!! SIXTY TWO EUROS!!! The room only cost €72!!
If, and I emphasise IF the actual cost of this call was €62, surely Hoteles Catalonia should be advocating strongly with the telecommunication company on behalf of their guests to dramatically reduce these extortionate charges!! It is time to cease this absolute nonsense of simply accepting that Hotels charge a lot for phone calls. It's a nonsense!!
There was a lot of noise in the corridors which is hard for Reception to control but being able to hear the guests in the room above me weeing, pooing, showering and having sex suggests to me that there's an acoustics issue throughout the a Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valencia hotels
Melia Plaza
#26 of 98 in Valencia
910 reviews
Hotel Sorolla Centro
#2 of 98 in Valencia
1,364 reviews
Sant Francesc
Vincci Lys
Vincci Lys
#6 of 98 in Valencia
1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hostal Venecia
#4 of 98 in Valencia
1,567 reviews
Sant Francesc
Ayre Hotel Astoria Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Excelsior

Address: Calle Barcelonina 5, 46002 Valencia, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia > Sant Francesc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Valencia
#29 Business Hotel in Valencia
Price Range: £54 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalonia Excelsior 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Excelsior is located in an emblematic building dating from the mid 20th century, which has undergone comprehensive renovation throughout the year 2000. Its location is excellent, right in the centre of Valencia, in Barcelonina Street, next to the Town's Hall Square and a few metres from the railway station, the Ciutat de les Arts i les Ciencies and 15 minutes from the Trade Fair Centre and the airport. The hotel has 81 rooms on 7 floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Splitty, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Catalonia Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Excelsior Valencia
Catalonia Excelsior Hotel Valencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing