We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly great Valencia Hotel”
Review of Checkin Valencia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Checkin Valencia
Ranked #68 of 98 Hotels in Valencia
Reviewed 17 August 2014

A truly great Valencia Hotel.

Prior to booking the hotel, the usual checks were made on the reviews and although there were some negative comments, on balance we felt the hotel would suit our requirements.

The rooms are very clean the staff are helpful and there is a lovely courtyard for you to sit and chill, a real oasis in a very urban area.

There is no Bar, at least not one that was ever open,which is not really a problem, as a Lidl Store is only a short walk away, buy what you want, take back to the Hotel.

They have just installed a Coffee machine in the Hotel Reception Area, not the best coffee in the world but certainly not the worst !

We declined the Breakfast Option and found a small cafe almost opposite the hotel, which served great coffee and breakfast food.

In terms of getting around Valencia, the hotel is in a perfect location, all the main bus links are within a short walking distance of the hotel, Bus Number 4 takes you into the Old Town, Bus 35 takes you to the Oceanographic Parc, which is expensive, but worth every Euro.

A special mention for Fran (On Reception most mornings) he was so kind and helpful, he made our stay in Valencia very special.

One last tip, checkout a restaurant called Casa Montana, yes, a little difficult to find, but very worth the effort.

Valencia is a fantastic place to visit. - Enjoy.

Arthur Rightus

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (481)
There are newer reviews for Checkin Valencia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

I found my stay at Solvasa to be very welcoming and comforting, members of staff from the reception to the cleaners were very helpful and polite. I would definitely stay here again. I was also very impressed with the staff's helpfulness with transport needs.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
1  Thank Jesse G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We spent a week at the Solvasa and it could not have turned out better. The hotel is ideally located between the briliiant beach and the "Old city". Our rooms were clean, plenty of hot water when you got back from the beach, there was free Wifi throughout, the staff were exceptionally helpful and they was aircon everywhere! Some great aspects that perhaps you need to know - the hotel is ideally located to enable you to use the Valencia equivalent of London's "Boris bikes" (Valensibi), the city is flat so we could be at the beach in 10 mins and the Old City in, well 10 mins. 4 of us travelled for a week for less that 20 euros! The Metro from the airport cost us 16 euros - far cheaper than an 80 euro transfer - or 35 euro taxi! What else was great was the courtyard that Solvasa has - used for breakfast (which we didn't have - a great choice of cafes and pastry shops - that's whey bikes are best!) - any way back to the courtyard - you could sit here at any time of the day, enjoy the brilliant weather and basically cater for yourself - food, wine (all available from a the local shops) - we spent many an evening chatting, eating, drinking here. There was a gym - basic but adequate for a workout. There was also some tremendous pieces of art throughout the hotel - in the public areas and even in each room - a super touch!One final thing I will add is that when we came to check out the staff were brilliant as they not only printed off our boarding cards they looked after our bags for the day. We are certainly looking to go back as Valencia is a super city and this hotel is fantastic!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SeanHumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The hotel looks lovely but is so disappointing when you get inside. Corridors dark, dingy & worn. The bedrooms were clean but very basic. The food & beverage department awful. The breakfast buffet was terrible, cold food, poor selection & lack of service.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thendaragirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Strange hotel which advertises itself as 4*. Poor reception area and lack of facilities let it down and make it more like a 2*. Bar wasn't open during our stay in early June so nowhere to buy a drink or coffee. If I'd paid the rack price I would have been very disappointed.

Breakfast was okay but only one coffee machine which always had a queue of people.
Hotel itself was converted from an old flour mill about eight years ago.
Rooms are okay but nothing special. Try to get a room overlooking the internal courtyard. The outside rooms face a large blank wall. Junior suites are much better and more of a 4* standard.
Location is about halfway between the old old town and the beach. About thirty minutes walk to both but only ten to fifteen minutes walk from El Rastro Sunday flea market.

I really wanted to like this hotel. Definitely more character than a modern, purpose built glass and concrete box. Just needs more staff and a better reception area.
I would definitely stay again but only if I got a good deal on the price.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0stGring0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Was really surprised when we arrived and saw the Nice garden of the hotel. Building looks gorgeous als well. The staff is friendly and the room was really specious because of the high ceiling, nice kingsize bed. Breakfast was ok, not special. Only minus is the location, 30 minute walk of the centrum. But what we did is rent bikes next to the hotel, great way to discover the city.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Marloes89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I would happily recommend this hotel. Me and my boyfriend enjoyed our stay in this hotel. It was clean, the stuff was helpful, the location was brilliant. The hotel is only about 20 mins walk from the sea side and about 30-40 mins away from the city centre. Breakfast was a bit limited but very tasty. If I every come back to Valencia I will definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Petka B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valencia hotels
Hotel Acteon Valencia
#74 of 98 in Valencia
617 reviews
El Cabanyal-El Canyamelar
NH Ciudad de Valencia
NH Ciudad de Valencia
#41 of 98 in Valencia
1,062 reviews
ILUNION Aqua 3
#37 of 98 in Valencia
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eurostars Rey Don Jaime
#57 of 98 in Valencia
675 reviews
Valencia Center Hotel
#50 of 98 in Valencia
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Checkin Valencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Checkin Valencia

Address: Avenida Puerto 129, 46022 Valencia, Spain (Formerly Solvasa Valencia)
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Valencia
Price Range: £43 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Checkin Valencia 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Checkin Valencia is located in an incredible, unique place. The establishment is in an old factory that has been renovated to create a spectacular setting designed for the peace and relaxation of our clients. Our hotel is situated on one of the city's main avenues, providing excellent links with the port and city centre. We have a wonderful team of staff who provide fantastic customer service. Hotel Solvasa Valencia also offers some exclusive, fully-equipped facilities that have been exquisitely decorated. It is easy for you to find the accommodation option you are looking for. We have extremely competent, friendly staff and a complete "family" of hotels, apartments and bungalows that range from two to four stars. You will also be able to book on our official websites and find the price you were hoping for. Visit the official websites of each hotel, apartments or bungalows if you would like to find out more about them and their locations. You can enjoy a better holiday for much less. This hotel was opened in 2005. It is located in a building from the 19th Century which has been fully renovated while still respecting the structure of what was previously an old flour factory. The hotel has three floors across which our 93 rooms are distributed. Three of these rooms are Suites. Our elegant lobby has a lift, 24-hour air-conditioned reception a safe service you can make use of. Furthermore, the establishment boasts a bar and a lovely café. Guest who are travelling on business can find many modern conference rooms available, should they be required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Checkin Valencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solvasa Valencia Hotel Valencia
Solvasa Hotel Valencia
Valencia Solvasa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing