We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Barcelo Valencia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Valencia
Ranked #24 of 101 Hotels in Valencia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Nice and modern, clean rooms, great bathroom. Parking is a bit of a challenge as the receptionists don't seem to know how to handle the ticketing system, but we managed to resolve this on day 2.
Great location, there is a bus which takes you to the old town in a few minutes time directly in front of the hotel.
The rooms can be quite noisy as not all the double-glazed windows close properly, but we are quite sensitive and it might not bother you if you are not a light sleeper.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurumba77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    638
    640
    220
    59
    35
See reviews for
269
692
53
329
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

since my friend and I didn't know Valencia at all we booked a random hotel. Luckily, we made a right chose with Barcelo hotel. The hotel is nice and modern, staff professional and helpful, perfect location and amazing view from the terrasse.. I would come back there again and recommend to the others

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Giedre T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

Right from the moment I arrived I knew it was a mistake. There is no place to park in front of the hotel for drop off pick up so we went to the garage which needed a complicated equation to get in and out. During check in the staff was careless and indifferent when I asked if someone can help us with our luggage the answer was no although they were attending to the luggage of a group of tourists arriving by bus at the same time. The rooms are quirky in a bad way, the bathroom is part of the room and the glass door is see through!!!! I wonder how they got away with it all this time. The breakfast staff was one person who was overwhelmed and dismissive. When checking out the card for opening the garage door didn't work I had to go to the front desk three times to make them open the door and they were not helpful at all. If I had a choice between sleeping in my car and staying in this hotel next time I would without doubt sleep in my car!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Oibhais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Good Barcelo hotel situated beside the Palau de les Arts. The hotel is a 5-10 minute taxi ride into the old town or the beach - therefore a good location. If you wanted you could walk to each location, however it was very hot when we were there, so a 6-7 euro taxi ride felt like the best idea! Lovely views from our room looking over onto the Palau de les Arts - nice having this area on the doorstep of the hotel, great to explore. Overall nice, modern hotel, unfortunately when we visited the the spa was undergoing renovations.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We booked this hotel because of its location opposite the science museum and opera house etc - but we were delighted with the modern design elements of the hotel, great and cheap parking and a fairly easy 20 minute stroll into the centre. The room was great and the deal was exceptional value! We would definately use again when we return to this vibrant city.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Last year my review of the holiday inn valencia was titled "enough is enough" however this year I say "cannot get enough" of hotel Barcelo Valencia. Fantastic family room on floor 7, the best breakfast I've ever had in a Spanish hotel and great customer service. Ok there's a couple of minor gripes - no space to drive up to the hotel and unload (we used the taxi bay as we arrived after 23:00) and a few signs of wear and tear, but nothing that would stop me going back. I look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark_O_M_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windham NH
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Modern, clean hotel with great staff in a wonderful location. That said, there are some things I would change if I were the Barcelo family: all rooms have glass toilet doors. The hotel is as practical as a Callatrava design...a triumph of 'cool design' over function. My elderly mother had to change rooms because she couldn't get into the bath to take a shower. The free internet access is as slow as a snail, and each device (phone, iPad) needs its own password, and if you move from one floor to another, or wait more that 5 minutes, you have to sign in again. The room air conditioning keeps turning off. The shower was too cool for satisfaction the first two days, then scolding hot the third day. The parking tickets simply don't work. If you leave your room and take your room key with you (!) the power in your room is switched off...so your cell phone stops charging and guess what...the air conditioning is off. On the plus side, the breakfast was decent.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank tsorfydde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valencia hotels
Hotel Melia Valencia
#5 of 101 in Valencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,137 reviews
NH Valencia Las Artes
#34 of 101 in Valencia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Primus Valencia
#41 of 101 in Valencia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
Sant Francesc
Vincci Lys
Vincci Lys
#10 of 101 in Valencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Valencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Valencia

Property: Barcelo Valencia
Address: Avenida Francia 11, 46023 Valencia, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Valencia
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Valencia
#5 Spa Hotel in Valencia
#14 Business Hotel in Valencia
#14 Family Hotel in Valencia
#15 Luxury Hotel in Valencia
#19 Romantic Hotel in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Valencia 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Barcelo, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Valencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Valencia Hotel Valencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing