We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Caro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Caro Hotel
Ranked #1 of 99 Hotels in Valencia
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Extremely beautiful hotel in the nicest area of the city. Quiet neighbourhood but within the old city (so plenty of restaurants in 5'walk). The building is an ancient palace all refurbished and modernized. Comfortable beds, total silence at night. Amazing breakfast. Totally worthy.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ada K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Ada,

Thank you for your nice comments on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

As you pointed out, our hotel is located in the quiet stress in the city center next to Plaza de la Virgen and the main streets to Carmen district which is full of restaurants, bars and places to go out at night.

Regarding breakfast, we offer 2 different options. The first one is a buffet with homemade products and local specialties. The second option is a continental breakfast. It can be served in Alma del Temple restaurant or in your room.

Thank again for your review and we hope to see you in your next visit to Valencia

Sincerely,
Team Caro Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    149
    40
    9
    5
See reviews for
69
509
24
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was a fantastic hotel with ultra-hip, modern rooms and décor. The beds were comfortable, and we ordered different complimentary pillows from their pillow menu (nice!). Excellent service, front desk clerks were efficient and friendly. The room was not very well lit, but the free amenities were top-notch. All the rooms we had (three in our group) were comfortable and clean, and we all had excellent nights' sleep.

The only negative is that the breakfast offering looked meager and was expensive, so we skipped it. But, I would unhesitatingly recommend this hotel to anyone and come back myself.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mireille B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guests,

First of all we would like to thank you a lot for your visit at our Hotel and for the time that you have dedicated sharing your amazing experience at TripAdvisor.

The former Palace of the Marquis of Caro with its gothic-medieval background was recovered in 2007. It was an ambitious renovation project to represent finally Caro Hotel as you find it today. We appreciate the fact that you liked our unique combination of modern style fittings that were designed to offer a fresh comfort to our guests.

In our restaurant Alma del Temple we provide a tasteful breakfast of high quality, natural and home-made products. Recently, we were included in the selection of the 100 most beautiful restaurants in the world. As we always want to improve our services and offers, we appreciate very much your observation. We will take it into account in order to make our breakfast experience even more appetizing.

We are glad to have had you as loyal guests and we will be pleased to welcome you again in your next visit to Valencia.

Best regards,
Team Caro Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This ranks as one of my most enjoyable places to stay.
Situated in the old town, it's a stones throw from where everything happens.
The quality of the hotel and food was wonderful and if you want something nicer than the norm book it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your short but really positive review regarding your stay.

We are glad you enjoyed the amenities and the service. Our hotel is definitely different to any other you will find in Valencia. This is because of its unique combination of historical elements and contemporary design.

Every room of the hotel is unique as well. Any guest can, when booking directly with us, give their preference for a specific room. All rooms have detailed photos and videos on our website.
Direct reservations also get a free welcome pack which includes a drink and a 'tapa', a Spanish snack, in our Meta Bar.

Our restaurant Alma del Temple can provide hotel guests delicious meals, from an extended hot breakfast buffet, to lunch, or dinner. Alma’s food is as the hotel a great combination of authentic Spanish ingredients or recipes but with modern influences and inspiration. Indeed, Alma del Temple was included in the selection of the 100 most beautiful restaurants in the world.

It will be our pleasure to host you again in your next time in Valencia.
Kind regards,
Team Caro Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is a modern hotel in an old building in the old city. It has all the conveniences and location. Only negative was front desk clerk in the evening had 'tude; but the young woman who replaced him on the day shift compensated. btw, perhaps they have updated, as our GPS took us right to the door.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minnesotamusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience at Caro Hotel.
Your opinion is very important to us.

We regret to hear that you had a bit of a negative experience with one of the staff members. The fact is that we always do our best to help all our guests and, of course, with the kindness and a smile you would like to receive on your holiday. This has always been one of the strenghts of Caro Hotel and a matter of personal concern to us. We will look into it to avoid any inconvenience in the future.

The hotel indeed is inside of a very old, historical building in the center of Valencia. After a renovation that took several years we are proud of the result: remains of Valencian history combined with contemporary design.

Recently, we updated the information on our location in order to make it easier for guests to find the hotel using GPS. Being in the heart of a city brings along this sort of issues :)

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon at Caro Hotel.

Warm regards,
Team Caro Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This is by-far one of the best hotel's we've ever stayed in. I hate carpeted hotel floors so the fact that the floors were basic concrete was a major plus for me. the bed was very comfortable and the pillows were very nice. If you sleep better when it's cold, you will love this hotel. the view from the room was incredible. We stayed in room 25 which had an amazing brick wall (see attached photos). The bathroom was very clean; the water pressure was outstanding. The refrigerator was stocked with a mixture of complimentary drinks and snack which was replenished shed daily. The service was amazing. The only issue we had with this hotel was the fact that two taxi's couldn't find it.

Room Tip: Tell the taxi it's located in "old town"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angeldgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear guest,

Frist of all thank your for taking the time to share your experience with us and with everybody checking TripAdvisor website.

Regarding our location, it is true that some taxis might have a bit trouble to find us, as we are a new hotel. We appreciate your feedback and we will keep working to solve it.

As you mentioned, our hotel has a very different style. We are far to be classified as a classic hotel, and we rather be described as a modern hotel. Caro Hotel puts together a historic side as well as a renovated side.

All rooms are well equipped and in the stylish and comfortable bathrooms you can find amenities of the brand Bulgari. We strive to offer the best rest to our guest and for this reason a list of different pillows is available in each room such as feather, cervical, latex etc.

Our minibar is complimentary and refilled everyday with snacks and soft drinks.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you soon.

Best regards,
Team Caro Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Hard to find using a GPS if you are driving there, but everything else about it exceeds expectations. Excellent location in the heart of the old town, walking distance from all the sights. Beautiful conversion of an old palace to a fantastic boutique hotel with down to earth and really helpful staff. Excellent value for money and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Suites are the way to go. Beautifully simplistic and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank sidssub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Great service, private and unique setting. Ultra modern decor mixed with local artifacts as art. Impossible to locate via GPS due to small size, small street and confusion over the name of the street in maps which we later found was castillian vs. Catalan. Would be good if the hotel had a plan to help foreign visitors find the hotel. Foam pillows... I actually liked, but extremely out of the ordinary!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaroleFJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valencia hotels
Sant Francesc
Vincci Lys
Vincci Lys
#9 of 99 in Valencia
1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Valencia
#11 of 99 in Valencia
1,636 reviews
Hotel Melia Valencia
#5 of 99 in Valencia
2,231 reviews
Hotel Sorolla Centro
#3 of 99 in Valencia
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caro Hotel

Property: Caro Hotel
Address: Almirall 14, 46003 Valencia, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia > La Xerea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 99 Hotels in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Caro Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caro Hotel is a five-star monument hotel located in the heart of the city of Valencia. An urban and commercially independent hotel, its 26 rooms, all unique in themselves, and gastronomic restaurant are fine examples of the singular and highly respectful integration of its contemporary interior design, characterised by clean, geometric lines, designed by Francesc Rifé, with the original historical, architectonic features of the building. Below the eclectic appearance of a nineteenth-century palace, the hotel walls stand guard over a legacy of more than 2,000 years of history, which includes an original mosaic belonging to the founding of Valencia in the Roman era (2nd century BC.), the thirteenth-century Arabic defensive wall, several gothic arches and nineteenth-century constructions which, together with its warm, friendly, client-focused service, make this establishment a high quality must for all travellers who wish to enjoy a memorable hotel experience from a different perspective. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Mirai, Odigeo, Prestigia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Caro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing