We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”
Review of Caro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caro Hotel
Ranked #1 of 98 Hotels in Valencia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Location...great.
Staff...great.
Design...great.
Probably a great romantic place to stay but a little too cosy with a 19 month old.
The little extras were nice like chocolates on arrival and departure and staff brought tea anytime to the room. Coffee would be nice too but it's almost impossible to get a good coffee in Spain anyway :) Free minibar is a welcome touch and something all high end hotels should do by default.
Valencia is a great city for kids though.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank JamesJoyce_AD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (831)
There are newer reviews for Caro Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

451 - 457 of 831 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

Wonderful boutique hotel in the old town of Valencia. Walking distance from the cathedral and other historic sites. Nicely combining historic features of the (previous) building(s) with state of the art design and technology. Great service. Good breakfast. Wonderful room 15.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank platinumcitytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear guests,

First of all, thank you very much for choosing Caro Hotel to enjoy your holiday. We appreciate your time to write about your experiences at our place.

Caro Hotel is located just in a few minutes walk from the Cathedral, Plaza de la Virgen and Plaza de la Reina. This makes the location perfect to enjoy the city of Valencia. Indeed, Caro Hotel used to be the Palace of the Marquis of Caro with a Gothic – medieval background.

We are glad to hear you liked the combination of historical features with our contemporary interior design. Everything was designed to offer the best comfort to our guests.

In our Restaurant Alma del Temple we provide a delicious breakfast made of high-quality products. Recently, Alma del Temple was selected as one of the most stunning restaurants in the world by the renown German publishers Taschen.

We will be pleased to welcome you again in a next visit to Valencia.

Best regards,
Team Caro Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Excellent hotel, great location & quiet but yet so close to restaurants & historic sights. A blend of old architecture with modern rooms & decor. Each room is unique. Free mini bar...a nice touch. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank nitin2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Caro Hotel and for taking the time to share your experience at TripAdvisor. Your opinion is very important to us.

The Hotel is the former Palace of the Marquis of Caro, it has a gothic-medieval background which makes the Hotel and all the rooms we offer unique. We appreciate the fact that you liked our unique combination of modern style fittings and the old architecture of the Palace.
All of our rooms are designed to offer the best comfort to our guests.

Our hotel is located in the quiet stress free area in the city center next to Plaza de la Virgen and the main streets to Carmen district which is full of restaurants, bars and places to go out at night. Less than a 5 minute walk from the Hotel the cathedral can be visited. This places the hotel in an ideal position for a city trip. Additionally, our minibar is complimentary and refilled with snacks and soft drinks.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you soon.

Best regards,
Team Caro Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

One of the neatest hotels I have been to. Combines history with modern flares. It took 7 years to design and build, and it seemed like that much time to get to our room. This hotel is very difficult to find. We had TomTom, google maps, and BMW navigation--so we got within 2 blocks in 2 hours with anxiety, parked, walked, and begged for a bellman to help. In under 10 minutes our car had been towed from our parking spot. €152 to the towing cops and a couple hours later back to finding the Caro a Hotel. It finally took us going down a one-way street to get there. The towing police target rent cars, and take credit cards from only Spaniards, so bring cash if you attempt the Caro. We happily paid excessive valet parking charges to the Caro hotel. One would think they might comp the parking, considering their web page was address inaccurate? All staff members were professional, sweet, and sympathetic. As trained to be. This was not their first rodeo of the towing police scam. Other couples had the same fiasco. But, the hotel is amazing. One of our walls in our room was 800 years old and the rest of our room very modern (#14). Outside of our window children were at recess, what a wonderful din. The staff is professional and they are pretty people. Do not trust web for directions. Call and have them navigate you in. If you are taking a cab, your driver will be challenged. But the fantastic unique eclectic design will amuse and satisfy your lust for adventure...but only if you find it. Good luck!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Chuck,

Thank you very much for describing your experience in Caro Hotel with such kind words.

Many reviewers have already mentioned the unique location of our hotel including all the difficulties they had accessing the hotel. We can assure you that the address is correct on our website even though we realize that it is not always easy to find your way around when you get to a city for the first time. Indeed, we also provide the GPS coordinates in case our guests may have additional difficulties. We hope you would understand that we cannot take any responsibility since at that moment we were not in charge of the car, but we do regret your inconvenience.

Once you were checked-in to the hotel your experience took a turn for the better. We appreciate your comments regarding the design of our property and its mix of old and new. What makes us even more proud is the fact that you loved the personal touch given by our staff members. For us is very important that our guests receive excellent customer service because this is the main reason why they come back in the future.

If you are considering a stay at the Caro Hotel and there is an issue that concerns you, please contact us directly. We have a free, live online chat in our website if you prefer to avoid international phone calls. We will also direct you to our long history of outstanding reviews here on Trip Advisor including other travel platforms.

Many thanks again for your review,
Team Caro Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Excellent hotel with lots of individual style in good location for centre old city. Bedrooms especially nice. Staff excellent friendly and helpful. Lots of nice touches like free mini bar. Perhaps lacks atmosphere in bar and dining room so didn't eat in. Also breakfast expensive for what it was so recommend room only basis. Definitely recommend. Note it doesn't have a swimming pool.

Room Tip: We had room 12 which was very nice with large bathroom bath and two small balconies.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Angela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Extremely beautiful hotel in the nicest area of the city. Quiet neighbourhood but within the old city (so plenty of restaurants in 5'walk). The building is an ancient palace all refurbished and modernized. Comfortable beds, total silence at night. Amazing breakfast. Totally worthy.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Ada K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Ada,

Thank you for your nice comments on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

As you pointed out, our hotel is located in the quiet stress in the city center next to Plaza de la Virgen and the main streets to Carmen district which is full of restaurants, bars and places to go out at night.

Regarding breakfast, we offer 2 different options. The first one is a buffet with homemade products and local specialties. The second option is a continental breakfast. It can be served in Alma del Temple restaurant or in your room.

Thank again for your review and we hope to see you in your next visit to Valencia

Sincerely,
Team Caro Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was a fantastic hotel with ultra-hip, modern rooms and décor. The beds were comfortable, and we ordered different complimentary pillows from their pillow menu (nice!). Excellent service, front desk clerks were efficient and friendly. The room was not very well lit, but the free amenities were top-notch. All the rooms we had (three in our group) were comfortable and clean, and we all had excellent nights' sleep.

The only negative is that the breakfast offering looked meager and was expensive, so we skipped it. But, I would unhesitatingly recommend this hotel to anyone and come back myself.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mireille B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guests,

First of all we would like to thank you a lot for your visit at our Hotel and for the time that you have dedicated sharing your amazing experience at TripAdvisor.

The former Palace of the Marquis of Caro with its gothic-medieval background was recovered in 2007. It was an ambitious renovation project to represent finally Caro Hotel as you find it today. We appreciate the fact that you liked our unique combination of modern style fittings that were designed to offer a fresh comfort to our guests.

In our restaurant Alma del Temple we provide a tasteful breakfast of high quality, natural and home-made products. Recently, we were included in the selection of the 100 most beautiful restaurants in the world. As we always want to improve our services and offers, we appreciate very much your observation. We will take it into account in order to make our breakfast experience even more appetizing.

We are glad to have had you as loyal guests and we will be pleased to welcome you again in your next visit to Valencia.

Best regards,
Team Caro Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valencia hotels
Sant Francesc
Vincci Lys
Vincci Lys
#8 of 98 in Valencia
1,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Valencia
#11 of 98 in Valencia
1,693 reviews
Hotel Sorolla Centro
#2 of 98 in Valencia
1,328 reviews
Hostal Venecia
#4 of 98 in Valencia
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caro Hotel

Address: Almirall 14, 46003 Valencia, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia > La Xerea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 98 Hotels in Valencia
Price Range: £144 - £583 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Caro Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caro Hotel is a five-star monument hotel located in the heart of the city of Valencia. An urban and commercially independent hotel, its 26 rooms, all unique in themselves, and gastronomic restaurant are fine examples of the singular and highly respectful integration of its contemporary interior design, characterised by clean, geometric lines, designed by Francesc Rifé, with the original historical, architectonic features of the building. Below the eclectic appearance of a nineteenth-century palace, the hotel walls stand guard over a legacy of more than 2,000 years of history, which includes an original mosaic belonging to the founding of Valencia in the Roman era (2nd century BC.), the thirteenth-century Arabic defensive wall, several gothic arches and nineteenth-century constructions which, together with its warm, friendly, client-focused service, make this establishment a high quality must for all travellers who wish to enjoy a memorable hotel experience from a different perspective. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Mirai, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Caro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing