We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Continental Hotel, Valencia, Spain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sweet Hotel Continental
Ranked #37 of 99 Hotels in Valencia
Certificate of Excellence
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sweet Continental Hotel, Valencia, Spain”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I like my stay in the hotel. The location is just excellent - in the very centre of Valencia, just 20 meters away from the famous Ayuntamiento de Valencia square where the main Post office and town hall are located. The staff is friendly and speaks english :) The only problem is that the isolation is not very good in the rooms and one can hear the noise from the neighbouring rooms etc.. Great value for money, good facilities. In spite it is indicated as 2 stars, but the cleaning was done daily, including towels change upon necessity. A bed is very very comfortable!

Room Tip: I had a corner room with no good view from the window, so while booking, it is perhaps wise to indic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oksana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contitel, Gerente at Sweet Hotel Continental, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We are really glad you could enjoy your stay at Sweet Hotel Continental. We would like to thank your time to write a comment about our property in Tripadvisor. We will be happy to welcome you again in Valencia. Do not hesitate to contact me for your next reservation.
Warm Regards,

Luis Fernández
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    427
    125
    23
    11
See reviews for
110
341
63
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I couldn't go to the Hotel because a day before my vacation I had very bad health problems certificated by medical documentation.
I told the Hotel Manager I wasn't able to go to valencia (and the kind of deasease I discovered I had) but I was going to posticipate my journey and I was able to stay a couples days more than my first reservation. But NO WAY the hotel didn't care because "we are on Fallas and it's difficult to sell the room at this time (are you serious??please...), plus it was a special price so it' s impossible to change it".
The Hotel didn't accept any documentation and I lost all my money 369.75 €!!!!
If you're looking for a good service and good people DON'T go THERE!
IT'S THE WORST EXPERIENCE I EVER HAD.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank aralc74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contitel, Gerente at Sweet Hotel Continental, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Guest

We are very surprised about your comment throw Trip Advisor.
As you Know you made your booking with a special offer of NON REFUNDABLE conditions, with a 15% of discount. Conditions that are indicated on the travel agency .com where you made your booking. We usually to make the refund once recieved the doctor document, but as we told you by email Fallas is a special event so we have to finish the Fallas to refund the money. We never said that we will not do it, but we understand by your comments that you have accepted these conditions before our response
Sorry for the inconvenience

Best Regards

Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Excellent hotel for the price. Very central location, just 100 metres from main town hall square. My single room was a decent size with a large comfortable bed. No tea making facilities, but there's a snacks and drinks vending machine on the ground floor and a coffee bar just outside. There's also a supermarket just down the road. (If you arrive on Sunday and this is closed, the Cortes Ingles on the corner has a supermarket section in the basement.) There's body wash in the shower unit, but no other toiletries. The shower was lovely and the room was well heated.

Breakfast was self service: toast, croissants, fruit, cereals, etc, with range of hot and cold drinks. Reception staff all cheery and helpful. Arranged cycle hire with them for 9 Euros a day (they deliver and pick up from the hotel). The only reason for not awarding 5 stars are the thin walls. Take some earplugs and you shouldn't have any problems.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank South_Coast060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contitel, Gerente at Sweet Hotel Continental, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We are really glad you could enjoy your stay at Sweet Hotel Continental. We would like to thank your time to write a comment about our property in Tripadvisor. We will be happy to welcome you again in Valencia. Do not hesitate to contact me for your next reservation.
Warm Regards,

Luis Fernández
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
city
Level Contributor
225 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This hotel was chosen for close proximity to the train station (about four blocks) and price. The front desk clerk was friendly, helpful, positive attitude, competent, fluent in English. Small elevator can accommodate two people with carry-on luggage. Room was basic for sleeping, showering, the shower tub has a movable swing glass covering half the tub opening where we managed to get the floor wet after every shower, taken the towel next to the tub and wring out the excess water, placed back on the floor to soak up any more water, wring out towel, hang towel on glass to air dry.

The included breakfast was good, savories and sweets, beverages from 0730-1030 hours. Beverage machine on the third floor wasn't working during our stay. Checkout is noon, temporary luggage storage available. Wifi worked with a good, strong signal, serviced two months ago. Room phone disabled, domestic calls within Spain except for calls starting with 902 are available for no charge from the front desk phone.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contitel, Gerente at Sweet Hotel Continental, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We are really glad you could enjoy your stay at Sweet Hotel Continental. We would like to thank your time to write a comment about our property in Tripadvisor. We will be happy to welcome you again in Valencia. Do not hesitate to contact me for your next reservation.
Warm Regards,

Luis Fernández
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
146 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We chose this hotel due to its good location and affordable price.
It is a small hotel and also our room and bathroom were small. But there was enough space for our clothes in the room and to take a shower in the bathroom, therefore we had all we needed. Bathroom equipment was a bit old (towel hanger came off). Double bed was 140cm wide (narrow).
Breakfast was basic and after three days, we have had enough of it, but it was cheap and we could start touring the city immediately and not looking for a breakfast somewhere first.
Walls are somehow not very sound-isolating and we could hear our neighbour caughing.
Staff was professional - kind and polite.
Location is perfect, everything is in walking distance (or metro station Colon nearby for more distant destinations). There is a nice self-service restaurant nearby (Neco), but that already goes to restaurant reviews.

Room Tip: We had a room on 4th floor - we could not hear the traffic even with our window opened, so I would c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sulcslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Our family booked three rooms in this hotel during the December holidays. It is easy to find, in the middle of the activities and is really good value. What impressed us the most was the staff - friendly, open and excited about their city and hotel. However it was only when we were faced with a difficult situation - we had left our passports at the Reception, remembering only when we were 30 min outside Barcelona (350km later and at 8pm). We were in a pickle as our children had a flight to catch at 9am and they needed their documents. I called the reception, Tony was calm, gathered all the information and re-assuring, inspite of the fact that the next day was Sunday and that it was during the 3 Kings celebration. Half an hour later we chatted, none of the couriers they used could help, through his own initative he arranged a taxi to courier the documents to Barcelona and called the hotel in Barcelona (we were on the way to it), confirmed the address and ensured that the staff were aware that he had our passports (to give them comfort). The passports arrived at 1h30 - we are incredibly grateful.

If I have to be critical, I would say that the breakfasts could be a little more innovative. We had some sensational meals - so we were spoiled by the gourmet options - think that the chef could apply themselves more (even if it cost a little more).

Thank you to the staff of this little gem for making our stay so delicious and successful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeonieE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I found this hotel to be basic but very clean and tidy,the staff were helpful and very friendly.
It is run very professionally.A very well placed hotel which is very close to the main centre, only 5 minutes walk to the main shopping area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darryljohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valencia hotels
Sant Francesc
Hotel One Shot Colon 46
Hotel One Shot Colon 46
#12 of 99 in Valencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Hostal Venecia
#4 of 99 in Valencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
Melia Plaza
#24 of 99 in Valencia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sant Francesc
Catalonia Excelsior
Catalonia Excelsior
#19 of 99 in Valencia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
Sant Francesc
Casual Valencia del Cine
Casual Valencia del Cine
#27 of 99 in Valencia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Sant Francesc
Hotel One Shot Palacio Reina Victoria 04
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweet Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Hotel Continental

Property: Sweet Hotel Continental
Address: Calle Correos 8, 46002 Valencia, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia > Sant Francesc
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sweet Hotel Continental 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city of Valencia is the Hotel Continental, next to the square Aytuntamiento the train station and Columbus Street.We love our work and we know very well what we want, that you find it enjoyable stay.Calm and pleasant, warmly decorated.Bright and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Sweet Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Valencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing