We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“City hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sweet Hotel Continental
Ranked #36 of 100 Hotels in Valencia
Certificate of Excellence
Mazarron, Spain
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“City hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

In an excellant position only five minute walk from the main railway station and a couple of minutes from one of the main plazas. Most sites within walking distance from the hotel and lots of restaurants/bars aswell.
Staff were very good. Rooms o.k. but a bit of paint would help. Bathroom small.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the street. Ours was at the back with no view from the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vengavamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    399
    117
    22
    10
See reviews for
99
322
61
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

My partner & I stayed at the Continental 28th of July to the 4th of August.
To say this is a budget hotel, you wouldn't know it. We had a twin room on the second floor, which was very comfortable, clean & quite roomy. The bathroom was a little compact but the shower and wash facilities were all up to what you would expect from a higher rated establishment.The location was perfect, right in the heart of the city close to metro stations, which I may add is by far the best way to get around, even to and from the airport. The hotel is also located close to one of the main shopping areas, this pleased my other half immensly. The staff were all fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble wether at breakfast or last thing at night. We would recommend a stay at the hotel. Yes its a budget hotel but for its location alone the room rate is worth it. We will visit this lovely city again at some point & will have no hesitation using The Continental. Well done to all the staff for making our stay an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

I stayed at The Continental 22nd-25th June for the Grand Prix weekend. We had a room on the 4th floor and it was very clean and the bathroom was good with good power shower. The problems we occurred were the tv didn't work but we weren't really in the room for long enough to watch it. The other thing was the air conditioning- it was on for most of the time and couldn't be turned off by individual rooms due to it being centralised, we found it VERY cold in the room especially during the night.

The location was very central just adjacent to the town hall square, very nice area although choice of places to eat wasn't great. The breakfast in the hotel was ok, the first morning we were given croissants and there were choice of cereal, fruit and toast. The 2nd and 3rd mornings however they must've been running low on stock because we weren't given croissants and had to make do with one knife to share between us. The reception staff were friendly and helpful.

All in all I'd come here again and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitty_Kat201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modena, Italy
Level Contributor
132 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

A few meters from one of the main squares, Ayuntamiento, this well-situated hotel is easily walkable from either Colon or Xativa metro stations (the former is probably an easier walk). Having spent in the past 40euro on much less agreeable hotels, this was excellent value for a single room, breakfast included.

The room (210) was quite satisfactory in terms of size. The bed was rather hard even for someone who likes a firm bed. The walls were rather thin and might be a concern unless one uses earplugs. The bathroom was stylish and functional, with great water pressure.
The breakfast was quite good considering it was included in the room rate: brioche, sliced white bread (and toaster available), cornflakes, fresh coffee and orange juice. There was no fresh fruit nor yoghurt available but one can easily stock up on carbs for the tourist day ahead.

The receptionists spoke English and Italian and offered advice when requested .
The hotel is a safe choice in the centre of the city.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anglital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

I was in Valencia for the Grand Prix last weekend and stayed here. The hotel has some good features: it is clean, in a great location, and the breakfast is ok. Unfortunately, the hotel's air conditioning policy is quite odd. The air conditioning is centrally controlled, that is to say, there is no thermostat in your room, so the hotel controls it. They keep the air conditioning on for certain parts of the day and off for others. Overall, the air conditioning is on for about only half the day. I inquired about the reasons for this policy and they said that they receive complaints from customers that their room is either too hot or too cold, so this is their compromise. This is a ridiculous solution. Surely, they could change the temperature of the AC, but turning it off is ridiculous. First of all when it is 30 degrees during Grand Prix weekend in Valencia, air conditioning should be on. I barely slept the 4 nights I spent there, because I woke up soaked in sweat. If you are complaining it is too cold, put on a blanket. If it is too hot, you cannot do anything about that. Also, people are more likely to stay in your hotel if they read a review complaining it is too cold than if they read one saying your air conditioning is off half the day during the hot Valencian summer. Finally, this hotel has engaged in false advertising by claiming on their website that they have air conditioning, because the air conditioning is on only half the day. Their website should read "air conditioning for only half the day". Because of this false advertising, if air conditioning is on only half the day, I believe I should pay only half the rate I paid (380 Euro/2=190 Euro). Unfortunately, when I was checking out, they would not accommodate this request. If this hotel shapes up and chooses to run their air conditioning all day, it would be a great place to stay; until then I would stay away.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller999994321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenzhen, Guangdong, China
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Had a great time at Valencia thanks to this awesome hotel. I only talked to the morning staff, but he was awesome. Very friendly and helpful. Close to everything so we walked everywhere. Room was basic but clean. Breakfast was only croissant and bread, but it was enough.

The only flaw is that wifi is only available in the lounge. Also, the walls are pretty thin. I can hear every conversation in the hallway.

Overall, I really liked it!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KayWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Alcazares, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

Excellent price for the location,nice clean and very friendly hotel.Room basic but went to see the city not to sit in hotel watching tv.location superb for train station although when we arrived we took a taxi which only cost 4 euro's.would definately stay again and have recommended it to lot's of people.Thanks to the staff for a lovely stay

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toncaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valencia hotels
Sant Francesc
Hotel One Shot Colon 46
Hotel One Shot Colon 46
#12 of 100 in Valencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Hostal Venecia
#4 of 100 in Valencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Melia Plaza
#25 of 100 in Valencia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sant Francesc
Catalonia Excelsior
Catalonia Excelsior
#19 of 100 in Valencia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Sant Francesc
Casual Valencia del Cine
Casual Valencia del Cine
#28 of 100 in Valencia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Sant Francesc
Hotel One Shot Palacio Reina Victoria 04
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweet Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Hotel Continental

Property: Sweet Hotel Continental
Address: Calle Correos 8, 46002 Valencia, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia > Sant Francesc
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sweet Hotel Continental 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city of Valencia is the Hotel Continental, next to the square Aytuntamiento the train station and Columbus Street.We love our work and we know very well what we want, that you find it enjoyable stay.Calm and pleasant, warmly decorated.Bright and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., LoveHolidays and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sweet Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Valencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing