We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice”
Review of Caro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Caro Hotel
Ranked #1 of 99 Hotels in Valencia
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
232 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“very nice”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

i really liked this hotel. i visited Valencia several times but this was the first time i stayed in Caro. the hotel was very nice decorated, simple but chic. The room was clean. The best thing was the location. all historical places was walking distance. we never needed a taxi or anything else.. also at night the hotel was quite, there was no noice. so it might be ideal for the parents WHO had children. to sum up, i really liked this hotel and i definitely will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selin_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience of your stay at our hotel and for your kind feedback.

It is great to know that this was not your first time in Valencia and that you decided to stay in our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at Caro Hotel, as well as to read that you remarked our perfect location within walking distances to the most important places to visit in the city center. Additionally, the old river bed is 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel and nowadays is a big garden where you can enjoy a stroll or go biking.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back again in your next time in Valencia and we do hope we can prove our high standard of hospitality again.

Best regards,
Team Caro Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    149
    40
    9
    5
See reviews for
69
509
24
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

First impression of room was spectacular. Two of the walls of the actual room itself were relics from the original Moorish archway and entrance into Valencia. Large, particularly for Europe, but even by North American standards. Clean, quiet. Very comfortable bed. Drawback was it was a bit dark and there was no drawer space for clothing.

Location fantastic - literally 2 blocks from Old Town and the park, a couple of kilometers to more trendy areas.

Service was primarily great. First day was fantastic...even gave each room a late afternoon snack. Mini-bar items free at all times. Drawback - did not follow through with snack second day, but did it again the third day, missed the fourth day, so spotty on that after setting up the high expectation. There was one female desk manager who did not seem happy to be there or help. Others were more than gracious and accommodating and friendly. Mini-bar, despite being free, was not always replenished.

These are somewhat picky items for critique, as overall the stay was fantastic and I would highly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Room 14 was great, but had stairs down to the room from the elevator level. I liked it as it gave m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkluckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Mrs Luckett,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we appreciate your message.

The room you stayed in is very special. It is an underground room which is connected to a terrace by a staircase. It is very quiet and private and it has a romantic atmosphere.

The most important feature about this room is the stone archway which has been fully restored. This arch used to be crossed by all visitors while entering the city of Valencia during the Arabic period (12th century).

Regarding location, our hotel is in the city center, where you can easily reach the most important places on foot. The hotel is located at a quiet street and nearby “El Carmen” district where you can find many restaurants and terraces to have lunch or dinner. The old river bed is 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel and nowadays is a big garden where you can enjoy a stroll or go biking.

Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We apologized if your minibar was not replenished and if you had a bad impression of our front desk. If you have a look at other tripadvisor reviews you will see that mostly all guests are very satisfied with the treatment they receive. Our young and professional front desk members have been working for almost two years. Anyway we thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We will be aware of it.

Thank you again you for review and we hope to see you soon.

Best regards,
Team Caro Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

What is best at Hotel Caro its their staff!
Great people, always willing to accommodate you in the best way, but this is a hotel for just a weekend and our stay was for 14 nights..... We moved out after 2 nights
It does not have the convenient comfort for a long stay as a 5 star hotel should, but it's also a boutique hotel . . . .
Restaurant was not open in August, too bad. They have a mini pool but no "tumbonas" to laydown and relax. Not enough closet space, no drawers, no towel hangers, too dark, etc
I would only recommend Caro Hotel if you are visiting for just a couple of days, that is why i only gave a 4 stars review

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minerva C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Minerva,

First of all, thank you very much for the time you spent writing this review.

We are glad to hear that you found our staff one of the strenghtness of the service. It is always good to know that guests appreciate what people working here try to do to accomplish.

As you say, we can be considered a boutique hotel. We are an independent, small and quite hotel in an old palace right in the center of Valencia. The fact of having 26 rooms all different from each other might explain why we could not fill your desire of being in a long-stay hotel.

We have big and very comfortable rooms that are usually used for long stays. And we also have cozy, original rooms which are better for short stays. Our high occupation made unfeasible for us to offer you a change, and it was also a pity that none of the rooms we showed you were not the kind of place you desired for a long stay, even the main suite of Caro Hotel. We apologise, anyway, for this inconvenience.

The option of choosing a specific room in our hotel is one of the things the incoming guest has to consider. This option is available for free when booking directly with us by phone or using our website. We are aware not every person or every stay needs the same room, and that is why we have 26 different possibilities which match the perfect room for your time here.

Thank you again for your words and we do hope to welcome you again in Caro Hotel, surely with the perfect room for your needs :)

Sincerely,
Team Caro Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Very private boutique hotel in the old quarter. It is a recovered building, beautifully furnished. Our room was really big and comfortable. It had all the extras: bathtub, robes, slippers, everything. The service was really nice also, the minibar is complimentary and they even brought some treats to the room on the first day!

My only complaint would be that they didn't have an iron, so they took the clothes to vapour iron them and charged around 10 euro per shirt!

would stay again and definitely would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guila h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear guila,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property here on TripAdvisor.

As you mentioned in your comment, the hotel was built in an old Marquis residence from the 19th century. Nowadays, after the restoration process, its original solid wood doors welcome guests under a coffered ceiling in the lobby of the hall.

The entrance exhibits several and unique archaeological pieces that represent the rehabilitation works, which lasted nearly seven years.

Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. All our rooms are provided with comfortable robes, cozy slippers, Bulgari’s complete line of Eau Parfumée products as well as complimentary minibar, which is daily refilled.

As a 5-star hotel, we offer our laundry service. We had several inconveniences with the fact of borrowing irons in the past, so as to maximize comfort of all our guests and optimize the result of the ironing we decided to to change the way this extra service works. We do regret this handicap, however.

It will be our pleasure to see you again in a future stay in Valencia :)

Sincerely,
Caro Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Outstanding staff, a perfect location and stylish comfortable rooms. We will definitely be visiting the Caro again. Every visual element of the hotel has been carefully thought through to be in keeping with its history. Sadly we missed the restaurant on our dates but we heard it is fabulous! The restaurants recommended by the excellent reception staff were outstanding.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dostell777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Dostell777,

Thank you very much for taking the time and giving us a brief review of your stay.
We really appreciate the kind words you have dedicated to the hotel design and facilities and of course to our staff because we consider it the heart of the whole operation.

Our restaurant Alma del Temple is not only available for hotel guests but also for people who do not stay in the hotel. We regret to hear that you missed it and do hope you have the chance to try it in your next time in Valencia, because the experience is really worth :)

Alma del Temple has indeed been considered one of the most stunning restaurants in the world by German editors Taschen and it is recommended by the Michelin Guide 2014.

We can’t wait to see you back in Caro Hotel.

Best regards,
Team Caro Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This hotel is absolutely fabulous. Not only are the staff the most helpful I have had the pleasure of meeting, the location in the old town is just perfect and the style and design combines the old wall of the town with a really modern twist. Every room is different and there is plenty of space and really lovely bathroom facilities. We are in the restaurant one evening - good food and good value. So around fabulous...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Lindsey,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to know that you did enjoy your stay with us. We focus on the importance of offering an excellent customer service and it is fantastic you appreciated that little effort :)

As you noticed, our location is one of our greatest strength. Our guests are able to visit the city-center on foot, which is very comfortable and convenient. Regarding our amenities, those who book a stay can try Bulgari’s complete line of Eau Parfumée products, which is made with essential plant oils and silk proteins and fragranced with Italian bergamot and pepper.

We are also happy to read you enjoyed our restaurant Alma del Temple, too. We think it is a hidden jewel just a few metres away from the crowd for its Mediterranean food and for its atmosphere. Indeed, it was recently considered one of the most beautiful restaurants in the world by German editors Taschen...

We hope to see you soon in your next visit to Valencia.

Sincerely,
Caro Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The Caro is becoming our regular hotel in Valencia. A fantastic location right in the heart of the city and wonderfully helpful and attentive staff. The building and it's history are worth delving into. The rooms are modern and well designed and most importantly the beds are extremely comfortable. I'd highly recommend the Caro if it fits your budget.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear RSOslo,

It is a great pleasure to hear that you consider Caro Hotel your home away from home in Valencia. Our hotel has only been open for a little bit more than 2 years but we see more and more guests coming back Valencia and they decide to stay in our hotel again.

Caro Hotel is more than just a hotel; it also houses remains of all major civilizations that occupied Valencia, going back to the Roman Empire. There is a lot of history in our hotel and we are more than happy to share it with our guests. The quiet neighborhood and the stunning architecture that surrounds us invite you to just have a walk around and enjoy the atmosphere.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Team Caro Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valencia hotels
Sant Francesc
Vincci Lys
Vincci Lys
#9 of 99 in Valencia
1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Valencia
#11 of 99 in Valencia
1,636 reviews
Hotel Melia Valencia
#6 of 99 in Valencia
2,230 reviews
Hotel Sorolla Centro
#3 of 99 in Valencia
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caro Hotel

Property: Caro Hotel
Address: Almirall 14, 46003 Valencia, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia > La Xerea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 99 Hotels in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Caro Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caro Hotel is a five-star monument hotel located in the heart of the city of Valencia. An urban and commercially independent hotel, its 26 rooms, all unique in themselves, and gastronomic restaurant are fine examples of the singular and highly respectful integration of its contemporary interior design, characterised by clean, geometric lines, designed by Francesc Rifé, with the original historical, architectonic features of the building. Below the eclectic appearance of a nineteenth-century palace, the hotel walls stand guard over a legacy of more than 2,000 years of history, which includes an original mosaic belonging to the founding of Valencia in the Roman era (2nd century BC.), the thirteenth-century Arabic defensive wall, several gothic arches and nineteenth-century constructions which, together with its warm, friendly, client-focused service, make this establishment a high quality must for all travellers who wish to enjoy a memorable hotel experience from a different perspective. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Mirai, Odigeo, Prestigia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing