We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel at the right location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vincci Lys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vincci Lys
Ranked #8 of 100 Hotels in Valencia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
136 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great hotel at the right location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

After having spent 4 nights in a two-star hotel in Barcelona, we were very happy that we picked this 4-star hotels at the heart of Valencia. The hotel is a small hotel, but has European and contemporary charm. The lobby's design is subtle but very chic. The room is also chic. The bathroom has traditional marble. Our room was facing the back so we didn't have the street noises. The room size was decent and the bed was good.

The hotel is located 1 block away from the beautiful old train station, in the middle of pedestrian neighborhood. It's also at walking distance to the city hall and old town. The bus goes to the Valencia Art and Science City stops on the same block.

Wifi isn't free which is a negative point for me. While we were there, we saw an ad in the elevator: shop your grocery at the market and we cook for you. This is a very nice concept because the market has many fresh vegetables, meat and seafood. I'd love to try this if I go back again.

We stayed there right before Las Fallas S(Spring Festival). So we had a very good deal with this hotel, much cheaper than the two-star hotel we stayed in Barcelona.

Tips: if you arrive from Barcelona or Madrid by train, the train stops at the new train station which is 15 minutes walking distance. You can either walk or take a taxi.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Lys, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for choosing Vincci Hotels and sending your comments. We are pleased to know that your stay with us was enjoyable and that our location, facilities and service were all to your liking. We will pass along your congratulations to the entire hotel staff. That you had a good experience with us is our greatest satisfaction and what we work for every day in our chain.
We regret, however, that you were not happy with our internet service connection. So we would like you to know that thanks to feedback like yours we are currently working to improve and increase the number of current alternatives with the aim of achieving greater satisfaction on the part of our guests.
Ultimately, we work to satisfy our guests and their opinions are what always guide us in doing so.
Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    834
    736
    139
    35
    18
See reviews for
281
928
37
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

This hotel felt like a chain and was run like one too. We originally were booked for two nights, but changed our plans to arrive a day later. We made the change on the hotel website. When we arrived the receptionist said that we were a no show and had to pay for the previous night. Luckily, my husband had the email that we received from corporate showing we made the change more than 24 hours before we were due to arrive. After a phone call and a mention of TripAdvisor, the receptionist said that there would be no charge. She mentioned that the corporate computer does not talk to their computer (so is this my fault?). The rooms were very small and lacked any charm. The room was clean, but was very small and uncomfortable. The breakfast was very, very basic. We asked for coffee when we sat down and the waitress completely forgot about us for at least one half hour...just adding to our dislike of this property. I would not recommend this property if you are looking for a memorable stay in Valencia...which is a beautiful city, very much like Paris. Find another location.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyBrain_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Lys, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for the time you have taken to write you opinions regarding your experience in our hotel, although we deeply regret that your stay with us was not as you had hoped.
We would like to apologize again for the problems with the booking system that we had upon your arrival and for the inconveniences it caused. As we explained, it was due to a momentary computer problem and we have already taken measures so it does not happen again. We are happy, in any case, that the problem was finally solved satisfactorily.
Likewise, we would like to apologize if you felt you were not treated properly by our cafeteria staff. All of our personnel are known for their impeccable service and for always taking care of guest´s requests to make sure they have a perfect stay, so we are sorry if you considered that in your case it was not entirely like this.
We work to satisfy our guests and their opinions are what always guide us in doing so. We will, then, take note of each and every one of your observations, always with the aim of improving.
Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

This was our second visit. We love everything about this hotel. It's location, the freindly staff and the value!
The staff happily provided warm milk for our 21 month old morning and night. They were so good with him.
Every day when returning to the hotel our son would say 'home'. This really sums it up!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sital7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Community Manager at Vincci Lys, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
To our esteemed guest:
It was such a pleasure reading your comments. Without a doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard so that our guests’ experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones. We would love to see you again soon at any of our establishments.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

Recently, my partner and I booked a two night hotel stay in Valencia, Spain through Hotels.com. Upon our arrival at the hotel (Vincci Lys), we were informed that they did not have our reservation. We were offered alternative arrangements to stay at another hotel for the first night which we were told was of a similar value. We were also offered taxi rides to and from the hotel and free breakfast. We reluctantly accepted noting that we did not have a lot of choice and did not want to be left without accommodation for the first night. We thought it best to take the issue up with hotels.com

Firstly, I looked on the hotels.com website for a complaints procedure. There is no reference to a complaints process or procedure that I could find. Even using the search functions and typing in "complaints" or "how to complain" yielded no results. I then called the call centre and spoke to a customer service representative. The representative liaised with the Vincci Lys Manager and offered us an upgrade for our second night's stay at the Vincci Lys. We were told this would be the nicest room in the hotel. At this point, I made it clear that I was seeking a refund for the first night due to the inconvenience suffered and I noted that using the hotels.com website, the Hotel Medium Conqueridor (hotel we were reassigned to) was quite a lot cheaper then the Vincci Lys. I was instructed to put my concerns in writing as the customer service representative was not allowed to authorise refunds. Also, the offer that was made in regard to the taxi rides and free breakfast resulted in only one taxi ride from the Vincci Lys to the Hotel Medium Conqueridor (we did not receive a return taxi ride) and we then had to pay for our breakfast (20 euros). Granted on our second night staying at the Vincci Lys, we were then provided with free breakfast.

I would recommend never using hotels.com as the complaints process is an utter shambles. I was also very disappointed by Vinnci Lys in its handling of the situation. They made undertakings e.g. taxi rides to and from the other hotel and free breakfast for both days that they only partially upheld. The offer of being put up in a hotel of similar value was not true either. According to hotels.com, the best the Vinnci Lys could offer was a 10% discount. We are still seeking a refund of 1 night's accommodation from hotels.com

In the event that something goes wrong, my experience of this hotel is that you will not get what you were offered. I suggest avoiding.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Shannon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Lys, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for the time you have taken to write your opinions regarding your experience in our hotel, although we deeply regret that your stay with us was not as you had hoped.
We would like to, first off, apologize for the problems with the reservation system that we had upon your arrival and the inconveniences it caused. It was a specific computer problem and we have taken measures so it does not occur again.
Because of this and with the goal of causing the least inconveniences during your stay, our staff offered you to spend your first night in a hotel of the same category as ours with us covering the cost of transferring to the other hotel and breakfast. To do so it was only necessary to request both things to our staff upon your arrival to the hotel where you were to spend your first night. We are deeply sorry if we did not clarify this point properly.
Further, for you second night we assigned you superior room, trying at all times to make sure that your stay was as pleasant and comfortable as possible.
Ultimately we work to satisfy our guests and with this in mind we will bear closely in mind your feedback.
We are at your disposal for anything you may need.
Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
226 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Stayed for one night only. The beds were very uncomfortable and we were facing one of the street so it was noisy. The room was clean and the staff friendly. You have to pay for wifi and even the use of the guest computer in the lobby. We did not have breakfast, so cannot comment on the food. The hotel is in a great location.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belfastim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Lys, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for the time you have taken to write your opinions and comments regarding your stay in our hotel. We are pleased to know that our location, staff and cleaning service were all to your liking. Without a doubt the satisfaction of our guests is our reason to be and what we in Vincci Hotels work for every day.
We regret, however, that some details were not entirely to your liking. In this regard, we would like to let you know that we will bear close in mind your ideas: surely they will help us to continue to improve the service we offer our guests.
With this in mind, we would like you to know that all of our mattresses are changed throughout the year with the goal of providing a perfect rest for our guests.
Regarding our connection service we would like to inform you that we are currently working to improve it and provide a wider range of alternatives to achieve greater satisfaction on the part of our guests.
Ultimately, we work to please our guests and their opinions are what always guide us in doing so.
Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

I just spent a great long, birthday weekend in Valencia at the Vincci Lys and could not be happier with our choice in hotels. Book with confidence - for the location and price, I would return in a millisecond. Thank you Vincci Lys!

Pros:
- Location; absolutely perfectly situated in the old part of town, close to metro stations and bus stops as well as in the heart of cafe culture and all the sights you're there to see. Safe, active neighborhood on a pedestrian side street.
- Staff; helpful is an understatement. I LOVED the front dest staff, who repeatedly assisted us in navigating the city, securing transportation and tickets, and (PATIENTLY) teaching us elementary Spanish. At one point, they even pulled up Wikipedia to answer questions we had about Valencian history. Friendly to a fault, I actually wanted to go back to the hotel during the day to recount our adventures to my new front desk friends.
- Room; clean, modern room and large, comfortable bathroom with dressing area. Central Air with personal controls, great freebie bath products, CNN (English) available on the television, and mini-fridge in the room (houses the minibar, but we could chill our water bottles fine). Black out curtains were too effective, but very appreciated :-)
- Convenience; we were able to check in at noon (supposed to be 4pm), which was a total relief and for which we are still grateful. Tickets for many things can be purchased onsite (hop-on-hop-off tour bus, for example). Breakfast buffet on site is great if you're not feeling adventurous right off the bat, though we didn't try it.

Cons (very few, but why I can't give 5 Stars):
- Room; Hair Dryer never worked, even after I reported it, and caused me to look less than awesome in my travel photos. Expensive self-pay WiFi (which I understand is standard for Europe, but still something to consider in the price). Very firm twin beds pushed together, which can either be less than romantic for partners, or slightly awkward for roommates desiring more of a sleeping separation. I got a last-minute, Expedia.com rate, which could account for the terrible view, but our room indeed had a terrible (cement wall) view. Admittedly though, it was on the quiet side of the building, so that has to be considered as not a total loss.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kierstin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Lys, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for choosing Vincci Hotels and sending your comments and feedback. We are pleased to know that we met your expectations and that you were satisfied with our location, service and facilities. We will pass along your praise to the entire hotel staff. That you had a good experience with us motivates us to continue working hard so that our guest´s stay in our hotel continues to be pleasant and enjoyable.
We regret that certain details of your stay were not entirely to your liking. We will bear close in mind your feedback with the aim of improving in the future. With this in mind we would like to inform you that we are currently working to improve our internet connection and increase the number of available alternatives with the aim of achieving greater satisfaction for our guests.
Regarding our beds, we would like to mention that we have available both individual and double beds so as to adapt to the needs and tastes of our guests.
Lastly, we would like to clarify that during your stay our staff proceeded to review the room´s dryer and check that it was working properly. In any case, those guests who find some problem with the dryer or any other object in the room can mention it at reception and our staff will take care of it.
Ultimately we work to satisfy our guests and their opinions are what always guide us in doing so.
We would be delighted to welcome you again to any of our establishments.
Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

We were happy with the room and also with the great breakfast after we got the non smoking room we had booked months ahead.
This hotel has to lrealize that people who book a non smoking room are not prepared to receive a smoking one . Had they told us up front they could not guarantee it, we would book where they do guarantee it. Although we had specified a non smoking room when booking we were given a smoking one. When we came back down to reception to ask to be changed because the smell in the smoking room was unbearable we were told that booking one is only a request and not a guarantee as one can request anything. I found this comment condescending. Once we insisted we were then given a non smoking room and again told there is no guarantee upon booking as they consider it only a request. What I don't understand is why if they had a non smoking room available, they would not give it to us up front without having to beg for it. It seemed to be a bit of a power struggle. One does not need that on vacation.
Perhaps they need to be more up front as non smokers do not want smelly rooms where others had been smoking.
Aside from this which I am sure Management can sort out , it is a lovely hotel in a great location.
Another suggestion is to offer free WiFi as most other hotels do.
I certainly hope these vsuggestions will be considered seriously by the hotel Management.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hopefullygreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Community manager at Vincci Lys, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for the time you have dedicated to write your opinions and comments regarding your stay in our hotel. We are pleased to know that you were satisfied with our location and our breakfasts, but deeply regret that we did not meet all of your expectations and that some details were not to your liking. In this regard, we would like you to know that we take note of each and every guest´s observations, complaints, suggestions, and comments, always with the aim to improve.
With this in mind, we would like you know that we are currently working to improve our internet connection service and increase the number of available alternatives with the aim of achieving greater customer satisfaction.
Furthermore, we would like to inform you that we have not been able to check if the room we assigned you corresponds to the one you reserved, as you have not yet provided us with your reservation number as we have requested on numerous occasions. Without this information or something that identifies you as a guest it is impossible for us to continue following up on this aspect of your feedback. We would be delighted to do so if you send this information via email to: gema.gallardo@vinccihoteles.com.
Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valencia hotels
La Xerea
Caro Hotel
Caro Hotel
#1 of 100 in Valencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Hotel Sorolla Centro
#3 of 100 in Valencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Mercat
Vincci Mercat
Vincci Mercat
#9 of 100 in Valencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
The Westin Valencia
#11 of 100 in Valencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vincci Lys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincci Lys

Property: Vincci Lys
Address: Calle Martinez Cubells 5, 46002 Valencia, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia > Sant Francesc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Valencia
#4 Green Hotel in Valencia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Valencia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Valencia
#7 Family Hotel in Valencia
#17 Business Hotel in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vincci Lys 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the centre of Valencia and just a two minute walk from the train station and the Town Hall Square. Vincci Lys Hotel is located on a quite pedestrian street and surrounded by all kinds of shops, restaurants and buildings of cultural interest. Decorated in an elegant and attractive style. It is the only hotel in the centre of Valencia with a car park and direct access to its premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Lastminute, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Vincci Lys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vincci Lys Hotel Valencia
Vincci Hotel Valencia
Vincci Hotel Lys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing