We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at most”
Review of Barcelo Valencia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Valencia
Ranked #30 of 98 Hotels in Valencia
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Location is great, close to the Ciudad de las Artes, family room big enough. The lobby and bar are minimalist kind almost as if they were not there. Fitnes and spa closed on Saturday and not accessible directly from your room or floor.

Room Tip: Good for business or a night stay but not for extended holliday
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dar0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,065)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

410 - 416 of 2,065 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2013

While a fairly new hotel, we found facilities a little tired, housekeeping poor (no hand towels in washrooms for 2 days typical example), but worst feature was terrible AC in room - a number of us had same problem, either too cold or hot, didn't work well over night yet opening window just created lots of noise. We reported the issue in the meeting rooms, so were aware.

Room Tip: Check AC works or ask for room not on main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Foxhill1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I had not been to the hotel for 2 years, i must report that the staff and standard is still as high as my last visit....
They have made some changes, i must say this has improved the hotel giving it a open and superior modern feel. The cleanliness of the hotel is far above any i have stayed in throughout Europe, the cleaning teams must be applauded for this standard. The staff are really helpful and will go out of there way to support and assist, big thanks to Juan and the front desk team.

If your staying in Valencia there can be no other hotel to stay in, for business or pleasure, Barcelo is a must!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DSBCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

This modern hotel, located along the Ciudad de las Artes y Sciences - a little out of the busy centre of town, was just perfect for our week of city & sun.
Room on the 5th floor was clean and comfortable, but indeed a little noisy during the day.
As traffic slows down at night however, this didn't keep us from having a good night of sleep.

Bar & 'Senyoret' restaurant might give you a wrong first 'cold' impression: but thanks to Dani, Marian and especially Elena we spent nice times having some 'last drinks', a lot of laughs and delicious food.
(this hotel-restaurant really is a MUST if you love modern Spanish cooking: compliments to the chef!)

We didn't go for the daily breakfast formula (it all looked perfect ok!), but enjoyed the morning sun
on a small terrace very nearby, havin' coffee, croissants and horchata at more 'democratic' prices.
Overall: we enjoyed our 2nd Barcelo-experience very much, and would recommend it to anyone who wants to discover and enjoy beautiful Valencia.
We'll be back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElReyBuenvino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Just returned home yesterday after spending 4 nights at the Barcelo. The room (on the 3rd floor) was bright, spacious and clean. Some other reviewers complain of the openness of the bathroom........this is not a problem as there are 2 sliding room dividers, so you can shut yourself from view, if you wish. The bed was huge and very comfortable, with the only slight problem being the pillows (too flat - just not what we are used to). The reception area is spacious and clean, and the bar is very nice, with very pleasant staff. We got a deal direct with Barcelo for €50 (room only) per night. And yes, the Wifi is free, although it does work better downstairs than in the rooms. The location of this hotel is excellent for Opera, Arts & Sciences and Aquarium, and of course the best cycle and running paths I've found in the middle of any city. There is an outside deck on the 10th floor, to go for a fantastic view of the city. Would be nice to have something to sit on though, whilst enjoying the view. The city is only 15 - 20 mins walk away. Definitely would go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't bother paying €18 extra, per night, for a view, as you have to be standing up to see out o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I was on a business trip to valencia .

We statyed in Barcelo. It is in a superb location .right infront of ciudad de las Artes y las Ciencias.

it is a very trendy hotel . Nice rooms. Very good breakfast buffet with lots of varieties.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vikram k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Let`s underline for the beginning that I stayed during a workshop and my schedule was more than tight. As I said in the title, the rooms are very beautiful, I liked a lot their very modern and original partition, even though the open bathroom might be a problem for some people. Also, very very clean. The food was also a pleasure, diverse and tasteful. Excellent indeed. Now for the minuses, and since 1 image is better than a 1000 words, I`ll add pictures. At check in, I asked a room with a view (I knew that some rooms booked by the organizers had nice views). The "nice" girl gave me one (the view in pictures) looking to a dirt area. The next day I had problems with the deposit box (it run out of batteries and did not open), so I had to go up and down to the reception to ask for help for at least 5 times!!! And the same girl with the "view"(:) told me "not to speak to her like that", when I underlined that I am in a hurry ...so, how was I speaking, dear spanish lady????!!! In the room you have not the phone number of the reception, so you cannot phone. For anything you have to go there...You don`t get the internet pass when checking in, you have to ask for it... However, Internet works bad in the rooms. Every shower finishes in a big flood all over the entrance hall (in pictures is only the beginning of the flood). The directions for the faucet regulating the temperature of the water at the shower are misleading. The third day I was resting at 2 pm, when a lady come at the door knocking loud and shouting like hell...then opening the door!!!!It was the service lady checking if the room has been cleaned...oh, I have to stop or I`ll make a heart attack..I will never go back again...Fortunately it was not me the one paying for the room. To bad the design of the rooms was so beautiful...

Room Tip: Try another hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank corinaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valencia hotels
ILUNION Aqua 4
#14 of 98 in Valencia
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Melia Valencia
#11 of 98 in Valencia
2,541 reviews
El Carme
NH Valencia Center
NH Valencia Center
#26 of 98 in Valencia
1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Valencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Valencia

Address: Avenida Francia 11, 46023 Valencia, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Valencia
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Valencia
#4 Spa Hotel in Valencia
#9 Family Hotel in Valencia
#14 Business Hotel in Valencia
#17 Luxury Hotel in Valencia
#19 Romantic Hotel in Valencia
Price Range: £62 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Valencia 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star hotel Barcelo Valencia located in Valencia is part of the chain of Barcelo Hotels & Resorts. It is a walking distance of about 600 m from the City of Arts and Science and Aqua Centre shopping complex and 1 km from the Palace of Music.The port is about 3 km from the hotel, the airport is 17 km and Malvarrosa beach is about 4 km. Public transport is available right next to the entrance. The hotel has a capacity is 187 rooms. All are equipped with air-conditioning, heating, fully equiped bathroom with tub and hair dryer, writing desk, telephone, LCD satellite TV, refrigerator, minibar, safe, and free wireless Internet. The hotel complex offers a lobby and 24-hour reception, terrace, bar with a view, three theme restaurants with different types of cuisine, business centre, fitness room, car park, lift, and room service. The business center includes two conference halls with up to 300 seats, as well as 6 offices for 15-25 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Valencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Valencia Hotel Valencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing