We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge disappointment”
Review of Caro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caro Hotel
Ranked #1 of 98 Hotels in Valencia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Room design totally guest unfriendly, no place to put things, wardrobe STINKY and small, safe box faulty, leaking shower, slippery floor, clogged sink, door key had to be reset twice. Booked two single beds which could not be separated, ended up sleeping in the close proximity of a work colleague, plus bathroom has no door, shower area can be seen from the bed. Furniture tired and chipped. All this in 22 hours for 186 euros! The only 5 star thing is the location, the old architecture and the lobby design.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maja R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time of evaluating your stay in our hotel. Despite that we regret you had not an experience as good as we expected, we do appreciate you let us know about some issues that could help us to improve.

We are sorry to hear that our hotel was not what you expected it to be. Our main objective is to provide first-class customer service in a unique, fascinating environment. Maybe one night was not enough time to convince you of our project or as hard as it may sound, maybe Caro Hotel was not the right pick for you.

Your choice of your words and the things you mentioned lead us to think that you are obviously used to a more traditional and classic design of hotels. The concept of all our rooms is quite open as you can easily observe on our photos provided. More and more Boutique Hotels follow a similar concept, satisfying so-called niche markets away from standardized chains.

We are aware that the room and bath design might be controversial; this is why we highly recommend checking our website before booking as on our website you can find pictures and videos of each room among with a short description. Doing so you will avoid the kind of problems you mentioned in your review. Every room is unique and different to each other, so we believe there is an ideal room for everyone. Should you have any doubt about this, you can reach out for us at any time.

Whenever there is availability, we seek to offer complementary late check-out. In your case you were offered a free late check out until 13pm. For security reasons all keys stop working at 12 pm. on the day of departure all you need to do is ask for a new key. In this situation, the room key has to be reset after 12pm.. We apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Kind regards,
Team Caro Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (841)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

475 - 481 of 841 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

A second visit to Caro hotel. This is a first class, incredibly stylish hotel right in the heart of the old city. I have visited with both friends and on this trip with my family (and son aged 7) and on both occasions it has been excellent. The staff are very friendly, helpful and welcoming which is so important.

We would definitely stay again and hope to next year.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this very kind review.
We are happy to hear that once again you enjoyed your visit at our hotel, this time we could welcome your family as well.

Since we are a 5* hotel both the hotel and service should be first class, we are working on this every day with our whole team. After renovating several years we are o so proud of the result: a contemporary design hotel combined with historical elements that are part of this old town center.

All of our staff is always at your disposal to welcome you, and your family and friends, to the hotel and to the beautiful city of Valencia. With the 24hour reception you can feel free to ask any kind of question or favor whenever you may need it.

In case you have any questions or request for a future stay do not hesitate to contact us by live chat, e-mail, or phone, all of these ways are 24hours as well.

We hope to be able to welcome you again here in Valencia.

Kind regards,
Team Caro Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

An excellent boutique hotel constructed out of the remains of some very much older buildings with a good deal of the history still exposed. Several shades of grey minimalist décor. Typical bathroom for this type of hotel - designed by a computer that had never actually used a bathroom. You just have to cope. Very friendly and knowledgeable staff at reception. They will park your car for you, although not in the adjacent garage.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richardxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comment about our hotel on Trip Advisor.

Your opinion is very important to us and this is why we personally answer all of them.

It seems that we were able to create a memorable experience even though you did not agree 100% with the plot of the rooms. All of them are designed individually and we completely understand that in certain cases, the design is more important than the functionality. This is something that makes a boutique or design hotel as ours special. The minimalist décor fits perfectly into our concept and the grey colours go tone in tone with the historic remains of the palace.

Valencia offers a great variety of activities and lots and lots of sightseeing. We do our best to not leave any questions unanswered and give recommendations regarding all kinds of requests. We are glad that you found our recommendations helpful for your visit. To discover the city center a car is not necessary but in case you should arrive by car, we offer parking service for our guests. Since there is very little public parking space, this is the preferred option. You can leave it at the main entrance of the hotel and you can let us take care of it.

We hope to see you again soon in Caro Hotel.

Best regards,
Team Caro Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The location of the hotel is very nice. In the old centre of Valencia.
Small little streets and very nice old buildings. From the website you can tell that the hotel is not advertising as being the biggest, luxurious and 50 swimming pools.
The hotel is very minimalistic, but is very good harmony.
The staff at reception is one of the best ever. (Not because she happened to be Dutch). Just because of the typical Dutch way of being welcome in the hotel and the willingness to help.
For this type of welcome I regret not to spend more hotel time in Holland.
Normally you are being interrogated and there is more interest in the creditcard than the person checking in. Caro Hotel is very good.

The room was indeed very minimally decorated, but that was what I booked. But it all worked and there was more than plenty of space. Nice big shower, without those cold curtains and lots of pressure.

The view could be better, but what do you expect? It is built inside an old town, so you have other buildings around you. But I did not get the impression people where there to look at hotel guests.

Very good hotel. More than good staff. When I need to be in Valencia again – I will go here again and I normally never stay in 1 hotel more than once.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hans E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Hans,

Thank you very much for your extensive review about our hotel. We just love to read comments like yours and it makes us really proud of our project.

Caro Hotel is located right in the heart of Valencia and our clients appreciate the proximity to many of the important sights. You have made some interesting references to that issue and also to the neighborhood of the hotel. Caro Hotel is embedded in the quiet, residential area in the city center called “Xerea”. As far as the views are concerned, our hotel is necessarily known for neither the size nor its views but for the moments you can enjoy in every one of our 26 singular rooms and the services that accompany your stay in our hotel.

One of the things that distinguishes Caro Hotel is its modern interior design combined with elements of the former Palace of the Marquis of Caro. The façade dates back to the nineteenth century and whereas other parts of the hotel reflect the main construction periods that over the centuries have passed through Valencia.

We take great pride of our staff and the unstandardized way of making our guests feel comfortable. Still, we have a business to maintain so we have to ask for a method of payment. We completely agree that this should not be the essence of the conversation when you arrive.
We would like to thank you for choosing Caro Hotel and for taking the time to share your experience with other future guests. We hope to be able to welcome you back on your next visit to Valencia.

Best regards,
Team Caro Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We enjoyed our stay in Caro Hotel. Very friendly staff, very nice design combining old ruines with modern (e.g. breakfast room and restaurant). We were by car and had to use the car everyday, which was no problem.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jean2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear guest,

We really appreciate that you have shared this positive feedback through Tripadvisor.

It is very gratifying to know that you had a pleasant stay with us, enjoying all the effort done in combining ancient and new elements in the hotel.

Considering that we offer valet service, the clients can use their cars every day without any problem, as you did.

It will be our pleasure to have you back with us in a future occasion in Valencia.

Kind regards,
Team Caro Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I spent my birthday weekend last November 2013 with 5 very close friends. We arrived at midnight at the Caro hotel after a very stressful Ryan air flight from Manchester due to their small minded policy's ! From there on in we had the best service, polite staff, great attention to detail the bar man was fantastic totally captured the hotels ethos which carried on to the bedrooms and fabulous breakfast,
Fully recommend this hotel, the perfect balance of old and new interior design.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a great standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear guest,

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Caro Hotel. We hope you had a lovely birthday and a great time with your friends.

Our 24-hour reception allows to check-in or get information at any time. There is also the possibility of a drink or snack any time of day in our Meta Bar served by one of our friendly bartenders.

After a night in one of our design rooms you can enjoy a hot buffet breakfast in the restaurant downstairs or, if you are in a hurry, a continental breakfast. You find the design of historical elements with contemporary art thought out the whole hotel, from the rooms to the restaurant where you can find a piece of the old town wall.

We would like to thank you for choosing Caro Hotel and for taking the time to share your experience with other future guests. We hope to be able to welcome you back on your next visit to Valencia.

Kind regards,
Team Caro Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I really enjoyed staying here for two nights in October with my husband. The location was excellent and we were able to walk to everything we wanted to do. The design of the hotel is amazing and they did a wonderful job of modernizing it while keeping some of the old characteristics. Our room was large, comfortable and clean. I enjoyed the bathroom's large shower and tub and the room was very quite. I did not have any complaints about the lighting in the room as other reviewers did. We also had great service and everyone was very nice and accommodating while we were there. Overall a great place to stay and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.

The location of the hotel makes that our guests can move easily around the city center without having to take a taxi and furthermore discover by foot the small, typical streets of the old Valencia.

Thank you for the compliment on the design of our hotel. We are also happy to hear your room was satisfactory, our housekeeping tries their very best every day to keep the rooms as clean as possible and will be very pleased to hear you pointed out those features.

Previous complaints about the lightning have been taking into consideration and we have made some changes. We are glad to hear you were content with the amount of light in the room.

We would like to thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Team Caro Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valencia hotels
Sant Francesc
Vincci Lys
Vincci Lys
#6 of 98 in Valencia
1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Valencia
#12 of 98 in Valencia
1,711 reviews
Hotel Sorolla Centro
#2 of 98 in Valencia
1,343 reviews
Hostal Venecia
#4 of 98 in Valencia
1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caro Hotel

Address: Almirall 14, 46003 Valencia, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia > La Xerea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 98 Hotels in Valencia
Price Range: £144 - £305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Caro Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caro Hotel is a five-star monument hotel located in the heart of the city of Valencia. An urban and commercially independent hotel, its 26 rooms, all unique in themselves, and gastronomic restaurant are fine examples of the singular and highly respectful integration of its contemporary interior design, characterised by clean, geometric lines, designed by Francesc Rifé, with the original historical, architectonic features of the building. Below the eclectic appearance of a nineteenth-century palace, the hotel walls stand guard over a legacy of more than 2,000 years of history, which includes an original mosaic belonging to the founding of Valencia in the Roman era (2nd century BC.), the thirteenth-century Arabic defensive wall, several gothic arches and nineteenth-century constructions which, together with its warm, friendly, client-focused service, make this establishment a high quality must for all travellers who wish to enjoy a memorable hotel experience from a different perspective. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mirai, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Caro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing