We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Caro Hotel
Nearby Hotels
ILUNION Aqua 4(Valencia)
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NH Ciudad de Valencia(Valencia)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$362
Official website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Melia Valencia(Valencia)(Great Value!)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
ILUNION Aqua 3(Valencia)(Great Value!)
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Malcom and Barret(Valencia)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (917)
Filter reviews
917 results
Traveller rating
678
175
48
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
678
175
48
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree teaold citybulgari toiletriestea menuroman ruinsbeautiful hotelpillow menuwelcome drinkturn down servicelittle touchesplunge poola wonderful staymodern designmini barthe location is perfectquiet streetcomfortable bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
563 - 568 of 917 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I stayed in the Caro Hotel for just one night and I wish I could have spent more time in Valencia in this great hotel.
We arrived very early in the morning. While our room was not yet ready (which we also did not expect), we had a very warm welcome at reception. They gave us advice on where to go, what to do, which restaurants to pick etc. All great. The hotel is at a very convenient location, very central though still very quiet.
When we came back to the hotel to check in, all was ready. We really liked the room that they gave us. It is nicely done, very good interaction between old/antique walls and modern furniture. All was extremly clean. As an add-on, the mini bar was free and the air con was working great basically without noise.
I would definitively come back to this hotel if and when I go back to Valencia, I have really nothing negative to say.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank M_OnTheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience in Caro Hotel.

Even though you stayed for just one night, you were able to get a nice impression of our hotel and its surroundings. As you mentioned we are located in the old city center so it is always a pleasure to explain to our guests the highlights and all the must-sees. You have the possibility to discover the city-center on foot, which is very enjoyable and convenient. Everything you need to visit is within walking distance from the hotel.

It is a pleasure for us to hear that your stay in Caro Hotel met your expectations and that you also appreciated the quiet atmosphere of our hotel because we love to emit this feeling to our guests and make them feel like at home.

By staying at Caro Hotel you can admire the remains found on the property during the construction project, dating back more than 2000 years and including all major historical periods that accommodated in Valencia over the centuries. Roman, Arabic, Gothic and 19th century remains that set the background of Caro Hotel. There is a lot of history in the hotel but also outside to be admired and we invite anyone who is interested.

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how you feel about our hotel.

We would love to welcome you again during your next visit to Valencia.

Best regards,

Team Caro Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This hotel was frankly great! Located in the historic centre of Valencia (yet on a quiet street) the Caro is the perfect place to explore the city from. Each room is totally unique blending clean & modern design with the historical features of the surrounding building (our terrace had a Roman column in the middle of it!).

The room was spotlessly clean with housekeeping coming twice a day (morning & evening) to ensure the room was always looking its best. The evening service being particularly welcome as they came with sweets and delicious mini cakes from the hotel’s excellent restaurant (which I wholeheartedly recommend).

The room also contained Baltic air conditioning (configurable), a safe, massive flat screen TV and a free mini bar (soft drinks & snacks only – but very welcome!). For my fellow Brits; there’s no kettle in the room but fear not - one isn't required - as the hotel has an extensive (and complimentary) tea menu. So you can sit back, grumble about how warm the weather is and watch BBC World whilst a fresh brew is delivered right to your door!

The service was also great. Every time you enter or leave the hotel half of its staff seemed to appear to say “hello”. I e-mailed ahead to arrange a surprise champagne breakfast for my wife – they obliged and right on cue arrived with a bottle of bubbly and excellent continental breakfast.

As for the bad points; there is one. The hotel doesn't have irons/ironing boards (nor will one be provided if asked). Instead you have to pay for (rather expensive) pressing. We found this slightly ridiculous especially as nobody under the age of 40 irons their clothes before packing! It's such an easy thing to fix too..

Useful Info/Tips:
• A taxi from the airport: around 20 Euros
• A taxi to the beach: 10 Euros (or a 1.50 for a bus)
• Number of restaurants within 10 minutes walk: I dunno, about 50?
• Make sure you pick your room (some sites don’t let you pick a specific room) – it’s well worth exploring the rooms online first then choosing your favourite. We had room 5, massive with a terrace!

Would we stay here again? YES (…although we’ll be packing a travel iron!)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NoNumberAfterMyName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Dear guest,

In the name of Caro Hotel and the entire team we would like to thank you for your detailed, extensive review on your stay in Caro Hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our property and that we were able to somehow create the ideal atmosphere to make your stay memorable.

In your report you have given a very nice overview of the personality of our hotel and you have covered different points that will give the followers of this portal a quite detailed description.

It is our pleasure to hear that our recently added 'Tea Lovers' menu is such a big success. Our complimentary tea service in the room is a great addition and we have noticed an increasing demand, especially from guests who appreciate having a nice afternoon tea.

We thank you for sharing your experience and room tips with everyone on TripAdvisor and hope to see you again in your next trip to Valencia.

Sincerely,
Team Caro Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights at this hotel. We loved the location, the comfort, and the helpful staff; the major downside was having to leave!
The hotel is within an easy walk to everything in the old city, and there are bus stops a few minutes away to destinations further afield. Nonetheless, the hotel is blissfully quiet at night.
Our room was spacious, comfortable, and well laid out, with ample storage for clothing. There were a few design quirks - a fixed desk with nothing to stop things falling down behind, a shower that sprayed water across the bathroom floor (not an unusual feature of European floors), for example.
Perhaps a little more seriously, the floor tiles in the shower and bathroom were somewhat slippery when wet. That's OK if you have no balance problems and are careful, but if not, it could be an issue.
While talking of architectural quirks, the stairs were of black stone, and dimly lit. They looked great, but we felt a little uneasy walking up and down.
Nonetheless, the conversion of an old building with ancient historic elements was generally brilliant, and resulted in the creation of a really good boutique hotel.
The staff were exceptional. They were always ready with recommendations and practical advice, and pleasant at all times. That is what makes a stay enjoyable, and in this case, it did. The recommendations as to places to eat were so good that we missed out on dining in the hotel's dining room, which is an extraordinary space downstairs. Next time ...?
We would stay here again, and would recommend it to others (despite with the limitations I have mentioned).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank troypolyboutsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking your time to explain your experience at Caro Hotel.

We are glad we have reached your expectations and you have found our hotel well located, comfortable, very quiet at night and our staff friendly and helpful, as you have mentioned.

Thank you also for pointing some of the quirks of our hotel design. Sometimes choosing between beauty and comfort is not easy. Caro Hotel has a completely new and avant-garde design, some of the design pieces like lamps, chairs and some furniture are exclusive of our hotel. We regret some of them have not brought you the level of comfort expected.

Many thanks for recommending us, we hope to see you soon again.
Caro Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed at the Caro twice, book ending a long weekend with friends in Ibiza. Both stays, and the respective rooms, were wonderful. The staff couldn't do enough for us and managed the difficult balancing act of being warm and friendly without being intrusive. The location is superb, close to everything while also being far enough away from the touristy areas. The only negative was that the terrace bar was closed for refurbishment. Never mind, we'll check that out on our next visit! Thanks to everyone at the Caro for making our stay so enjoyable.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ChrisLowthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear Chris,

First, we would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us.
We know that you always have a choice between hotels and we are pleased that you have chosen Caro Hotel while you were in Valencia. It is a pleasure for us to hear that you not only enjoyed the amenities of our property but also had enough time to really discover the surrounding area of the city centre as well as its cultural and culinary offers. We are glad to know that together we found the right balance and everything was up to your expectations.

We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the temporary closure of the terrace of our Meta-Bar. As you were able to witness yourself, we are going to have our own lounge pool soon. There are only a few more days left until it is going to be finished. Please keep up on any TripAdvisor reviews to see how everything worked out.

We thank you again for sharing your experience with everyone on TripAdvisor and hope to see you soon in your next visit to Valencia.

Warm regards,
Team Caro Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Stayed for 4 nights. First time to Valencia but hopefully not the last. The Caro was a good choice. Definitely the best location for seeing all attractions and just a bus ride to the beach. The room was spotless, not the biggest I've stayed in considering its 5 star rating but had everything that was required, including complimentary juices, water and nibbles in the mini bar. This with the nightly chocolate on the bed was a lovely touch and one that some hotels even 5 star no longer offer. We did not eat at the hotel so can't comment on food. The staff were extremely helpful and appeared genuine. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend. Anyone thinking about a stay in Valencia will not be dissapointed with the Caro hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Langlois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your recommendation and your thoughtful review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the character of our historic property as well as our quiet neighborhood location and experienced a peaceful and relaxing stay with us. We like to answer our Trip Advisor reviews because it is a unique way to connect with our guests who share their experiences here and let others know what they can expect.

We are glad to hear that you loved our complementary ecologic chocolates left at the turn-down service and accompanied by the weather forecast for the following days. That's a 'sweet' eye catcher that helps you plan the next day!

Our convenient location is a huge plus and you will find the historic part of Valencia at your doorstep. For everything else and beyond the city limits we are more than happy to find the most suitable option. We are most certainly an urban hotel but even so it will not take you long to get where you're going -museums, concerts, restaurants, even the airport. Some destinations are a short drive by taxi or a hop on a bus.

At Caro Hotel you have the choice of 26 different experiences. This is why we always encourage guests to directly contact us (using our online chat, for instance) so that we can assist them with their reservation. This way we can easily respond to requests and provide an impeccable stay at our property. On our homepage www.carohotel.com you have a great overview of all the rooms and their unique features. We invite you to stay up-to-date on “Offers and announcements” in our TripAdvisor profile which may give you special privileges for bookings made through our homepage.

After this brief update, there is just one thing left to say: hopefully we'll see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Team Caro Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews