We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quality vs price = TOP”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sweet Hotel Continental
Ranked #33 of 98 Hotels in Valencia
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“quality vs price = TOP”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

the nicest thing about this hotel is its location - its really in the center and within walking distance of all the main cultural atrations, including the beach -only 15 min away with bus.
the breakfast is cheap and good enough, our room was nice and had a big bed, enough for my 1,90m boyfriend to fit.
perfect wi-fi and super clean.
the walls are a bit thin but just take ear-plugn nonetheless, in case someone is bothering you, call the reception and they will gladly fix it.
the air conditioner is controled by the staff, but they will turn it on or off if you ask them.
if you are going for a trip to the city, to walk lots and enjoy a good night sleep, as well as not spending too much money, this is the option to go for!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    471
    138
    28
    11
See reviews for
138
377
77
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is a bare bones poorly run hotel masquerading as a great value option. You actually get less than you pay for here in my opinion.

The positive aspect of the hotel is that it has a great location. It pretty much ends there.

The room was unbearably hot all night long, even with the AC turned on. By the way, you may want to ask the hotel to keep it on when you leave your room because they typically turn it off while you are gone (yes, this is the type of hotel where you turn in your key at the front desk when you leave).

We had a couple of logistical difficulties in get getting our room. The hotel staff wasn't particularly helpful and, instead of apologizing for inconveniences (which actually goes a long way with me and most people I would think), unapologetically stated that their booking policy was the reason we were getting a room with one double and one single bed instead of three single.

The rooms were old and cramped and not particularly comfortable, although not terrible either.

Ultimately, it was cheap and we survived our stay. It didn't ruin our trip, but it was the one hotel that we stayed in while in Spain that I certainly wouldn't do over again.

Room Tip: Get a hotel on the lower floors because the AC is TERRIBLE here and you will sweat through the night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jclarkperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caxias do Sul, Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

If the location is what you are looking for, this hotel gets a 10!
It's really in the best location, easym to find if you are travelling by car and once you get there you don't need a car anymore. It's in the heart of historic center, near most touristic points. The hotel is very nice and the staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleonora P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Sweet Hotel Continental for 2 nights in June. It was chosen due to its location, price and decent reviews.
It was better than expected. The room was well and truly above 2 stars, and for a European hotel had a decent sized bathroom and shower. It was clean, modern, reasonably quiet (some traffic from the street below) and in a great spot in easy walking distance to everything in the old town and the train station.
There was, as the website says, a terrace that was on the rooftop that had nice views over the city and provided somewhere to sit in the evening if you wanted somewhere outside.
The people in reception were happy, welcoming and approachable.
One negative was there was no safe in the rooms, and the shower wasn't the greatest but still by all means adequate.
Don't pass up this hotel, absolute value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The hotel is in a fantastic location right in the middle of town really near a metro stop and a bike rental station. The room was lovely being both modern and clean although there wasn't much natural light but not a problem if you're just sleeping and showering there. There's also a really nice rooftop terrace to chill out on with a beer after a day of wondering. We encountered numerous staff over the course of our trip and every one of them was a pleasure to deal with.

The only tiny drawback was the breakfast which was overpriced for what was available. However due to the location there were numerous places in the immediate vicinity where you you could get really nice breakfast.

All in all this place is perfect for a short break in Valencia.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gar_Clarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and we arrived by train. The hotel was easy to find and once there the staff gave us a map and pointed out all the attractions and places to go near to the hotel.
The room is small but perfectly clean and the bed is super comfortable!
As with other reviews - you can hear people through the walls but not too badly and no more than most other hotels.
The roof terrace is not to missed but no bar up there so take your own drinks unless you want to use the vending machine (although a lot of choice in there) great views and very peaceful.
We loved it - great value for money!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laura160586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larisa, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Excellent location and value, average quality - very good choice for a short stay and downtown exploration. Quite small rooms, without view and much day-light but clean. Personnel very helpful and polite. Free wi-fi.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valencia hotels
Melia Plaza
#26 of 98 in Valencia
865 reviews
Sant Francesc
Casual Valencia del Cine
Casual Valencia del Cine
#28 of 98 in Valencia
595 reviews
Sant Francesc
Casual Valencia Vintage
Casual Valencia Vintage
#13 of 98 in Valencia
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hostal Venecia
#4 of 98 in Valencia
1,494 reviews
Sant Francesc
Hotel One Shot Colon 46
Hotel One Shot Colon 46
#14 of 98 in Valencia
510 reviews
Hotel Sorolla Centro
#2 of 98 in Valencia
1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweet Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Hotel Continental

Property: Sweet Hotel Continental
Address: Calle Correos 8, 46002 Valencia, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia > Sant Francesc
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sweet Hotel Continental 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city of Valencia is the Hotel Continental, next to the square Aytuntamiento the train station and Columbus Street.We love our work and we know very well what we want, that you find it enjoyable stay.Calm and pleasant, warmly decorated.Bright and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sweet Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Valencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing