We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart modern hotel”
Review of Hotel Dimar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Dimar
Ranked #19 of 98 Hotels in Valencia
Certificate of Excellence
Calne
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Smart modern hotel”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Smart modern hotel on an attractive tree lined avenue. Our room was spacious and well equipped and being at the back was very quiet. The staff were pleasant and helpful. Bikes could be hired from the hotel which has easy access to the cycle ways in the Turia Park and it was onlt 10 mins walk to Colon metro station and 25 mins to Oceanographique and th arts and science [park. The breakfast which was included was plentiful, varied and good quality.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derrysal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    598
    145
    24
    7
See reviews for
196
677
51
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

My experience at this hotel was a good one. It is an easy walk to the city center and you can catch the bus nearby and head to the beach.
My window view was straight onto the side of an adjacent building. Also, the window opened up onto a roof and it did not feel safe leaving the window open. This was a disappointment as the weather was perfect. I asked for a different room but was refused. If you want to open your window, ask for a room on an upper floor. It will probably be quieter as well.
Pros:
- Very modern spacious rooms (by European standards)
- Comfortable beds
- Good location
- Reasonable rates

Cons:
-None, really. Reception could be a little friendlier but it was fine.

Room Tip: For a quieter experience, ask for a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crgallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafaelClaver, Director de Recepción at Hotel Dimar, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Thanks for your comment.
We are pleased that you liked our rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

A clean modern hotel with helpful staff who could all speak English. Situated near the wonderful park and less than 10 minutes from the town centre. We arrived in Valencia from the airport and a direct line took us to Colon station, from there the hotel was about an 8 minute walk with bags. We had a room at the back of the hotel which was very quiet but had just views of residential blocks.

If you turn left out of the hotel and then left again there is a huge choice of eating places and bars. There are also restaurants and bars across the road from the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerrycambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafaelClaver, Director de Recepción at Hotel Dimar, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
We appreciate your comments. From early April, the hotel also offers a restaurant service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Husa Dimar thinks it's better than it is. It seems like only the minibars in the rooms edge it into its four-star status.

The weather was cool to mild, but the rooms were sweltering. The air conditioning was not switched on, and the hotel refused to switch it on. The front rooms face a very noisy road, and the back rooms open on to an apartment courtyard. Every noise (especially dogs barking just metres from your window) is magnified to a level which makes sleeping with the window open impossible.

For some strange reason, the hotel doesn't give you soap in the bathroom - a very basic hygiene practice. When we asked for soap, we were given an extra free shampoo. No soap. And yet apparently they have heard that soap has been invented as there's a picture of it on their website.

The bathroom doors are made of frosted glass and don't fill the door frame. What this means is that (a) you can see a person sitting on the toilet through the closed door, and (b) every noise is as clear as if it were made in the same room.

Otherwise, the hotel has a coffee area but no bar. The wi-fi connection is free and good. We didn't have breakfast there as it was very expensive. The hotel's location is fine, without being excellent. If you plan to spend most of your time in the old town, you might find that this hotel is just a bit too far away.

In summary, this hotel should be average at best, but falls down below this standard in some very basic areas. I won't stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank prt24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafaelClaver, Director de Recepción at Hotel Dimar, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
We noted your indications but we don't share your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We stayed here for the recent Fallas and were very pleased, The room was very spacious, quiet and clean. The bed was extremely comfortable. We only had breakfast one day and this was fine. The location was great for the Fallas, lots of nice restaurants nearby and walking distance to the centre and close to the gardens. The heating was fine and the room was well stocked although I personally take my own toiletries. All in all a really good hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oscartime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We stayed here overnight and were very impressed by the well- decorated and modern facilities but unfortunately the hotel seems to miss out on basic amenities.
Our room was very cold as the heating had been switched off and it took forever for the room to warm up. There was no milk with the tea and coffee making materials and when we contacted reception we were offered condensed milk! My wife is diabetic so we asked for real milk and were told we would be charged extra for this!
The following morning there was no hot water for a shower etc-apparently all the other guests suffered a similar fate, but no apology was forthcoming. The breakfast had a wide variety of choice and was pretty good, but they need to get the basics right.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kilgarriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafaelClaver, Director de Recepción at Hotel Dimar, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
The problem you are referring was punctual, due to breakage of a boiler. This problem was solved in the next two hours since we had knowledge of it. Sorry for the inconvenience we have caused you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaldon
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

The main purpose of a hotel is to get a good nights sleep. The room was uncomfortably hot despite asking for the heating to turned off. The aircon was disabled so we had 3 bad nights. The rest of the hotel was good but I see other guests have had a similar experience. If you cant guarantee a good room then I would advise looking elsewhere. A pity as the rest of the hotel was fine.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobChaldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valencia hotels
Sant Francesc
Hotel Zenit Valencia
Hotel Zenit Valencia
#16 of 98 in Valencia
909 reviews
Hotel Sorolla Centro
#2 of 98 in Valencia
1,307 reviews
Sant Francesc
Vincci Lys
Vincci Lys
#7 of 98 in Valencia
1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sant Francesc
Hotel One Shot Colon 46
Hotel One Shot Colon 46
#14 of 98 in Valencia
510 reviews
Hostal Venecia
#4 of 98 in Valencia
1,494 reviews
Hotel Kramer
#9 of 98 in Valencia
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dimar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dimar

Property: Hotel Dimar
Address: Gran Via Marques del Turia 80, 46005 Valencia, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia > La Gran Via
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Valencia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Valencia
#11 Business Hotel in Valencia
#11 Luxury Hotel in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dimar 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Mirai, Expedia, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Dimar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Dimar Valencia
Husa Dimar Hotel Valencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing