We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight city stop”
Review of Barcelo Valencia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelo Valencia
Ranked #25 of 98 Hotels in Valencia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Overnight city stop”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

It was a stop over on the way to meet friends at a villa further down the coast of Spain and a good choice of hotel. The hotel standards were high and the room was well equipped and the comfortable bed gave for a good night sleep.
On arrival the staff were friendly and welcoming. We booked into a spa and massage package and both thought it was of a high standard. We didn't opt for breakfast preferring to drive a little way the next morning and having breakfast as the first stop. So can't pass opinion. The location is between the centre and beach leaving a 20 minute walk to both. Short on time we opted for a taxi at 5 euros it will not break the bank.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Beaker139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    720
    694
    237
    65
    37
See reviews for
294
756
61
368
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We didn't actually get to stay at the hotel this time as our reservation was deleted by accident. We had just had a 5 hour drive from Cordoba so as you can imagine we were not happy at this error. However the hotel arranged for us to stay just down the street at the Confortel hotel. We were placed in a suite so in effect had an upgrade. The following day the onsight manager apologised for the error and said we would receive an official email apology in the next few days. We duly received this along with a full refund. It is very easy to judge a hotel when things go well however they can also be measured HIGHLY when things don't quite go so well. So despite not staying there this summer I give the Barcelo 4 stars for their treatment of us. I look forward to staying there in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark_O_M_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Our third night in Spain and this hotel had promise as we arrived to the modern, clean lobby area and smiling staff at the registration desk. Upon entering the room, we noticed (by tripping over it) a design feature with rocks in a small square about 1 inch tall near the wardrobe. A mirror extended above the square of rocks. The floor area that one assumes to be there is a raised square in a perfect location to be a trip hazard. The room was further reduced in size by another design feature near the bath door that held a plastic plant in a glass vase, again about 18 inches square. Next was a sharp edged luggage / bench made with steel that we pushed under a desk to achieve more space and to avoid shin cuts. Our “king” bed was two twin beds pushed together and made up separately. The room temperature was very warm and the sun was streaming through the windows into our room through some designer sheer curtains. I adjusted the room thermostat downward but it wouldn’t go past 21c. Eventually I found buttons with arrows on the far wall away from the window that seemed to indicate I could lower some blinds. I pushed the buttons to no avail. I called the desk by pressing 0 since there were no instructions on the telephone. No answer three times so I went to the desk and explained that my room was too warm and the window drapes seemed to have been removed. The desk promised attention. 30 minutes later, I called. No answer so I traveled to the desk again. This time a staff member accompanied me to the room and was confused about the drapes but insistent that the minimum temperature in the hotel was 21c. A maintenance person showed after the staff person called again. He stood in a chair and removed the underside of the soffit near the window and a black-out shade dropped down after he pushed the down button. He couldn’t repair the soffit so we agreed to leave the shade down. He too confirmed that the minimum temperature was 21 (70 Fahrenheit)… I have never booked a hotel that had a minimum temperature. When I asked the staff member for a different room, she said the hotel was sold out and it wouldn’t be possible. By morning, it was bearable but still warm. The shade, although not working, helped immensely when in the down position. After all this, I went to the nicely appointed bar for a cold beer and no one was at the bar or in the restaurant. I went back to the desk and the same staff person found a barman for me. The beer was tasty if not punctual. In the meantime, the desk called to say that I could move to another room; I declined since it was late and I was completely frustrated dealing with the issues. Back at the room, the shower design seemed off, the WC was too small (and very warm), the TV was the size of a desktop computer display, and drains in the sinks didn’t work unless you pried them up with your fingernails.
In my opinion, designers should be forced to actually live in hotel rooms before they can be certified to design them. Also, my opinion is that the management of this hotel needs to be around during sell out nights; they shouldn't leave their staff to handle the normal sell-out issues. And, lastly, maintenance budgets need to be increased to handle comfortable temperatures, working drapes, operating plumbing and a TV that can be seen.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Inthekeysfornow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Pros:
Location is perfect. Walking distance to the Arts and Sciences. Bus stop to city center literally at the door of the hotel.

Price is reasonable

Clean

Friendly Staff. Friendliest staff in our entire experience in Spain

COns:

Maintenance. If the hotel does not implement a new maintenance strategy, its beautiful modern look will deteriorate to rubbish in a few years.

Room Tip: Window facing west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harold R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a very modern and clean hotel with thick fluffy towels. We enjoyed the ambience of the rooms and the bar. It was not far from the Railway station and the breakfast was excellent. It was not far to walk to other very good restaurants so in general, we found it easy to access shopping malls as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dizee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for five nights and found it perfect, particularly the location. The hotel is situated roughly in-between the beach and the city centre. We walked into the centre once and found it easy to reach. You can take the scenic walk through the park, or there is one long road straight to the centre that you can walk alongside (slightly quicker.) Both routes took no longer than 30 min to walk. We mainly took the bus as they were extremely easy to use and quick. Outside the hotel is a bus stop and the bus (no 19) goes into the city centre for 1.50 (get off at the bullring). If you come out of the hotel and cross the road there is the bus stop to the beach (no 19). From the hotel you can see the Arts and science centre. There is also a cafe next to the hotel where you can have breakfast. The hotel is also 5 mins walk from two shopping centers.

The hotel itself was very clean, with extras such as shampoo, sewing kit, and cleansing kit. The room was very spacious and modern. We were on the fourth floor and had no problem with noise, they also had black out shutters.

There are restaurants near the hotel, and the terrace bar offers a relaxing space to look over Valencia with sweets!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The Hotel is very nice in general. It's cosy, it is in a good location and the staff is very friendly and competent .
The Breakfast is excelent and although the gym is small, is enough for the needs. The rooftop bar is also very pleasent

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Diogo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valencia hotels
Hotel Melia Valencia
#6 of 98 in Valencia
2,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Valencia Las Artes
#33 of 98 in Valencia
1,247 reviews
Sant Francesc
Vincci Lys
Vincci Lys
#7 of 98 in Valencia
1,869 reviews
ILUNION Aqua 4
#17 of 98 in Valencia
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Valencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Valencia

Property: Barcelo Valencia
Address: Avenida Francia 11, 46023 Valencia, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Valencia
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Valencia
#4 Spa Hotel in Valencia
#14 Business Hotel in Valencia
#14 Family Hotel in Valencia
#15 Luxury Hotel in Valencia
#19 Romantic Hotel in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Valencia 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Barcelo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Barcelo Valencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Valencia Hotel Valencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing