We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart 2* Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sweet Hotel Continental
Ranked #33 of 98 Hotels in Valencia
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Smart 2* Hotel”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Smart clean with a great location for touring and walking around the city. A group of 6 stayed 3 nights February 2012, only a 2* hotel, but the appearance service and continental breakfast surely makes it feel 3* & above. The twin rooms were very clean with comfortable beds. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelCTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    471
    138
    28
    11
See reviews for
138
377
77
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Great location, nice staff, simple but sufficient breakfast included in LOW room rate (50 €/night). Close to railwaystation, busses,... In the middle of the old city..

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doctest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contitel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sweet Hotel Continental, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Dear Costumer,
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to know that your stay in our Hotel has been enjoyable. We hope to have you in our Hotel again.
Sincerely, Public Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moraira
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Staff, who spoke excellent English, were helpful and friendly. The rooms were basic and smallish, but clean and comfortable. We were surprised and pleased to find the shops, bars and restaurants, the station and so much more within easy walking distance.
Breakfast was adequate and included in the value for money price.

Room Tip: Try for rooms at the back, ours was 305, which are quieter, although the street was not really busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janetwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contitel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sweet Hotel Continental, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Google Translation
Estimado Cliente,

Primeramente nos gustaría agradecerle que haya elegido el Hotel Continental Valencia durante su estancia en la ciudad y que nos haya trasladado sus impresiones con respecto a su estancia en nuestro hotel
Reciba un cordial saludo y esperamos pronto volver a saludarle.
Atentamente Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

The location is what we liked the most, nearby the Plaça d’Ajuntament (Valencia’s central square) - where’s even possible to see the square and the Ajuntament building (City Hall) from the hotel entrance - and 5 min walking from Colón metro stop (direct line from Manises Airport, in a 20 minutes journey). The hotel facilities are regular, normal for a traditional spanish and antique building, with an old but renovated lift (only 3 persons at a time) covering 4 floors.
Our room was at 2nd floor, spacious enough, clean, convenient a/c (very warm as in almost all hotels), LCD TV with several valencian, spanish and international channels, a window fronting the backdoor terrace, no barfridge, no vault, no frills, wooden floor (not so comfy as a carpet floor, but not a big problem), no soundproof isolation what so ever (understandable for an antique building but a big issue if you have noisy people in the near rooms and corridor).
The bathroom was even more renovated than the room, very modern and appealing, but very small if you are the kind of people that enjoys some space to bath and stand. No extra frills also.
The breakfast was regular (bread, croissants, butter, marmelade, juice, coffee and milk), don’t expect the kind of variety as in some hotels, but ok if you are the kind of people that stress out when leaving the hotel without your breakfast. There’s a lot of cafés and places serving spanish desayunos (breakfast) nearby.
Front desk staff were very nice and friendly, always giving usefull info about bus, metro… curiously it started badly the days before when I had no aswear when I e-mailed them to confirm my booking reservation, thing that I always do to avoid surprises and that I always have aswear from the hotel where I will be staying.
After all, a good choice and reasonable price paid for a room.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less probability to catch noises from the street, as rooms far from lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PortoExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contitel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sweet Hotel Continental, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Dear customer,


First of all we would like to thank you that you have chosen the Hotel Continental Valencia during his stay in the city and that us has transferred his impressions regarding your stay in our hotel
Receive a cordial greeting and hope soon to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banchory, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

4 of us went to Valencia for 3 days. Wanted a nice hotel, no frills but location important as we were coming from Alicante by train.Only 2 star hotel as no bar nor restaurant but of no importance as plenty nearby. Excellent location, helpful staff, breakfast room small but no problem as only light breakfast. Excellent value for money. NIce room but bathroom small for double room but twin room far bif=gger.

Room Tip: Book twin room instead of double as twin bathrooms bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scolty30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

For a 2 star hotel this hotel is GREAT, the location is fantastic, I went to Valencia for 5 days, I was there by myself, and, never had any problem with the location, is 5 min walking from the main plaza. The staff are very nice and helpful, the breakfast is Ok, in most of the hotels in Spain you have to pay an extra for breakfast and in this one is include (is only coffee, milk, bread, croissants, butter and jam), but is enough for breakfast. The only problem in this hotel is that you can hear everything that is going on in the other rooms, if you are not a heavy sleeper, I strongly recommend you to use earplugs to sleep. I really enjoyed staying in this hotel, and if I ever go back to Valencia I will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ines_caki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contitel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sweet Hotel Continental, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Thank you very much for his comment we will continue working for you and we expect vover to see him prompt for our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

The is a 2 Star hotel and this review should be read in that context.
The hotels key selling point is its central location, within easy walking distance of almost all the key attractions (City of Arts & Sciences is about 35 mins walk) and transport (bus & rail). The area was quiet at night so no problems with noise. There is a good range of restuarants in the immediate area. The hotels pricing is also very attractive for such a great location.
The hotel is clean, the bedroom was small but adequate. The staff friendly and helpful.
The only disappointing aspect was the breakfast. It was the bare minimun needed to quality as a "continental breakfast", bread, pasteries, weak orange juice, tea/coffee. Not even some fruit or yogurt. There was no other food service offered.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrelandSean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valencia hotels
Melia Plaza
#26 of 98 in Valencia
865 reviews
Sant Francesc
Casual Valencia del Cine
Casual Valencia del Cine
#28 of 98 in Valencia
595 reviews
Sant Francesc
Casual Valencia Vintage
Casual Valencia Vintage
#13 of 98 in Valencia
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hostal Venecia
#4 of 98 in Valencia
1,494 reviews
Sant Francesc
Hotel One Shot Colon 46
Hotel One Shot Colon 46
#14 of 98 in Valencia
510 reviews
Hotel Sorolla Centro
#2 of 98 in Valencia
1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweet Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Hotel Continental

Property: Sweet Hotel Continental
Address: Calle Correos 8, 46002 Valencia, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia > Sant Francesc
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sweet Hotel Continental 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city of Valencia is the Hotel Continental, next to the square Aytuntamiento the train station and Columbus Street.We love our work and we know very well what we want, that you find it enjoyable stay.Calm and pleasant, warmly decorated.Bright and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sweet Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Valencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing